Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you're past the prologues don't expect to put the book down easily - I couldn't
I wouldn't call this science fiction as other readers have. But it is a fantasy of a kind. 200 years hence, as a desperate world emerges painfully from from an annihilating global disaster, the Hell's Angels are found valuable in helping to carve out some sort of order in a hostile and competitive environment. This is a raw narrative which carries you at an accelerating...
Published 3 months ago by David Noble

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the lost book
I 1st read this book as a teenager way back when in the 1970's. Following a disasterous house move - some thieving little stoat ripped me off for the cash I sent to have a box of books sent on (including The Lost Traveller), over the subsequent years it reached mythological status as I tried in vain to track it down.
But track it down I did (not like the thieving...
Published on 23 Nov 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the lost book, 23 Nov 2003
By A Customer
I 1st read this book as a teenager way back when in the 1970's. Following a disasterous house move - some thieving little stoat ripped me off for the cash I sent to have a box of books sent on (including The Lost Traveller), over the subsequent years it reached mythological status as I tried in vain to track it down.
But track it down I did (not like the thieving stoat of above). Having recently re-read it some 20 odd years on, does it match up to expectations?
Yes & no. The basic story is that in 1993 the USA is hit by a series of nuclear & chemical strikes. The only ones to keep their heads in the ensuing mayhem are the Hells Angels( who are used to mind expanding drugs & a hostile world), whom by happenstance rescue the President of America from drug crazed looters & as a reward are granted a fiefdom.
Well thats page one dealt with. The main story takes place some 200 years later, with the USA divided into different sectors, all battling for control. Our hero's, two initiates and an older Hells Angel are sent on a mission to collect a scientist who wishes to defect & in doing so, precipitate a full scale invasion by the forces of the East Coast - culminating in a full scale Hells Angels Vs the military set piece battle.
Epic is the term I would probably use to describe it's structure, somewhat akin to an oddessy type journey, with a mysterious stranger arriving at a remote hostel & telling the story. It is in parts over ambitous & a central segment of the book wanders off into a metaphysical journey of the soul (the title may originate from a John Milton poem).
Very violent in parts & bar the central character, the Hells Angels have no individual redeeming characteristics, they are mysoginistic, crude & brutal.
Worth looking at if you are into post apocalypse sci fi/biker gangs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you're past the prologues don't expect to put the book down easily - I couldn't, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
I wouldn't call this science fiction as other readers have. But it is a fantasy of a kind. 200 years hence, as a desperate world emerges painfully from from an annihilating global disaster, the Hell's Angels are found valuable in helping to carve out some sort of order in a hostile and competitive environment. This is a raw narrative which carries you at an accelerating pace to its final conclusion - and all set against the vastness of America. Despite 'Hell Angels' being a contradiction in terms, there is something compelling, heroic and even attractive about the way Steve Wilson portrays them. The Angels, in all their wild, brutal and demonic lives of excess, have their own particular codes of honour and decency - and unexpectedly sensitive vistas open up in this cracking read. Once you're past the prologues don't expect to put the book down easily - I couldn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Traveller Returns..., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
Having thoroughly enjoyed this hugely entertaining sci-fi epic as a teenager - I'd happened upon it high up in my parents' bookshelves and, owing to it's intentionally difficult-to-reach location and it's striking cover (a leather-clad biker with crossbow, surrounded by flames) decided it was a book I must read - I was thrilled to see that this new Dr Cicero edition had been published. The attention-grabbing cover has changed, for the better; classier, more subtle, and altogether a more accurate representation of the story, and indeed the quality of writing, contained within it. The new typeface is impressive and easy on the eyes - which ain't as useful as they used to be! There's also an excellent interview with Wilson himself, which gives us a great insight into his inspirations, his research, and his own life experiences, and confirms that he really does know of what he writes.
But most importantly it was wonderful to revisit this vivid post-apocalyptic world, to spend some more time with Long Range and his posse, and to find that the novel has really stood the test of time. Everything I'd enjoyed about it as a teenager I still enjoyed - the setting, the characters, the action, the wonderful mix of sci-fi and western, etc. But reading it now I found an added depth - a mysticism and lyricism which was perhaps lost on me before.
Welcome back Long Range.
And thanks, Steve Wilson, for this awesome epic.
When are they gonna make the movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting novel. Action packed., 21 April 2014
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
I read The Lost Traveller when it was first published in 1976. As a science fiction fan I was impressed with the scope of the fantasy and enthralled with the action and tension throughout the tale.
So impressed with this young author's debut I have sought out and enjoyed his subsequent stories all have which have proved to be equally thrilling and engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams and nightmares., 7 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
If you recall the energy and dynamism of road movies in the Seventies, then Steve Wilson's The Lost Traveller will bring it all back. The Sixties didn't end in 1970: apocalyptic nightmares,love, hope, music, speed...and a lot else ran on. It's The Man in the High Castle, Easy Rider, perhaps a touch of Castaneda. An intoxicating read: strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read!, 27 Feb 2014
By 
M. SEWELL (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
This book is a cracking read. Once you get into it, it is a real page turner, and an excellent book to take on holiday with you. It takes your mind out of its day to day rut, into a world of sci-fi and Hell’s Angels that is so full of imagination and adventure that you won’t want to put it down.
Steve Wilson is a very talented wordsmith, and develops the scenarios, and paints the characters so skilfully that you really feel you are there with them. There aren’t many books about the Hell’s Angels, and certainly none better than this, but as you can imagine when Steve turns his attention to the cult activities some of it is not for the faint hearted! It is so well researched that you feel sure that Steve must have been immersed in it himself; he certainly seems to know what he is talking about.
A quarter million readers can’t be wrong. There is a very good reason why this book has been republished after a gap of 35 years. Once you have read it, you will be looking out for Steve Wilson’s name again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally awesome read, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
I don,t normally read other peoples suggestions but really glad I did time.
Once I picked the book up I just could,nt put it down. Will be looking for more of steve wilson books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original post apocalyptic masterpiece, 8 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
Before Mad Max there was The Lost Traveller. This hugely entertaining post apocalyptic, Hells Angels, Sci-Fi Western invented a new genre. Reading like an episode of Sons Of Anarchy, set against the blasted wastelands of a post nuclear war America, this classic book hasn't lost it's punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beowulf meets Mad Max on the way to Ixtlan, 20 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Lost Traveller (Paperback)
This is a relentlessly male and violent world but if you can cope with that there is much to enjoy in this post apocalypse saga. A thrilling read with moments of poetic beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good but showing its age, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Traveller (Panther Books) (Hardcover)
This is a curate's egg of a book, good in parts.  I first read it when I was a teenager in the 1970s and remembered only fragments but the overall concept remained in my head, Hell's Angels in a post apocalyptic America. 
 
The background scene setting is the US, 200 years after a nuclear war, the east cost is run by an expansionist militarised regime.  In the west are two "Fiefs", The main one is run by "Literates" who maintain a technical society with a standing army, connected to this Fief is a community of.....dare I say it!.....Hell's Angels, who act as auxilliary shock troops, desendants of the original Hell's Angels Motorcycle gang.  
 
The story concerns three young Angels, Long Range, Milt and Belial, who are recruited to travel east to find a scientist who can save the world.  The first part of the book is essentially an adventure story as the three travel across America, battling their dealdy rivals, The Gypsies, meeting Indians and eventually the East!  As adventures go this is quite exciting and the set pieces are described well.  There is a lot of hippy drivel when the three meet a Tribe of Indians and get involved in initiation, sweat lodges and the like....but there is also lots of shootin' and chasin' as well.
 
The second half of the book veers away from this adventure format into a sort of military history in which the East battles the West.  All this I found quite boring as there is limited character development.  We also lose site of our heroes until near the end when there is a kind of final denouement.
 
Overall I found this book very readable even after 35 years.  But it is a story of its time, not 200 years in the future but the counter culture of the late 1960s and early 70s. 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Traveller (Panther Books)
Lost Traveller (Panther Books) by Steve Wilson (Hardcover - 13 Sep 1984)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews