Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CITR Notes
This book is essential if you are after a decent set of notes for the GCSES. It has chapter summaries, character summaries, timelines, maps and facts about the author. This is all relevant to the GCSE exam. Buy it to help raise your grades.
Published on 4 May 2004 by James Bell

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great help for a great book
This is the ideal guide for the fantastic story of Holden Caufield by J.D Sallinger. This guide is well written, and presented. Thus making it easy to find what you are looking for. The book is spaced out so all information is clear. There are helpful extra "Did you know" in the margins. It has a very detailed character sketch chapter. Basically if you are analysing...
Published on 29 Jan 2004 by emilia_flockhart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CITR Notes, 4 May 2004
By 
James Bell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
This book is essential if you are after a decent set of notes for the GCSES. It has chapter summaries, character summaries, timelines, maps and facts about the author. This is all relevant to the GCSE exam. Buy it to help raise your grades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight. Managable Chunks., 1 Feb 2009
By 
G. Ryan (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
This Product is great for an overview of the book. When used alongside with the novel to Revise, it really helps you understand the context of the book. At such a low price, this is great for any GCSE students studying the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catcher in the rye review, 4 May 2010
By 
Ms. M. Stott Morrison "m stott morrison" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
This is really useful- I particularly liked the notes on context and theme. However it works best when you are are reading through the novel at the same time. I've got my english literature exam in about three weeks and this has really enhanced my understanding- I picked up so much more when reading it alongside york notes for the second time. Good luck to anyone else who's just about to sit their english GCSEs.

I would also recommend the other york notes books for studying the english literature and language poems. Duffy and Armitage: Carol Ann Duffy and Simon Armitage and Pre-1914 Poetry (York Notes)Poems from Different Cultures and Traditions (York Notes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great help for a great book, 29 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
This is the ideal guide for the fantastic story of Holden Caufield by J.D Sallinger. This guide is well written, and presented. Thus making it easy to find what you are looking for. The book is spaced out so all information is clear. There are helpful extra "Did you know" in the margins. It has a very detailed character sketch chapter. Basically if you are analysing Catcher in Rye then get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not the novel - just study notes!, 4 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
Maybe I'm dim, but it wasn't altogether clear to me that this was not the novel and study notes, but just study notes. Not what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE
The Catcher in the Rye: York Notes for GCSE by Nigel Tookey (Paperback - 27 Feb 2003)
4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews