Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars29
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2000
I first read this book at school when studying the holocaust for O-level. Now, some twelve years on, I have come back to Amazon to buy a new copy as mine has finally disintegrated from repeated readings. This book is almost too painful to read in places and conveys a real sense of place, mood, emotion and the like. I think if this book was compulsory reading for teenagers they might stop and think before complaining of their lot in life. We can all learn from Elli's courage.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
It is difficult to write literary critiques of Holocaust survival stories because of the emotive subject matter. But this one genuinely is special and stands out.

Elli was thirteen when she, her parents and brother are sent to Aushwitz from her village on the River Danube. She is soon separated from her father and brother. Will she ever see either again? Elli, and her mother, are spared selection for the gas chamber because of Elli's good looks. Instead, Elli and her mother must survive the unimaginable horror of the camp.

Yes, Elli's memoir is harrowing and difficult to read in places. But this is not just a book about man's inhumanity to man. This is a story about love and courage in adversity. Elli's story is that of a mother and daughter's relationship under extreme duress.

It is well-written too with some sparkling prose. Elli was a budding writer before the war and even keeps up the spirits of her fellow transportees with her poetry.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2001
I thought this book was so brilliant and it really made me think. How could people treat others like that? I really felt for Elli and at times I was too sad to read any further. I would recommend this to teanagers and adults as it really opens your eyes.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2000
This is such a sad book, telling of one young Hungarian Jewish girl's experience of the Holocaust. If you are feeling a bit sorry for yourself, read what Elli had to endure and then count your blessings.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
I first read this book in the 80s and i was so moved by Elli's story, especially as i was a teenager at the time. I never forgot it and was recently discussing it with my own daughter who is 12. She wanted to read it and i was delighted to be able to purchase it. Throughly moving and unforgetable.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
The amount of abuse to a human body given both physically and mentally and still being able to function is staggering. Could not put the book down.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I read this in under two days as I could not put it down. Horrific description of Jewish persecution under the Nazis and Elli's courage and fortitude throughout her terrible ordeal. Makes you think you should never moan about anything ever again.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
harrowing book but 1 I think everyone should read, brings alive what people went through and nobody should ever forget
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
A moving and emotion book, but equally one you cant put down. It hi lights the alwful things that youngsters endured. The book is very well written.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
This is one of the best holocaust books I've read. It goes into details not usually present in most survivors' accounts, presumably due to the sheer inhumane horror that these people had to endure. Elli's emotions are captured wonderfully and the prose brings the horrors of her experience to life in vivid and horrific ways. It's utterly heartbreaking and should be compulsory reading for everyone so we can make sure this is never allowed to happen to anyone ever again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)