Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Whitsun weddings
I am currently studying this for a-level and this book has been a great help. It contains many features and a break down of how to study a poem and analysises each poem, with three extended commentaries on 'toads revisted', 'ambulances' and 'here'. This study guide also gives relevant and important background information on Larkin. I found this book to be really helpful...
Published on 19 Feb. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is good. Not amazing.
(Currently doing A-Level studies on The Whitsun Weddings)

The book is rather short and doesn't really go into enough detail in the poems. Most of the comments being made are ones that the reader most likely could come to by themselves.

The book is good enough just to recap on the poems and to get the 'jist' of the poems, But I wouldn't recommend this...
Published on 12 Jan. 2012 by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Whitsun weddings, 19 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I am currently studying this for a-level and this book has been a great help. It contains many features and a break down of how to study a poem and analysises each poem, with three extended commentaries on 'toads revisted', 'ambulances' and 'here'. This study guide also gives relevant and important background information on Larkin. I found this book to be really helpful in particular its analysis of each poem and has really helped with my course. I would definetly recommend this book to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Purchase, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Redburn "Bassman" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
This book is very useful for students studying 'the whitsun weddings' for a-level like myself. It gives you lots of different ideas and interpretations that you or your teachers may not have have thought about. It also helps your understanding of some of the more difficult poems. However, it is held back by the fact that it does not cover all of the poems in the collection, although it doesn't miss out any of the 'major' poems. The information on themes and other background information is very helpful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larkin about, 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Although this publication doesn't contain all the Larkin poems in the AQA A-level Literature anthology, it is still a useful study-aid and revision tool for students and teachers of A-level poetry. As with all modern York Notes it is clearly and attractively designed with a wealth of relevant information separated into appropriate sections. A must-buy for students of Larkin but be aware it might not have all the poems you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book is good. Not amazing., 12 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
(Currently doing A-Level studies on The Whitsun Weddings)

The book is rather short and doesn't really go into enough detail in the poems. Most of the comments being made are ones that the reader most likely could come to by themselves.

The book is good enough just to recap on the poems and to get the 'jist' of the poems, But I wouldn't recommend this for those who are die hard students.

My teacher and school hand out notes are much better than the book.

If its cheap, Purchase. If its expensive, Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 28 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The book is really useful and does provide a lot of information about the poems. However I didn't realise when I bought it that it didn't have the whole whitsun weddings collection. It was mentioned in other review but since I was using a different specification I thought I would be ok. turns out it doesn't have every poem in the whitsun weddings book. It does have most, however but you may want to consider buying the study guide as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exam, yes! Coursework, don't bother..., 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I think that this book is actually really useful for a broad knowledge of all the poems in the selection, eg for an exam. However as I am only focusing on one of the poems for my coursework it does not go into quite enough depth to be of any real use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What survives..., 23 Nov. 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
My introduction to Philip Larkin and his collection of verse, 'The Whitsun Weddings' I owe to my friend David Evennett, at that time Member of Parliament for Erith and Crayford (now MP for another area). Back when I was researcher for a Member of Parliament, I had an avocation as a poet. David discovered this, and recommended Larkin as a poetic voice worthy of attention. (His researcher acted surprised, blurting out loud much to our amusement, 'And here I always took you for a Philistine!') I have been grateful ever since, as I frequently return to this slim volume of verse for inspiration and reflection.
This volume of poetry includes 32 poems of the original 'Whitsun Weddings' collection, plus some others. 'Whitsun Weddings' was a small book first published in 1964, which has proven so popular (something rare in poetry circles) that it has been reprinted four times during the 1970s, four times during the 1980s, and continues to be reprinted periodically up to the present day.
John Betjeman, one-time poet laureate of England, once commented of Larkin that 'this tenderly observant poet writes clearly, rhythmically, and thoughtfully about what all of us can understand.' This is the key to Larkin's verse -- accessibility. There are no obvious poetical devices that overpower the meaning or the language; there are no forced schemes, however brilliantly executed, that impose themselves on the reader. The gentle rhythms carry the reader like a slow-moving train on a well-cushioned track.
The poem 'Mr. Bleaney' is the one David first drew attention to when I brought in the small book a few days after his recommendation.
But if he stood and watched the frigid wind
Tousling the clouds, lay on the fusty bed
Telling himself that this was home, and grinned,
And shivered, without shaking off the dread
That how we live measures our own nature,
And at his age having no more to show
Than one hired box should make him pretty sure
He warranted no better, I don't know.
These words resonate with me at different times in my life, as they did with David. There is a desire to make someone of oneself, to have something to show for one's life. In the development of Mr. Bleaney's life, and his successor in the rented room, one can take stock and reappraise one's own life. What is the value, and how is it calculated?
Larkin's poetry frequently turns to the matter of religion and spirituality, without getting overly fussy or remote. In the poem Water, Larkin gives a very brief description of a spirit-freeing and pluralistic yet communal experience.
Larkin addresses the issues of age and youth, of love and loneliness, of despair and hope, all within the space of these 32 wonderful poems. The poem `Wild Oats' incorporates all of these themes in one compact, bittersweet tale of life. Who could fail to wonder at the matter-of-fact and poignant description of the man who couldn't commit to one woman, having met only briefly her more beautiful friend, and seven years later is still unable to forget? The poem 'A Study of Reading Habits' likewise, dealing with dreams conjured up through reading during youth gone the way of reality in middle age, ending with a too-familiar sour-grapes feeling, 'Books are a load of crap'.
Of course, I mustn't neglect the title piece, 'The Whitsun Weddings'. Perfectly capturing mood and manner of weddings, the routine and the cycle of life, Larkin in fact uses the image of travelling by rail as a subtle motif for the journey through life, the Whitsun Weddings being a stop through which many (a dozen couples in this poem) proceed on their way to lives that will be lived out in 'London spread out like the sun / Its postal districts packed like squares of wheat.'
Larkin's final word in this collection is a very worthy word -- one that will preach, in the words of a cleric friend of mine -- and one that brings to very sweet encapsulation his image of the Arundel Tomb, carefully and tenderly drawn for us in words, evoking images of when it was first created to how it is perceived today in its state of weathered testimony of the couple buried together:
Their final blazon, and to prove
Our almost-instinct almost true:
What will survive of us is love.
May these poems survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The most perfect guide for people studying Philip Larkins poems. The guide is detailed where it counts and not in a boring way and covers almost everything I wondered about. Definitely recommend to other students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
A useful book if studying the text with detailed notes on each poem, although it is very thick language to read. A basic knowledge of the poems already would be useful before reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes on The Whitsun Weddings, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Excellent set of Advanced Level notes. Very helpful in the understanding of the poems at this level. Would recommend to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced
The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced by Philip Larkin (Paperback - 27 Aug. 2003)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews