Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for A level!
I have purchased this to accompany my revision for my A2 exam on Virgil. With the David West translation it is a great little reference for when your stuck on who a character is, the meaning of a word, or the historical and political context or a particular book. The best part is his explanation of the Greekness of Rome, I can now fully appreciate Homer's influence on...
Published on 11 Jun. 2011 by nobodysaknowitall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Helpful but probably didn't really need the notes to read the book.
Published 6 months ago by clarestclare


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for A level!, 11 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
I have purchased this to accompany my revision for my A2 exam on Virgil. With the David West translation it is a great little reference for when your stuck on who a character is, the meaning of a word, or the historical and political context or a particular book. The best part is his explanation of the Greekness of Rome, I can now fully appreciate Homer's influence on Virgil and how he managed to make it his own. However it does unfortunately lack on the synopsis, but then again it isn't intended to replace reading the text yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide for the A Level student, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
It is best to say what this book isn't. it is not a detailed commentary. it is not a lengthy academic study of epic, or Virgil or themes or anything of that sort.

What it is , is a very useful and handy general guide to West's translation. West's translation omits any useful notes and guide, the result is, if one wants to have clarifications, one needs to check out other commentaries etc. This guide however, is the guide as it is written solely by Robin Sowerby, based on West's book.

It packs a lot of information for the A level student in 120 pages. The commentary itself is only about 36 pages long, so no great detail, but it does provide basic information and clarification. Part three of the book details various themes and characters, language and style.. Sowerby also provides some detailed analysis on thre examples in the Aeneid, which provides ideas as to how to critically approach the epic. It also has a useful biography and advice on how to read the epic as an A level student.

All in all it is a very useful contribution for students at that level and to others who have never actually read the Aeneid in translation and need some small guidance in what they are looking at. it is a very readable guide and would recommend reading it before tackling West's translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
Helpful but probably didn't really need the notes to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
Goods received on time and I good order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars modernise needed, 13 May 2009
By 
L. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
it is good and useful but could really do with a full makeover into the 21st century. i was also expecting more focus on specific sections, whereas it is rather vague and broad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars helpful notes, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
Exactly as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
Fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 July 2011
By 
M. Western (Dunfermline, Fife, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) (Paperback)
I've used a few of this series but I found this one less useful than the others. However, it covers the basics and its better than nothing, just don't expect too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series)
The Aeneid (York Notes Advanced series) by Robin Sowerby (Paperback - 28 Sept. 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews