Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes-Great Expectations
This study guide is an invaluable resource for anybody who wishes to gain a very basic understanding of the novel Great Expectations.
It contains quite an in-depth plot synopsis and chapter by chapter breakdown, also containing information about characters, themes, narrative style and plot.
A real m,ust have for anybody studying this novel to GCSE level.
Published on 15 Mar 2005 by LJ Abraham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
This is very useful for studying the book however I think in some places it doesn't go into enough depth and over summarises a lot. however for studying the book first time it is good.
Published 11 months ago by lucylemon95


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes-Great Expectations, 15 Mar 2005
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
This study guide is an invaluable resource for anybody who wishes to gain a very basic understanding of the novel Great Expectations.
It contains quite an in-depth plot synopsis and chapter by chapter breakdown, also containing information about characters, themes, narrative style and plot.
A real m,ust have for anybody studying this novel to GCSE level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT HELP!!!, 12 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I felt that this book helped me a great deal in understanding the the ins and outs of Dickens's novel. The book went from being one big confusion to a very simple and easy read in a matter of hours. All thats left to say is thank you to Nigel Messenger!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Homework helper!, 28 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book to help my son with his homework, as it is a book I have never read I was no use! However, after quickly looking through this book we both have found it to be very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for studies, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Excellent for my gcse exam, has everything related to the book in detail, however it does not include the character analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for GCSE studies, 11 Dec 2009
This book is very good and gives a brief and precise description of the play and of all the characters and greatly helps with coursework. Flow diagrams have been used throughout the book for describing things such as the relations between characters. The book even includes examiners secrets which help you write good essays and also provides useful general tips. However I would have wanted to have seen more pictures within the book in order to visualise the story better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good review of the book, especially as revision for GCSEs, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Good, it provides a short summary on each chapter then some words on each of the themes and some quotes. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
This is very useful for studying the book however I think in some places it doesn't go into enough depth and over summarises a lot. however for studying the book first time it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
these notes really helped and furthered my understanding of the novel Great Expectations, would recommend to anyone studying the novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars York notes advanced Great Expectations, 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
These notes are very well set out and very helpful for studying Great Expectations. The commentaries are thorough and accessible. I recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good study aid, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
For each chapter summaries what happens and explains it. Good sections on main themes and characters. No substitute for good teaching, but has really helped by teenage son get to grips with the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced
Great Expectations: York Notes Advanced by Nigel Messenger (Paperback - 29 Aug 2003)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews