Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to read
What really comes across in this book is the author's love of literature, and in line with this is evidence that the author has read and studied an incredible amount of material. Because of the breadth of material and high quality of writing, I found myself becoming completely drawn-in by the literature and by the discussion that followed it, so much so that it didn't...
Published 19 months ago by James Taylor

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
hard to follow not for beginners in stylistic analysis but other than that a good read that was required for my course
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by Rebecca Oram


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to read, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
What really comes across in this book is the author's love of literature, and in line with this is evidence that the author has read and studied an incredible amount of material. Because of the breadth of material and high quality of writing, I found myself becoming completely drawn-in by the literature and by the discussion that followed it, so much so that it didn't feel as if I was reading a text book.

Now then, there are a number of text books on stylistics, and many are probably better for someone who wants to get a quick toehold in the subject. But I think that whereas you will dive into the others for a quick memory jog, you will find that you'll come back to this book for the sheer joy of reading it. This is a book to love and learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and accessible, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. J. A. Martin (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
A useful and accessible book for language students. Fairly simply written and easy to follow. Well laid out with each chapter building on the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
A good book overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. D. A. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Mick Short produces a fantastic book, ensuring to keep in mind, the reader unfamiliar with academic jargon. Exploring the Language of Poems and Prose is apt at detailing all a novice needs to know about the subject, indeed, it also makes for a handy referrence guide for those already familiar with this strand of linguistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent over-view of stylistics, 12 July 2008
By 
Sally Douglas (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Although Mick Short is sometimes prone to stating the obvious (did we really need an illustration of two chairs to illustrate deixis? I think most people know the difference between 'that' chair and 'this' chair depends upon where they are..) this is otherwise an excellent book about stylistic analysis, with useful exercises, and checklists to help with carrying out one's own analyses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Study Book, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by the Open University for extra study and it was a most interesting and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
hard to follow not for beginners in stylistic analysis but other than that a good read that was required for my course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars English text book, 19 Mar 2013
By 
J. Roberts (Rochdale,Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language) (Paperback)
Needed for my next OU module so have not read it yet.
Good speedy delivery, great price. Will give me a head start on the necessary reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring the Language of Poems, Plays and Prose (Learning About Language)
£30.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews