Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars98
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2014
1983 was some time ago now, but even then this novel must have seemed strangely dated. Its depiction of a security service peopled entirely by upper class cronies is unconvincing and its blatant misogyny and racism belong to a much earlier era. The absence of any obvious irony or humour makes it impossible to interpret Berlin Game as a parody of the Sixties Cold War spy novel. Instead this is an averagely suspenseful thriller with a frankly ludicrous ending. Hard to believe it was one of a series and that anyone who read this was inspired to buy the sequels......
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I read this when it first came out and I thought it was really good then. Now after so many years I have read this again and I think that I have enjoyed this even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Like Le Carre but more direct. Conveys the suspicious and untrusting nature of spying very well and gives a great sense of place to someone who hasn't been to Berlin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Excellent read, kept me guessing until almost the last page. Liked the detail which only comes after good research and an understanding of the subject matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
I've read this book many times and it still remains a firm favourite, Len religion's style and twists make it hard to put down...time for Mexico set!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Read it 20 years ago now. Now I'm the a same age I get it all the more. Was there any better time to be a spy than at the end of the Cold War?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Brilliant book , historically old now some people would not recall the time of the book . I forgot how good Deight is at this type of book .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
I always loved Len Deighton's cold war thrillers. Got it on Kindle as my eyes not too good since detached retina. A great read again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
This is my second read (after a long gap) and I knew I should not have re-read it from page one. Never good to re-read thrillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Len Deighton at his best

If you like "cold war" spy stories then read this book, the first of a trilogy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.