Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Convincing
I was sceptical. Now I am not !
It took me about 2 days to read Charles Berlitz's book and it was two days well spent. Berlitz gives and interesting and not completely biased account of the Philadelphia Experiment. Berlitz uses very interesting data and evidence that is quite hard to deny and prove inconclusive.
Whilst I am not completely convinced that the...
Published on 10 Jun 2003 by Mr. D. J. Walford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there.
This a good read. It is sometimes fascinating but other times a bit vague. Although quite a lot of time has past since the event. Some of the characters featured in the book such as Einstein must have seemed so far ahead of their time back then. Their theories are just as interesting as the conspiracy of the Philadelphia experiment. Overall this is very good read and...
Published on 20 April 2009 by Mr. N. P. Robertson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Convincing, 10 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. D. J. Walford (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was sceptical. Now I am not !
It took me about 2 days to read Charles Berlitz's book and it was two days well spent. Berlitz gives and interesting and not completely biased account of the Philadelphia Experiment. Berlitz uses very interesting data and evidence that is quite hard to deny and prove inconclusive.
Whilst I am not completely convinced that the sailors of DE 173 did actually suffer the effects that they did, it is more than obvious that something extremely sinister and amazing did happen in the Philadelphia Naval Yard in 1943.
There is a lot of information about Einstein's Unified Field Theory which helps to understand th myth of the Philadelphia Experiment. Einstein tried to destroy the theory papers because he feared what man would do with it.
We are only human, there is a whole universe of science that we cannot even begin to imagine or understand. We have messed with things that we cannot fathom. Lets just hope that we do the sensible thing and leave it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-balanced analysis of the Philadelphia Experiment, 9 May 2002
By A Customer
Too many people associate the events of the Philadelphia Experiment with the movie of the same name and as such creates an unbelievable element to an otherwise interesting story.
This book does well in providing the evidence for and against the events from everything to eyewitness accounts, navy records, Einstein's involvement and a crucial background into Carlos Allende (a key witness in the whole affair).
But what the book also does well is present the evidence in such a way as to allow the readers to come to their own conclusions without bias.
Did the experiment really take place? Read this book and decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating reading., 5 April 2010
By 
Daniel Moon (Ribble Valley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Right from the start this is a fascinating read. For those of us interested in the unusual, mysterious and the hushed up, swept-under-the-carpet things in life, then this is high on the list. This experiment involved the use of a hugely powerful, magnetic field generated on board a navy ship. When in operation, the boat was supposed to have become invisible, whether to the naked eye or to radar, I'm not sure, but the experiment is said to have succeeded in a dramatic fashion, perhaps also teleporting the whole ship.......................read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there., 20 April 2009
By 
Mr. N. P. Robertson "requiem7" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This a good read. It is sometimes fascinating but other times a bit vague. Although quite a lot of time has past since the event. Some of the characters featured in the book such as Einstein must have seemed so far ahead of their time back then. Their theories are just as interesting as the conspiracy of the Philadelphia experiment. Overall this is very good read and isn't too complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Reading, 22 July 2002
By 
Mystacy (In a galaxy, far, far away) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment (Paperback)
Is it all true ? Did they really make a ship invisible ?
Or was it all a miserable failure? or even a totally made up story? - You decide for yourself. This book does have many interesting points in it, and covers many peoples accounts of the actual event, though how much of it is true, and how much is purely exageration is anyones guess. Something to read while on the train to work, or while sitting on toilet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars USS Eldridge The Ship That Travelled Through Time, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating accounts of sea tests undertaken by the US navy during WW2 off the coast
of Virginia with a warship the USS Eldridge. I found it dry
with too much scientific statistics this is unavoidable as the author has to
corrolate the facts with the data. Left me somewhat disappointed because later
information released purports to discount much of Charles Berlitz account.
And we are still no wiser now as to what really took place all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars philidelphia experiment, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know a great deal about this experiment, I think the book would gain more interest if it did not contain page after page of facts and figures, it stops it from becoming a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, just could not put it down., 12 May 2000
By A Customer
I came across this subject some years ago, but never realy looked into it, this book makes me wish I had. The subject is clear and well written it will open your mind. If you are a UFO buff buy it. If not it dose not matter, as long as you have a open mind you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable ..., 30 Oct 2010
By 
...whatever the veracity of the account it reads like a thriller. A cracking yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The philadelphia Experiment, 26 Mar 2010
By 
C. Simeonidis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hate to say this, but I did not enjoy this book. Partly because I thought it was going to be specifically about the mysterious dissapearance of the ship. I never doubted that I would have to take it all with a big pinch of salt, which I'm fine with. However it went on at great length about all sorts of other things, mainly letters from a particular individual who had written several letters about a govertment conspiracy.In short did not read at all well. A dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Philadelphia Experiment
The Philadelphia Experiment by William Moore (Paperback - 26 Jun 1980)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews