Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for revision
I used this book while doing my Gcse course and it was invaluable. The notes enabled me to cross reference with the actual play. Highlighted the important parts of the play. This book helped me gain my A*
Published on 18 Oct. 2003 by williams_chris2

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Merchant of Venice (York Notes)
The notes were useful and informative and presented a good summary of each chapter. It was a useful tool for revision and it served its purpose well.
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by Juliana


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for revision, 18 Oct. 2003
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
I used this book while doing my Gcse course and it was invaluable. The notes enabled me to cross reference with the actual play. Highlighted the important parts of the play. This book helped me gain my A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're doing A Level English these are the best, 25 Feb. 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
Barcode: 9780582506169

So, like most people, i used CGP notes while doing my GCSE's and founnd them mostly good (especially on the poem anthologies) - the humour though, while sometimes fun on many occasions got in the way of serious learning and the notes were brief when dealing with full length plays and novels.

Step in York Notes. For my A Level English i got one of these books for each of my set texts and they were massively helpful in prompting class discussions, writing essays and revising for the exams. They offer detailed chapter summaries and analyse them in an extremely informative way.

There's quotes too, maybe a little too few, but the ones they pick out are good and then at the end of the book you get a wealth of extra info relating to characters, themes and symbolism. If you're an A Level English student or a parent who wants their kids to do well, i'd get these notes - they make your life a lot, lot easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant resource for GCSE, 8 July 2012
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
These notes cover the relevant items for the GCES course and highlight the key aspects.

An invaluable resource for homework and getting an insight of what the play was about and attitudes of the time. For those who find Shakespeare difficult to relate to, it provides the context as well as what he actually meant with all the flowery language.

A good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and helpful, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
Needed a guide to help 13 year old daughter with her studies. Graduate daughter arrived at home while I am on computer, researching which book to buy.
Leaps straight onto Amazon to buy this copy with no hesitation whatsoever. " This is what we always used at school and they are brilliant !" She enthuses!
Have to say- these "York Notes" series are good. Clear notes, advice and other page cross referencing and study suggestions are all included amongst pages of play..... Very helpful and encouraging. I found them useful myself, in encouraging my daughter with her revision. For any other books she studies, I will definitely buy this company's study books as a first option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book for any student studying The Merchant Of Venice, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
S. Coulton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
This book was bought for my daughter who was studying this as part of her Foundation Course for University. She found the book a great help and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
This is an essential volume for all beginners of Shakespeare or the Theatre. It takes the reader/student through history and story line in easily understood language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Merchant of Venice (York Notes), 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
The notes were useful and informative and presented a good summary of each chapter. It was a useful tool for revision and it served its purpose well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars York notes are great, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
Have been using York notes for research for years and was not diappointed with this one. Scene by scene notes with character analyses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
Delivered when stated, book great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker (Paperback)
Interesting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE: Notes by Martin J. Walker
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews