Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Ever wonder about the meaning/origins of symbols, gestures, cultural events/ceremonies etc.? Pick up this book ... and you're in for a marvellous ride into the most unexpected. Morris sees things which most others would miss. His best book, if you ask me.
Published on 7 Jun 2002 by Puneet Tanwar

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manwatching by Desmond Morris
The author Desmond Morris guides you through a broad range of human behaviour that enables the reader to understand our complex body language. Personally I found the cultural variations most interesting, in which common gestures are interpretated differently around the globe. Also, the subtle gender behavioural differences. It's an interesting read, perhaps the pictures...
Published on 8 Nov 2009 by James Gamble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Jun 2002
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Ever wonder about the meaning/origins of symbols, gestures, cultural events/ceremonies etc.? Pick up this book ... and you're in for a marvellous ride into the most unexpected. Morris sees things which most others would miss. His best book, if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the cover...., 9 Dec 2006
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Manwatching is a new, different way of looking at your fellow man. In MANWATCHING, Desmond Morris has taken his work on human behaviour an important step beyond the controversial ideas set out in his earlier work, and presents the familiar in an unfamiliar light. He shows how people - even in a highly ordered modern society -- signal to each other their attitudes, desires and innermost feelings more powerfully through unconscious bodily movements than by word of mouth.

Since writing THE NAKED APE, Dr Morris has visited, fifteen countries, collecting countless observations of ways in which people act -- in public and in private. Now with the aid of a remarkable collection of drawings, photographs and historical prints, he guides the reader through a fascinating labyrinth of hunting, mating, status, territorial, leadership, ritual and taboo gestures and postures. For to understand what it is that makes people tick is to gain tolerance when confronted with human conflicts and tensions. And far from becoming remote and uncertain, the manwatcher instead finds himself more at ease in difficult situations, understanding them and can be more deeply involved with his fellow men.

NEW SCIENTIST: "A fascinating guide to gestures...superbly illustrated...one of the best presented books I have ever seen."

THE TIMES: "A clear and careful introduction to an involved subject."

THE GUARDIAN: "Witty observation and some fascinating laboratory work."

VOGUE: "Full of fascinatingly reductive and revealing insights counter pointed by clever illustration."

THE LISTENER: "There are subjects -- and Dr Morris's is one of them -- that are too entertaining...not to fall upon with delight."

NIKO TINBERGEN {Nobel prizewinner and Emeritus Professor of Animal Behaviour, Oxford University}: "I find that Morris alerts me on nearly every page to phenomena, aspects, and implications that I had either overlooked or taken for granted. In my view, this is an extremely important book."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically interesting stuff, 8 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
It is impossible to find someone who won't be interested in this book. A comprehensive study on our gestures, behaviour and fidgets which you would normally not think twice about...yet turn out to be a highly significant indication of your state of mind or subconscious thought.
Morris' extremely readable and easy style means you won't want to get up without having decoded all of your little idiosyncrasies. AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought This in 1979, 19 Jun 2009
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
I started work in 1979 - for the Inland Revenue as it happens...
With my first weeks pay I bought this book and still have it on my bookshelf, I loved it and knew everything about body language before most people had ever heard of it, I was seventeen and Desmond Morris taught me more about people than anyone else could have.
I never got promoted.
Go figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 27 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Although this book at first appears a little dated, Desmond Morris has given a brilliantly consise and insight into human behaviour. I particularly like the way he has broken the book up into small, easily digested chapters that allow you to browse areas of interest easily. His sections on hand gestures are very well illustrated, and make for fascinating reading. Overall, this book is a great read for those interested in psychology or behaviour and his fluid style of writing makes it an effortless read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive observations of real life correlations, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Manwatching lists numerous real parallelisms in behaviour, gestures and feelings of animals and humans, in a brave mind setting educational experience of real value. This is a unique book, a true companion to read and refer to time and again. Interactions and similarities of behaviour in nature between animals and humans are breathtaking and as such highly educational and useful to form ideas and practical opinions about the real essence of human life and the natural world and more.
A precious tool to understand ourselves and the world surrounding us.
Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manwatching by Desmond Morris, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
The author Desmond Morris guides you through a broad range of human behaviour that enables the reader to understand our complex body language. Personally I found the cultural variations most interesting, in which common gestures are interpretated differently around the globe. Also, the subtle gender behavioural differences. It's an interesting read, perhaps the pictures are a little dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Exactly what I expected: it is not new, but it is in very good shape, so it's perfect for me to read. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars don't bother, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Outdated. Obvious descriptions regarding body language. No new insight. Wouldn't bother with it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still good, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour (Paperback)
Classic text, still good today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour
Manwatching: A Field Guide to Human Behaviour by Desmond Morris (Paperback - 2 Nov 1978)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews