Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars the flour babies rule the school
The book is about some flour babies, Its about a boy who goes to school and picks the subject on the flour babies at first hes not to keen but as it goes on he starts to like it. In the storey it helps simon martin to become more mature and grown up.
The book is quite good because there were good bits and bad bits. Some of the good bits were when simonhad to look...
Published on 4 Dec 2002 by melissa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WHat I though of the Book
I think this book was pretty good, except maybe
it was a little bit young. Anne Fine is a really
great author, and I've read a lot of books about
her. I liked the way the characters interacted,
and I like the way the teacher came across as
loud and mean, but also caring. My favorite
chararcter was Simon Martin, who accidently got
put in...
Published on 3 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars the flour babies rule the school, 4 Dec 2002
By 
The book is about some flour babies, Its about a boy who goes to school and picks the subject on the flour babies at first hes not to keen but as it goes on he starts to like it. In the storey it helps simon martin to become more mature and grown up.
The book is quite good because there were good bits and bad bits. Some of the good bits were when simonhad to look after his flour baby and another was when he never wanted to give it in because he had really started to care. Some of the bad bits were when he was investigating about his farther because i dident think that it was much about the flour babies. Some of the characters in the story which i thought took a good part are simon martin, dr feltham, mum, the flour babies and 4c themselves. Some of the bad characters in the storey are martin simon because he really diddent have a part, hythinth, simons dad because he wasent there and some of 4c.
In chapter 2 I thought that the flour babies storey was good and set in a intresting place. The language in the storey was good and they used to express there felings as they felt. Simon martin was the main character and he wanted to do a project on the flour babies. This made simon become more mature and to show him what it would be like to have a real baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Flour Babies, 4 Dec 2002
By A Customer
The flour baby book is about a class of mentally challenged children, who have to vote on what they are going to do for the science fair. That's when the flour babies come in and it is also about a boy who lost his dad; you will have to read the book to find out more.
The flour baby book was quite easy to read and the characters seemed so life like, you could get to know their personality quite well if you're much of a reader. My favourite, character was Simon Martin because he was funny, interesting and somehow quite sociable.
There are parts in the book where you will chuckle to youself and some parts you are falling to sleep. The story has an interesting twist to it.
The launguage was funny because they made good coments and the names were intersting although a little confusing, there were horrible people in the story but Simon Martin had a change to heart and started to realize not everything revolves around him. In the end he understands how hard it is to look after a baby and also that his mum tried hard to look after him without his dad.
The stroy was set at Simons Martin's house or in the classroom or on the pitch playing football. I wouldn't read this book again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flour babies is cool, 4 Dec 2002
I thought the setting was good.It made me want to find out about Simon Martins character more.The bad thing about the setting was i didnt know where to start.Every character seemed the same and they all had the same personality most of the time,which was boring.I like to see a bit more character in loads of different attitude situations,all i saw most of the time was moody and thinking about themselvees.Some of the characters anyway.
The different characters are Martin Simon is the brainy one he reads French poems one of the books he reads is Beaudelaire. Sajid Mamood arranged his flour baby creche business,he had two prams joined together.Simon M artin characters only heres what he wants to hear short of person.He is the only person in the class who tries to look after his flour baby.Robin foster did not loook after his flour bay he kicked it into the cannal.
i thought the flour baby book was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flour Babies Rule!, 4 Dec 2002
I thought this book was very good,This is because it was definitely written for my age group. I think it had quite a few meanings eg (never judge a book by its cover, treat people how you would like to be treated).
My favourite part has got to have been when Simon Martin wanted to find out more about his father.
I liked the way the story opened up.
I would recommend this bood to children aged 11-14 it has some difficult words in and it is right for the age group.
I would decribe this book has very interesting but if I had to say something bad about this book I don't think I could name it off the top of my head.
The book was very good generally because it was a typical example of a high school for boys,to set it around Simon Martin was very cleaver. I really liked how Siman Martin was treating the flour baby like he wanted to be treated by his father.
All and all very very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flour Babies, 4 Dec 2002
By 
nathan ward (Sheffield, (England)) - See all my reviews
I think the flour baby book was intresting but i think someone older than me would like it more ,such as people who understand about the things you have to do when you have a real babie.
In the book the main character is simon martin who has lots of moods changes such as happy,sad,excited and other moods.
Also in the story it has three parts. At the start when simon just heared about his father, in the middle of the story when he is trying to find out about his father and at the end he is not bothered about anything that is going on around him.
In the middle of the story he tries his best to look after the flour baby but when he heared Mr cartright say Simons flour baby was a mess he got annoyed and at the end of the story he kicks the flour babis to bits and there is no science fair.
I think the book overall was good because it was dramatic.
nathan ward 8s age 12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WHat I though of the Book, 3 April 2001
By A Customer
I think this book was pretty good, except maybe
it was a little bit young. Anne Fine is a really
great author, and I've read a lot of books about
her. I liked the way the characters interacted,
and I like the way the teacher came across as
loud and mean, but also caring. My favorite
chararcter was Simon Martin, who accidently got
put in the "smart" class. You see there is a boy
named Martin Simon who is a "boffin" and really
belongs in the "smart" class. Martin gets all
confused because he is put with the boffins, and
I just found that really funny!
I'm twelve years old, so maybe this book wouldn't
exactly appeal to everyone, but if you've taken
the time to come here and look at this review,
you must have at least been thinking about
reading it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious but Lacks Strong Themes, 26 Jun 2003
Flour Babies is a children’s novel that follows Simon Martin and his class when they receive flour babies as their school project. As first, everyone is appalled with the idea of having to look after huge bags of flour, but Simon is changed by the experience as he realises how difficult being a parent to a real child would be.
This story has some funny and also very interesting points, but I felt the ending destroyed the themes involved. Although I did not entirely enjoy this book, others may find it hilarious and full of meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Ending, 29 May 2003
By A Customer
Flour Babies is a children’s novel that follows Simon Martin and his class when they receive flour babies as their school project. As first, everyone is appalled with the idea of having to look after huge bags of flour, but Simon is changed by the experience as he realises how difficult being a parent to a real child would be.
This story has some funny and also very interesting points, but I felt the ending destroyed the themes involved. Although I did not entirely enjoy this book, others may find it hilarious and full of meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A study of parenting, 29 May 2003
By A Customer
Flour Babies is a children's novel that follows Simon Martin and his class when they receive flour babies as their school project. As first, everyone is appalled with the idea of having to look after huge bags of flour, but Simon is changed by the experience as he realises how difficult being a parent to a real child would be.
This story has some funny and also very interesting points, but I felt the ending destroyed the themes involved. Although I did not entirely enjoy this book, others may find it hilarious and full of meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful FLOUR BABIES, 17 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Flour Babies (Hardcover)
This review is about a book called Flour Babies. This book is emotional and alot of a funny book and the charecters are so different to normal life they act all stupid, they don't know much but to talk stupidly and especially when my teacher Mrs Smith red it to us and she has these techniques on reading the book so it is Funny Exciting. This book is brilliant SO READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flour Babies (NEW LONGMAN LITERATURE 11-14)
Flour Babies (NEW LONGMAN LITERATURE 11-14) by Esther Menon (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2000)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews