Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful
Im an A-level English student and I used this book for my exam last year. It contained just about everything I needed, at least as a starting point. The summaries were useful up to a point but the best bits are definitely the themes, characters and the context as these can sometimes be difficult to research. There are also many connections mande between "Streetcar.." and...
Published on 20 Nov 2004 by Katron

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I bought this for my A Level english, and I did not find it useful at all. It outlines background to when it was written, author information, etc. but no real analysis of the text itself. My advice is don't buy it. Analyse the text yourself. Most decent Streetcar Named Desire books (with the text itself) have key quotations and explanations at the back of the book so...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Marianne Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 20 Nov 2004
By 
Katron (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Im an A-level English student and I used this book for my exam last year. It contained just about everything I needed, at least as a starting point. The summaries were useful up to a point but the best bits are definitely the themes, characters and the context as these can sometimes be difficult to research. There are also many connections mande between "Streetcar.." and other texts. I have several different York Notes books and although they are all useful, I personally have found this one the best. As a series they contain all the information you need to get started with studying a text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliberate cruelty is unforgivable..., 1 May 2009
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The York Notes series of Literature study aids is consistently superb, and this is no exception. If you're looking at this it'll be because you are studying the novel at GCSE or A-level or possibly as part of an Access course. There is everything you need to know in here to pass the exam and get an A/A* if you are so able. Context, language, themes, motifs and character; all are covered and explained. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is an excellent study guide., 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
York notes on A Streetcar Named Desire is very informative and is an excellent help for students studying AS and anyone who wants to further their knowledge on Tennesse Williams. The book has excellent scene by scene summaries and also very informative notes on aspects of the play including themes and characters. It also has a list of further reading, also very helpful for an english course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're doing A Level English these are the best, 25 Feb 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Barcode: 9780582784246

So, like most people, i used CGP notes while doing my GCSE's and found them mostly good (especially on the poem anthologies) - the humour though, while sometimes fun on many occasions got in the way of serious learning and the notes were brief when dealing with full length plays and novels.

Step in York Notes. For my A Level English i got one of these books for each of my set texts and they were massively helpful in prompting class discussions, writing essays and revising for the exams. They offer detailed chapter summaries and analyse them in an extremely informative way.

There's quotes too, maybe a little too few, but the ones they pick out are good and then at the end of the book you get a wealth of extra info relating to characters, themes and symbolism. If you're an A Level English student or a parent who wants their kids to do well, i'd get these notes - they make your life a lot, lot easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of passion and pain., 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Anyone reading A Streetcar for exams must have this book. The notes were well presented and relevant, insightful and interesting.

I have just done my AS exam and really hope that I have done well. If I have then it will be down to the excellent study aids including this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Best, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
All I'm saying is that every AS students doing a street car call desire for their english language and literature exam, needs this york notes because it is actually helpful. it gives you all the right and the importance notes an individual need to pass their AS. Its a the best and it is a must for every English language and literature student using this book for their exam to get the york notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a huge help., 26 Mar 2011
By 
suzyq (west scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
my daughter asked for this book as she was reading it for higher english. there are notes in the margins explaining all the main points on what is being asked for. she said it was very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A streetcar named desire, 9 April 2010
By 
G. T. Nolan "granters" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The notes were very helpful whilst studying the play, the information on themes,characterisation and the scene by scene synopsis was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I bought this to use whilst studying Streetcar in class to give me extra information. Everything we learned in class was in this and more. I found it very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO GOOD, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
so helpful seriously, I just wish i'd bought it sooner, and had more time to use it to help my coursework its just so fantastic, everything you need for your coursework!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced
Streetcar Named Desire: York Notes Advanced by Hana Sambrook (Paperback - 29 Aug 2003)
5.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews