Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Damned art thou,damned; despair and die!"
I, personally, found the text fairly confusing. In my mind, often after reading through a scene find myself thinking that something completely different has happened. These notes are great for clearing up any confusions and also provides names of other sources to get a deeper understanding of the text as Marlowe wrote it. Characterisations explanations are hugely helpful...
Published on 1 Mar 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Printing errors
The content is ok, but my confidence in it is somewhat undermined by the glaring printing errors. Random sections of the book are printed upside down and appear in reverse order - a failure of quality control by the printers.
Published on 8 July 2012 by John Baird


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Damned art thou,damned; despair and die!", 1 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
I, personally, found the text fairly confusing. In my mind, often after reading through a scene find myself thinking that something completely different has happened. These notes are great for clearing up any confusions and also provides names of other sources to get a deeper understanding of the text as Marlowe wrote it. Characterisations explanations are hugely helpful. A definite for anyone, even my lecturer teaches from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus", 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
This book is excellent, if you are doing the LTA3 exam then you should buy this. I just re took the exam and this book helped a lot. After reading this you gain more of an understanding and begin to appreciate the text. ITS EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 19 May 2010
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
Great, I think this is a must have guide for A-Level and I don't know where I would be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Factual reading book., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
Good quality book , required to complete college work , ideal for this purpose and had all the information contained in it that I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arrived, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
came on the date it stated , book in good condition, great quality, would use this site again, love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for students studying Gothic texts, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
My daughter has been so poorly taught that she hasn't been able to read the play yet. This will help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
I would strongly recommend this book to everyone studying A2 English Literature. This would was a HUGE help during the course! Especially in terms of new ideas which make you think about the plot and the characters enabling you to deepen your understanding of the play and so increase the strength of the essays written about 'Doctor Faustus'. It also helps strengthen essays by increasing your knowledge about the social and historical context as well as discussing modern and contemporary critical reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for A2 English Literature, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
Good for the context needed for A2 English Literature exam, focuses on a range of sections in book e.g characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to your learning, 14 Jan 2013
By 
M. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
Faustus is a great play and this book really helps to add even more to your understanding. It gives background context on Marlowe and his era, as well as lots of information to help you understand the themes in the play. Another great book in the York Notes series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe (Paperback)
Very helpful study guide with all the analysis needed for answering questions and or coursework assignments on Marlowe' s play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe
York Notes Advanced on "Dr.Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe by C. Marlowe (Paperback - 29 Aug 2003)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews