Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll perceive views about different way of making business which should be considered...
As many readers after reading "Rework" from the 37signals (J. Fried, H. D. Hansson and M. Linderman), I was eager to read their previously published book "Getting Real".

In general, "Getting Real" is also inspiring read but because it was published earlier some familiar things can be found, which were repeated in "Rework".

True to their own...
Published 12 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but Re-Work (the new version) is far better....
Had the authors not just published "ReWork", then I would have given this 5 stars.

However, having just read the two books back-to-back, I would say that "ReWork" includes pretty much all the key points from Getting Real, plus more material.

If you've not read ReWork, buy it instead of this one.

If you have just read ReWork, don't...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by Mark Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but Re-Work (the new version) is far better...., 16 Mar 2010
By 
Mark Harrison (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
Had the authors not just published "ReWork", then I would have given this 5 stars.

However, having just read the two books back-to-back, I would say that "ReWork" includes pretty much all the key points from Getting Real, plus more material.

If you've not read ReWork, buy it instead of this one.

If you have just read ReWork, don't particularly expect to learn additional things from Getting Real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll perceive views about different way of making business which should be considered..., 10 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
As many readers after reading "Rework" from the 37signals (J. Fried, H. D. Hansson and M. Linderman), I was eager to read their previously published book "Getting Real".

In general, "Getting Real" is also inspiring read but because it was published earlier some familiar things can be found, which were repeated in "Rework".

True to their own philosophy, the book is really short, can be read in 2 hours maximum and it's divided into short chapters. Through the entire book the authors supplemented the book with other people experience which reinforce the view and point they are trying to make.

"Getting Real" is about doing things, making things happen rather than talking about taking action or waiting something to happen. In their view no one should write documents about what is planned to be done, you should start doing things and learn in the process while you do it. One of the key points of risk management in their view is that many of the problems anticipated will not happen at all. Their solving problems philosophy is doing things just in time, do not worry about problems that didn't and probably won't happen in the future.

The book is mostly oriented towards software industry, specifically web products which are 37signals company home ground, including almost all aspects of getting a web application to become real thing - design, coding, selecting features, promoting and many more.

The only drawback for me was the order in which I read 37signals books, because if you first read "Rework" some familiar parts, even chapters can be found.

I recommend reading "Getting Real" for same reason as their other book - reader would see value of few spent hours due to perceived views about different way of making business which should be considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ALREADY OWN REWORK DONT BUY THIS, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
So this is just a tipoff -- don't buy Getting Real if you already have read and own Rework.

I love Rework, I've read it 2.5 times and I'm telling my friends about it .... so it was disappointing to find that Getting Real is basically the older version of the same book.

So keep reading and using Rework - but save your money

PS ... if you're trying to decide which is better ... then buy Rework
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It influenced the way I work., 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
When I read it several years ago, it definitely influenced the way I work.

By the way, you can get the PDF version of it for free, by joining the *37signals's mailing list. Just Google "37signals getting real" or something similar, and you'll find the book's landing page.

*although they now call themselves "Basecamp", the book's landing page still calls them 37signals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent motivation book., 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
It has about 7 years old, i think, but it fits perfectly the current times.
Very nice book for startup web developers.
Very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 13 Feb 2013
By 
JM Scotland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Real (Kindle Edition)
Great book, also enjoyed their other book called rework.
While both books are similar in philosophy, I still got something extra with this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Real - Getting Ready, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
Good book - great tips that advise you to concentrate of the most important things of both your work ethic and your business ethic - concentrate of the stuff that must be done rather thann all the other stuff that would be nice in the long run but are not necessary things that are important and considered a waste of time. Like the tips on how to organise your coding as well as how to organise your work prioritise. Would also recommend the otgher book REWORK as I also found that really good.Would happily recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp and meaningful, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
This book will only take you half a day to read, but it is half a day of your life that is worth investing. If you are building and distributing web applications, then this book is a bible of what you should and shouldn't do. It is all too common to get dragged down into the rich feature set on version 1 of your application and this book, amongst other things, guides you down the righteous path of saying no to feature bloat.

I will be going back to this book time and time again, not only because it is such an easy read, but because it is so relevant to the programming world I work in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So inspiring, I'm building a business off the back of it, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Mark Copeman (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application (Paperback)
Was recommended this book by a friend who actually presented on the concepts at a conference. It's inspired me to say the least - Jason Fried has put into words all of the things I've always wanted to say and have believed deep down. I just thought I was the only one!

It's inspired me so much, our next web venture is being built on these principles.

If you'd like to see this venture unfolding - we've decided to write an online diary of our experiences from first dinner (to our first million?)...

Search for it "watch us getting real" in quotes in Google and you'll find it.

If you're even half considering setting up a business (online or otherwise) - buying this book will be the best money you'll ever spend.

Mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for a no BS business. Get real or get gone., 23 Aug 2008
If I could give this book ten stars I would.

The whole ethos of the book and the company lifts off the page. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone in business. Being a sortware developer is not a necessity to read this book. All you have to be is human and live in the real world.

Getting real is the only way to go. Everything else in business is just stamp collecting to paraphrase Ernst Rutherford.

Get it. Read it. Then just do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting Real: The smarter, faster, easier way to build a successful web application
£18.95
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews