Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the organic chemistry bible
as a chemistry undergraduate in the eighties this book opened up my mind to the wonders and beauty of organic chemistry. it is compact and therefore can be read quickly but its strength lies in the author's ability to convey what at first seem complex concepts into simple yet fantastic answers. I would recommend this book to any undergraduate student of chemistry. It is a...
Published on 14 Nov 2003 by DR ANDREW D EVANS

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars unacceptable print quality
A top book which I have used for many years. I bought a copy for my niece but on some pages the print was illegible. This is the second time that I have purchased something on the web which I would never have bought in a conventional shop.
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by phil davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the organic chemistry bible, 14 Nov 2003
By 
DR ANDREW D EVANS (LIVERPOOL, MERSEYSIDE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
as a chemistry undergraduate in the eighties this book opened up my mind to the wonders and beauty of organic chemistry. it is compact and therefore can be read quickly but its strength lies in the author's ability to convey what at first seem complex concepts into simple yet fantastic answers. I would recommend this book to any undergraduate student of chemistry. It is a titanic of a book. Andy Evans BSc MBChB FRCA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, get it 2nd hand if you can, 6 July 2004
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
Undergraduate text books in chemistry are expensive. Get them 2nd hand if you can.
Sykes' book is a classic in the organic chemisty world and is a sound investement for the chemistry undergraduate. It's not an encyclopedia of all organic reactions, but it will do for all the basics, mechanisms, solid discussion, and will come in handy for learning all that physical organic chemistry you're bound to encounter.
It's also quite small and convenient to pick up, unlike those bulky American textbooks! In fact I think it's an American legal requirement for their textbooks to weigh more than a standard issue anvil. Probably why they all need SUVs with 18L engines.
Anyway, if you're going to do a chemistry degree in the UK, get Sykes' book and Clayden, Greeves, Warren & Wothers' "Organic Chemistry" (consider getting the problems and answers book for that too, if you can afford it all).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT a list of reactions but USEFUL for your WHOLE degree!!!, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
This is considered a classic. I know some chemists who can recite this book. They swear by it. This book is not a textbook that will teach you lots of organic reactions but it's very good for telling you about organic reaction mechanims. Since it gives examples (although simple ones) to demonstrate ideas, you pick up more than you've bargained for. It's good as a reference text and excellent for things like the primary kinetic isotope effect and all the Hammet equation stuff you're bound to have to learn at some point during your degree. Also it has the advantage of not being too huge and colossal like some text books I know. All in all it's VERY worth getting if you're doing a chemistry degree (and beyond) but the price seems unfair. I'd get it used if I was getting it again. Thinking about it, I think getting textbooks used is a good idea all round. But as far as this book is concerned, it's all top notch stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible for chemists, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
One of the best book to learn/revise chemistry. Very very few things are to be careful with as it is an old book, but reliable at 99%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a reference book, much more important than that, 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
An excellent book, the text puts many important ideas into context and explains many of the underlying patterns that govern organic reaction mechanisms. Other reviews suggest that it is hard to look things up in it; so it is! You need to read this gradually from cover to cover, and I guarantee you will be much more apprecative about organic chemistry at the end. It will show you and explain patterns in behaviour that no other book does. A classic. My only compalint is that it now looks old, in layout and diagrams. Somebody needs to produce a new edition with some updated graphics..any offers anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Service, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
We were supplied with a used book when we ordered and paid for a new book. It was a problem trying to get a refund and Amazon had to step in to force the refund through it's A-Z Guarantee. We are still in possession of the book as they don't want us to return it (it was sent from India!) they want us to keep the book until they have another buyer and forward it on!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long history, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
I bought this for my God daughter because 45 years ago it got me a distinction in Chem 1 and set me up for a career in science. It was that memorable, although I must confess haven't read it since..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
Prompt delivery and a very useful book. This book serves the purpose very well. I would recommend the book as well as the supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars unacceptable print quality, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
A top book which I have used for many years. I bought a copy for my niece but on some pages the print was illegible. This is the second time that I have purchased something on the web which I would never have bought in a conventional shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not good enough, 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
It's a good book, especially for acid/base strengths and conjugation and things. However, the more advanced mechanisms are often either over-simplified, not shown or sometimes just plain wrong! However, the guy is obviously a god of organic chemistry and no chemistry student can do without it. There's no doubt that it's unchallenged as a basic guide (first year) to organic chemistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry
Guidebook to Mechanism in Organic Chemistry by Peter Sykes (Paperback - 9 Jun 1986)
44.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews