Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ode to Berlin
Many issues converge in this brilliant spy novel, part 1 of a 2nd trilogy about MI-6 spy Bernard Samson(BS). It reconfirms Len Deighton (LD)'s awesome powers of plotting and portrayal. Readers should enjoy the first trilogy "Game, Set & Match"(GS&M) to make the most of this fourth book about BS. [But any of the nine (9) novels on his spying career can be read as...
Published on 18 April 2013 by Alfred J. Kwak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok book on its own, but crucial to the development of the series, giving it a great twist
As with each of the books in the preceding Game / Set / Match trilogy, Spy Hook - the first of the sequel Hook / Line / Sinker trilogy - is, we are told, a book that can be read on its own. That's only sort-of true.

The genius of the rest of the trilogies about MI6 man Bernard Samson is the way plots are apparently wrapped up to give one book an ending, and...
Published 22 days ago by Mark Pack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pointless Plot, 23 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
Spy Hook is another example of Len Deighton story padding in order to spin the story out and sell more books,He creates this pointless plot of the DG issuing an arrest warrant for Bernard at Tegal airport after Bernard expresses his fears about the missing five million pounds of department money which he believes Fiona may have defected along with herself when she ran,The DG of course knows about the money,it is Fiona's double agent operational budget,The obvious course would have been to bring Bernard in on Operation Sinker rather than to shut him up and realising the his indescreet probing could have put Fiona in danger Bernard would instantly stop asking awkward questions and probably offer support,Fiona is his wife and the mother of his kids,if you can't trust Bernard with Fiona's secrets who can you trust?.
This constant desire by the DG to keep Bernard out of Operation Sinker is the most idiotic of all to me,we all know he's a doddering old fool who belongs more in a museum than behind the DG's desk and I don't know why Len Deighton had to create such an old idiot,One of the nation's guardians of our security?,God help us.
Len Deighton does create ridiculous scenarios rather than the obvious route in order to spin the storyline out for the aforementioned reason, sending Bernard all the way to California just for Brett Rensseler to tell him to shut up and being stopped by Posh Harry and his mates on his way back to the airport is an utterly ridiculous,pointless little plot that leads nowhere
I can't agree with Len Deighton and some reviewers that the BS books can be read in isolation as one book leads to another as the Fiona/Bernard saga threads it's way through all the books,could you really understand the opening chapters of"Spyline" without reading "Spyhook"first?.Frank Harrington in "Spyline" telling Bernard that all charges against him are dropped would mean nothing unless you read "Spyhook" first and what led up to it.
Let's hope when Clerkenwell films makes the TV remake of all the BS books screen writer Simon Beufoy will cut some of the pointless trivia out and present perhaps something a bit more believable and to the point.
Brian Cooper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
We read the whole series several years ago. My husband is now reading it all again as he enjoyed it so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 9 book story is his masterpiece. I'm a big Deighton fan. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old Samson rules, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Bob le Chien (Burton on Trent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
takes off where others leave off .... read Game, Set and match first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hook, 28 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
Game, Set and Match; Hook, Line and Sinker; Faith, Hope and Charity. I love all these Len Deighton books. He and John Le Carre are the masters of this type of work. I promised myself that I'd keep a set to read on holiday. However, not a chance in hell. Once I've got a Len Deighton book in my grasp, it has to be read, and at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
Good second hand condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing happens, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept waiting for the book to start, but then it ended. Very unsatisfying read. Shan't bother with the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
I was led to believe that this was a full story by it's self, this was not the case. A whole book where very little happens. Won't be bothering with "Line" or "Sinker".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly disappointing, 17 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
Long winded and drawn out - tedious. Never got going. Full of boring irrelevancies. Can't believe it ever made it as a book. If it's the first part of three could have been done in a couple of chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series)
Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) by Len Deighton (Paperback - 30 Sept. 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews