Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful
There aren't that many resources for teachers of this text, so I found it very useful in helping me to focus my ideas. A great springboard for planning lessons.
Published 9 months ago by Chester

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Aids understanding but not exam technique.
As a teacher, I find the chapter by chapter summaries most useful. Pupils can read these before tackling each chapter of the novel to ensure they understand what to look out for - it really helps them to ensure annotations in their copy of the novel are meaningful.

The 'test yourself' questions at the end of each four chapters just check basic recall - asking...
Published 28 days ago by Lisa B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Aids understanding but not exam technique., 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
As a teacher, I find the chapter by chapter summaries most useful. Pupils can read these before tackling each chapter of the novel to ensure they understand what to look out for - it really helps them to ensure annotations in their copy of the novel are meaningful.

The 'test yourself' questions at the end of each four chapters just check basic recall - asking pupils to remember 'who said this?' or 'which character does this refer to?' - not a very high level skill. There is also a 'consider these issues' section but the issues are not posed as questions and some students struggle to understand what exactly is being asked of them

It is a shame that there are no exemplar extract questions as these are the type of questions that most students face in their exams today.

Overall - a good little guide for aiding pupils in their understanding of meaning as they look at each chapter - but the questions posed are either to basic or do not assist pupils in preparing for the type of exam they are likely to face.

Buy the guide to aid a deeper understanding of the text but ask your teachers for true exam style questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book with exam technique guide, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
my son is doing this for his IGCSE English and is finding it really useful especially as it has essay exam technique guides in the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
There aren't that many resources for teachers of this text, so I found it very useful in helping me to focus my ideas. A great springboard for planning lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful note and ideal tool for iGCSE candidates, 8 April 2014
By 
C. James (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
For iGCSE English Literature candidates, it fits for their well preparation in the upcoming examination and get a high grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
Very useful explanations and character profiles. Much easier to read than the actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly English Lit was not a favourite for my children - these notes are perfect however ..., 4 July 2014
By 
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
Sadly English Lit was not a favourite for my children - these notes are perfect however if you are trying to bump up your understanding of the text and main character stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING lol it's actually really good.., 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
I'm in year 11 and boy is this useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent condition, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars extremely poor service, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE (Paperback)
Item is urgently required for students doing English literature GCSE, the item is out of stock for some time which is worrying. The item is completly unavailable over the entire internet. Please resolve this issue and make the item in stock now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE
I'm the King of the Castle: York Notes for GCSE by Caroline Woolfe (Paperback - 4 July 1997)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews