Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Whitsun weddings
I am currently studying this for a-level and this book has been a great help. It contains many features and a break down of how to study a poem and analysises each poem, with three extended commentaries on 'toads revisted', 'ambulances' and 'here'. This study guide also gives relevant and important background information on Larkin. I found this book to be really helpful...
Published on 19 Feb 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is good. Not amazing.
(Currently doing A-Level studies on The Whitsun Weddings)

The book is rather short and doesn't really go into enough detail in the poems. Most of the comments being made are ones that the reader most likely could come to by themselves.

The book is good enough just to recap on the poems and to get the 'jist' of the poems, But I wouldn't recommend this...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Whitsun weddings, 19 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I am currently studying this for a-level and this book has been a great help. It contains many features and a break down of how to study a poem and analysises each poem, with three extended commentaries on 'toads revisted', 'ambulances' and 'here'. This study guide also gives relevant and important background information on Larkin. I found this book to be really helpful in particular its analysis of each poem and has really helped with my course. I would definetly recommend this book to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Purchase, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. J. Redburn "Bassman" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
This book is very useful for students studying 'the whitsun weddings' for a-level like myself. It gives you lots of different ideas and interpretations that you or your teachers may not have have thought about. It also helps your understanding of some of the more difficult poems. However, it is held back by the fact that it does not cover all of the poems in the collection, although it doesn't miss out any of the 'major' poems. The information on themes and other background information is very helpful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larkin about, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Although this publication doesn't contain all the Larkin poems in the AQA A-level Literature anthology, it is still a useful study-aid and revision tool for students and teachers of A-level poetry. As with all modern York Notes it is clearly and attractively designed with a wealth of relevant information separated into appropriate sections. A must-buy for students of Larkin but be aware it might not have all the poems you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes on The Whitsun Weddings, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
Excellent set of Advanced Level notes. Very helpful in the understanding of the poems at this level. Would recommend to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 April 2013
By 
Ben (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
A useful book if studying the text with detailed notes on each poem, although it is very thick language to read. A basic knowledge of the poems already would be useful before reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Larkin Notes, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
A very helpful quick reference for any one new to studying Larkin. Lots of the poems are discussed in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The most perfect guide for people studying Philip Larkins poems. The guide is detailed where it counts and not in a boring way and covers almost everything I wondered about. Definitely recommend to other students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book is good. Not amazing., 12 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
(Currently doing A-Level studies on The Whitsun Weddings)

The book is rather short and doesn't really go into enough detail in the poems. Most of the comments being made are ones that the reader most likely could come to by themselves.

The book is good enough just to recap on the poems and to get the 'jist' of the poems, But I wouldn't recommend this for those who are die hard students.

My teacher and school hand out notes are much better than the book.

If its cheap, Purchase. If its expensive, Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
The book is really useful and does provide a lot of information about the poems. However I didn't realise when I bought it that it didn't have the whole whitsun weddings collection. It was mentioned in other review but since I was using a different specification I thought I would be ok. turns out it doesn't have every poem in the whitsun weddings book. It does have most, however but you may want to consider buying the study guide as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 18 Sep 2010
By 
martyG (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced (Paperback)
I bought this to read all of the poems as I enjoyed teaching a number of them on the A Level spec. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced
The Whitsun Weddings and Selected Poems: York Notes Advanced by Philip Larkin (Paperback - 27 Aug 2003)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews