Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving and thought-provoking, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
I first read this book at school when studying the holocaust for O-level. Now, some twelve years on, I have come back to Amazon to buy a new copy as mine has finally disintegrated from repeated readings. This book is almost too painful to read in places and conveys a real sense of place, mood, emotion and the like. I think if this book was compulsory reading for teenagers they might stop and think before complaining of their lot in life. We can all learn from Elli's courage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Rending, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
I thought this book was so brilliant and it really made me think. How could people treat others like that? I really felt for Elli and at times I was too sad to read any further. I would recommend this to teanagers and adults as it really opens your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart-rending Holocaust memoir., 13 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
This is such a sad book, telling of one young Hungarian Jewish girl's experience of the Holocaust. If you are feeling a bit sorry for yourself, read what Elli had to endure and then count your blessings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable., 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
The amount of abuse to a human body given both physically and mentally and still being able to function is staggering. Could not put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Read Book, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
I first read this book in the 80s and i was so moved by Elli's story, especially as i was a teenager at the time. I never forgot it and was recently discussing it with my own daughter who is 12. She wanted to read it and i was delighted to be able to purchase it. Throughly moving and unforgetable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
harrowing book but 1 I think everyone should read, brings alive what people went through and nobody should ever forget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sobering read, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
I read this in under two days as I could not put it down. Horrific description of Jewish persecution under the Nazis and Elli's courage and fortitude throughout her terrible ordeal. Makes you think you should never moan about anything ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elli - Coming of Age in the Holocaust, 23 May 2013
By 
Carroty Nell "Nell" (Alaska, USA (summer) Manchester, England (winter)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
It is difficult to write literary critiques of Holocaust survival stories because of the emotive subject matter. But this one genuinely is special and stands out.

Elli was thirteen when she, her parents and brother are sent to Aushwitz from her village on the River Danube. She is soon separated from her father and brother. Will she ever see either again? Elli, and her mother, are spared selection for the gas chamber because of Elli's good looks. Instead, Elli and her mother must survive the unimaginable horror of the camp.

Yes, Elli's memoir is harrowing and difficult to read in places. But this is not just a book about man's inhumanity to man. This is a story about love and courage in adversity. Elli's story is that of a mother and daughter's relationship under extreme duress.

It is well-written too with some sparkling prose. Elli was a budding writer before the war and even keeps up the spirits of her fellow transportees with her poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and emotional book, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
A moving and emotion book, but equally one you cant put down. It hi lights the alwful things that youngsters endured. The book is very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) (Paperback)
OF ALL THE BOOKS I HAVE READ ABOUT THIS HORRIFYING SUBJECT, THIS WAS THE ONE WHICH AFFECTED ME THE MOST. SHE TELLS THE TALE OF UNIMAGINABLE BRUTALITY AND INHUMANITY IN SUCH A WAY YOU CANNOT HELP BUT BE BROKEN HEARTED FOR THE VICTIMS OF THIS HENIOUS CRIME COMMITTED TO SO MANY INNOCENTS AND AMAZED BY THE BRAVERY OF THE SURVIVORS. IT MADE ME CRY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books)
Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust (Panther Books) by Livia E. Bitton Jackson (Paperback - 27 Mar 1986)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews