Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Succinct yet breathtaking analysis of the period
Roberts' insight in to the shifting sands of European affairs is both concise and well argued. Structured argument and an interesting critique is inherent throughout, whilst evidence of a resounding depth of knowledge is ever present. A period, dogged by war, colonialism, and the emergence of powerful nation states is portrayed with resounding historical passion. The...
Published on 14 Nov. 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but dull.
J.M. Roberts, knows his subject, no doubt about that. He covers social, economic and cultural history over a period of 65 years. All important themes are covered, as you would expect from this type of book, such as the fall of the Austro-Hungarian empire, both World Wars, rise of Fascism, Russian revolution etc. It is easy to navigate the chapters and find areas you are...
Published on 17 Jan. 2005 by Ms. H. Sinton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but dull., 17 Jan. 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
J.M. Roberts, knows his subject, no doubt about that. He covers social, economic and cultural history over a period of 65 years. All important themes are covered, as you would expect from this type of book, such as the fall of the Austro-Hungarian empire, both World Wars, rise of Fascism, Russian revolution etc. It is easy to navigate the chapters and find areas you are looking for.
However, this book is written in a dull, heavy style. Roberts seems to delight in long winded prose when making a point, not something that lends itself to easy reading. Certainly it has it's uses as a text for the undergraduate historian but for the casual reader it may be just a little too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Succinct yet breathtaking analysis of the period, 14 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
Roberts' insight in to the shifting sands of European affairs is both concise and well argued. Structured argument and an interesting critique is inherent throughout, whilst evidence of a resounding depth of knowledge is ever present. A period, dogged by war, colonialism, and the emergence of powerful nation states is portrayed with resounding historical passion. The difficulties in dealing with such a tumultuous period of history are evident, yet they do not become burdensome to the point of detracting from the novel. 65 years which incorporate the zenith of Bismarcks political weight in Germany, the rise of the fascist state under Mussolini in Italy, and two wars which define the twentieth century for our generation, are vividly depicted. Innovative and charming, this book is imperative for an up to date understanding of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History Projects, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
This book is quite good at covering all the key aspects of the period of 1880-1945 and what caused different minor conflicts, the assassination of the Archduke Ferdinand causing World War I, what Europe was like between the end of World War I and the beginning of World War II. It shows the great changes there were as it was a time of radical political, social and economic change throughout Europe especially as this was the height of the existence of empires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for background knowledge for the module I'm undertaking as part of my history degree. It is informative and easy to comprehend with so much relevant (to me) information. I would recommend it for anyone interested in 20th century European history. It is a second hand copy but arrived in good condition and was a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff., 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
Pretty dull and dry, but incredibly informative. Very useful for my revision.
Some buffoon has 1 starred this because it never arrived, so I'm going to give it 5 stars to balance it out. Although my own personal rating would have been 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars European history, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
Excellent, particularly if you are studying A327: War, Peace, Modernity with the Open University, or simply interested in European history in this period. Highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and insightful., 26 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
I purchased this product out of necessity for the study of the Open University course, AA312 (total war and social change).

The book is very comprehensive about the social events surrounding both the first and second world war. It is not particularly concerned with the conduct of the wars themselves, however, and people interest in this particular aspect ought look elsewhere (I would recommend John Keegan).

Recommended in its own right but, again, not for beginners as the reading can get quite intense at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roberts "Europe, 1880-1945", 6 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
This was a set book that I had to purchase for my present course with the Open University. Roberts covers the period well although some of the text does not flow smoothly, in my opinion. However, to get an understanding of Europe during the two wars, it is very informative with a lot of background information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Europe 1880-1945, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
John H. Williams (Cardiff Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
Updated edition of an outstanding reference book. Without doubt the best book of it's type written, without which I would never have completed my Open University course. Excellent reader for those with a passing interest in European history written in a clear and readable style. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A heavy topic well covered., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) (Paperback)
This book covers a period of great change in Europe. The many conflicts leading up to the Great War, the inter war period and then World War II are dealt with in great detail and a must for students wishing to understand the early part of the twentieth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe)
Europe 1880-1945 (General History of Europe) by J.M. Roberts (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2000)
£28.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews