Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innocent World
As a teacher of Blake at A-level I cannot recommend this study guide highly enough. But listen, this is in no way a substitute for reading the poems over and over and if you want a lazy way to improve your grades then don't bother. It's a sad fact that studying a text or texts for examination these days tends to squeeze the fun out of them; Blake's poetry is ripe for...
Published on 14 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This book was helpful in summarising each poem with commentary, but not much detail was given especially when it came to analysing language etc. If you're studying Blake for A Level, and you want deeper analysis I wouldn't recommend this however, if you're struggling with the poems and what they're about then this is definitely helpful.
Published 24 months ago by Caitlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innocent World, 14 May 2009
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
As a teacher of Blake at A-level I cannot recommend this study guide highly enough. But listen, this is in no way a substitute for reading the poems over and over and if you want a lazy way to improve your grades then don't bother. It's a sad fact that studying a text or texts for examination these days tends to squeeze the fun out of them; Blake's poetry is ripe for analysis but is never going to leap off the page at you unfortunately.
With sections on language, style, motifs, context, and structure, this is a vital tool for students. I strongly urge you to buy a copy from Amazon as you get the best price here, and buy it BEFORE you start to study the poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs of Innocence and Experience., 17 April 2007
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Having done my Alevels in the summer of 06 i found this book incredibly helpful. If you have annotated the poems as you studied them and have a firm understanding of the concepts and themes within each poem this book will be incredibly helpful to further you're revision. With extra extended commentaries and background contextual knowledge this book is a fantastic revision and study aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
I used this alongside my studies of Blake's 'Songs of Innocence and of Experience' at A-Level, and found it a brilliant help throughout. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good... But Not Great., 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
As a sixth former, I was hoping this would help with my A-Level studies, and include specific themes etc. Although this was provided, I was left somewhat wanting. I find this useful but I think some more detailed looks at the specifics of them poem, in order to help with comparisons. As this is supposed to be a revision guide, it was something I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
This book was helpful in summarising each poem with commentary, but not much detail was given especially when it came to analysing language etc. If you're studying Blake for A Level, and you want deeper analysis I wouldn't recommend this however, if you're struggling with the poems and what they're about then this is definitely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Well it's better than no revision guide, but it's not been too useful for me personally. I usually love York Notes, and I don't regret buying it as it offers lit crit and other readings but my class in general haven't found it amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm...it's not toooo bad!, 8 Jun. 2005
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Ok basically i'm doing me A-Levels and the thing is with this book, if, like me, you found blake VERY boring to study and you really didn't listen all that much then this will provide you with a basic interpretation of the poems. However there are probably better and more detailed books on the market. Saying that it is a good starting point. I've found it useful to use alongside other material but i wouldn't recomend it as your only source of revision and help. Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A level English, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Studying a level English without any real framework or guidance is tough enough but this book provides a simple overview for each poem in Songs of Innocence and of Experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ..., 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
it's more for the gcse students than for a-levels, but it does show a good understanding of the meaning of the poems and is a good place to start off from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Really helped me with a degree level Romanticism ..., 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced) (Paperback)
Great! Really helped me with a degree level Romanticism exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York Notes on William Blake's "Songs of Innocence and of Experience" (York Notes Advanced)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews