Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ode to Berlin
Many issues converge in this brilliant spy novel, part 1 of a 2nd trilogy about MI-6 spy Bernard Samson(BS). It reconfirms Len Deighton (LD)'s awesome powers of plotting and portrayal. Readers should enjoy the first trilogy "Game, Set & Match"(GS&M) to make the most of this fourth book about BS. [But any of the nine (9) novels on his spying career can be read as...
Published on 18 April 2013 by Alfred J. Kwak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok book on its own, but crucial to the development of the series, giving it a great twist
As with each of the books in the preceding Game / Set / Match trilogy, Spy Hook - the first of the sequel Hook / Line / Sinker trilogy - is, we are told, a book that can be read on its own. That's only sort-of true.

The genius of the rest of the trilogies about MI6 man Bernard Samson is the way plots are apparently wrapped up to give one book an ending, and...
Published 2 months ago by Mark Pack


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ode to Berlin, 18 April 2013
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
Many issues converge in this brilliant spy novel, part 1 of a 2nd trilogy about MI-6 spy Bernard Samson(BS). It reconfirms Len Deighton (LD)'s awesome powers of plotting and portrayal. Readers should enjoy the first trilogy "Game, Set & Match"(GS&M) to make the most of this fourth book about BS. [But any of the nine (9) novels on his spying career can be read as stand-alone thrillers.]
The first trilogy had a cast of a dozen key persons. "Spy Hook" begins in 1987, three years after "GS&M" ended. It is book 1 in a new trilogy called "Hook, Line and Sinker". True fans meet up with some old characters and are introduced to new movers and shakers in BS' murky universe. And some things never change: BS's lazy, younger superior Dicky Cruyer still dumps most of his paperwork in BS's in-tray... But how has he fared, now aged 44, three years on, professionally and domestically, with two children, girlfriend Gloria (now 22), a wife who defected, and himself still under a cloud?
This is the most complex book of the series so far, with BS sent on missions to the US. In between he makes his regular trips to his beloved Berlin, where he grew up and where personal ties and concerns take up a lot of his time. This book is all about an alleged, huge sludge fund... Several people get killed in this book. But one person presumed dead in part 3 does the opposite and returns to the world of the living. When BSs life and work cannot possibly become messier, a second corpse comes to life again. Do not expect quick answers in trilogies, but enjoy superb, colorful writing about spies whose parents go back to WW II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great read from an author who is a master of his craft., 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really absorbing read. If you like the "spy thriller" genre then Len Deighton books are hard to beat. This is part of a trilogy, "Hook, Line & Sinker", which follows on from his "Game, Set & Match trilogy". Although any of the books in the series can be read as individual titles I found starting from the first book ("Berlin Game") gave more insight into the regularly occurring characters that appear in all the books in the series. The stories are set, mostly, around cold war Berlin with various forays to other international settings. The main character, Bernard Samson, is English but has a childhood background of post-war Berlin and now works for the British MI6 security service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written - A Little Short on Story, 25 May 2013
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
You really have to have read the excellent "Game, Set and Match" trilogy to get the most from this book. You need to know the characters and the situation to fully enjoy it. Otherwise it is a book where the story neither starts nor ends in this book. Deighton's writing has become more confident in this book, and I really enjoyed it (having read the previous books). The story is slow to develop and stops abruptly, without resolving any of the questions raised, so you really do need to read it with the others.

If you have read "Game, Set and Match", this is as good (though I am beginning to worry about the amount of bluff and double-bluff involved).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked., 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the previous trilogy I couldn't wait to get into the follow up - and it hasn't disappointed. Bernie Samson is a totally believable and flawed character who readers should easily identify and sympathize with. Another success for Mr Deighton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An ok book on its own, but crucial to the development of the series, giving it a great twist, 6 May 2015
By 
Mark Pack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
As with each of the books in the preceding Game / Set / Match trilogy, Spy Hook - the first of the sequel Hook / Line / Sinker trilogy - is, we are told, a book that can be read on its own. That's only sort-of true.

The genius of the rest of the trilogies about MI6 man Bernard Samson is the way plots are apparently wrapped up to give one book an ending, and then unpicked again when the story continues in the next book.

However, Spy Hook is the least plausible for solo reading as unlike the others the plot within it is not even apparently all wrapped up by the end. If you enjoy it, you'll most likely want to plunge on to Spy Line pretty quickly afterwards.

What's more the big question that gets opened up over who is really loyal and who is really a traitor comes with much more emotional punch if you've been reading the previous books and find some core elements of the story so far suddenly upended.

If, then, you read it the best way to enjoy it - in sequence - it's at its best. Even so it is rather slow for most of the book, with low key character development and relatively little happening on the espionage front for much of the book - until the big twist which follows Bernard Samson's attempts to track down a missing MI6 slush fund and which so nicely sets up the rest of the trilogy.

If you prefer audio books, by the way, you are in for a treat as once again James Lailey does a cracking job with his narration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading, 14 Aug. 2013
By 
G. waldron "Gil1" (yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 6th book of a 3 triolgy run of books, that is, it is the 6th book of 9, with each book standing on it's own or in relation to the other 8. They're all excellent. This is my second time of reading the stories of Bernard Samson spy, and his family and acquaintances. The first time in the 80s, the books fit together well and keep me continually page turning.
Len Deighton is an excellent author who researches his subject well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, sweet, 7 Sept. 2000
By 
A. Gulliver "absinthe_boy" (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
I found the previous Game/Set/Match trilogy engrossing but not the kind of books that I cannot put down. However Spy Line is just as engrossing and more entertaining.
The characters of Bernie, Werner, Dicky and so on are developed from the earlier stories and one feels one knows them...however in the world of spies you never know who your friends are!
From about one third in I raced through the book to it's somewhat surprising ending which has me eager to read the next in the series. I would recommend this, even to people who have not read the first trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad spy thriller, 29 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) (Paperback)
I give this 4 stars for being a good thriller in its own right, but in my opinion the 'secret' that Samson is uncovering in Spy Hook shows Deighton belatedly changing his mind and trying to replot Game, Set and Match, with only mixed results. Still, the Bernie Samson magic is still here: the cynicism and the clever tradecraft. The writing in Spy Hook is actually the best of the series, and there are some excellent new characters as well as some old favourites. My favourite scenes always involve Dicky Cruyer, who's the perfect foil for Bernard's wit and cynicism, and for some reason reminds me of David Cameron. Both HOOK and LINE are more action-packed than their predecessors, and should satisfy those who prefer their hard action to their office politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterspy, 4 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book one of the second Bernard Samson spy trilogy. (The first is Berlin Game, Mexico Set, London Match). Go with Deighton. These books were written in the 1980's but the writing is superb and plotting equally so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Miss Karin Burger "kaybee" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this series when it came out, and was fascinated by it then. Re-reading all of the books now gives me a lot more detail than 20 years ago, and I've come to appreciate the characters more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series)
Spy Hook (Hook, Line & Sinker Series) by Len Deighton (Paperback - 30 Sept. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews