Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling book by this popular and talented striker
It's such a nice and refreshing change to read a book on the subject of football that's not all to do with high-flying clubs, rich players and tycoons. This is about a 'real' footballer. Whereas most people are happy to read about the great lifestyle players like Beckham have, I'm much more interested in the nitty-gritty life of the footballer, the one that maybe...
Published on 27 April 2002 by Jay M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange way to write a book!
As a fan of a lower league team, it has been a refreshing change to read about someone who hasn't led the life of a top paid Premiership footballer. However, I have found the way that the book has been written to be a little strange. It flits between biography and auto biography for each stage of Steve Clarridge's career. This means that you are often reading about the...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by September Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling book by this popular and talented striker, 27 April 2002
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
It's such a nice and refreshing change to read a book on the subject of football that's not all to do with high-flying clubs, rich players and tycoons. This is about a 'real' footballer. Whereas most people are happy to read about the great lifestyle players like Beckham have, I'm much more interested in the nitty-gritty life of the footballer, the one that maybe reaches the Premiership one day, but on the whole he starts at the bottom, works hard and toils in the lower divisions. These are the real heroes, the players that fans adore, no matter if they are supremely talented or not, these are the players who try and give everything for their club, and one of these such men is Steve Claridge.
Written in conjunction with Observer writer, Ian Ridley, this book is a fascinating account of the unfashionable side of football life, the life that most viewers never get to hear about on TV or radio. Tales of long treks up the motorways to near deserted stadiums and of ungrateful managers, this maybe the unnoticed side of football, but it's the one that I prefer to notice! There are many funny accounts in this book, many containing the larger than life Barry Fry, it's well written and very honest.
You have to buy this book, forget the biographies of Beckham, Owen, they are nothing compared to this incredibly funny, clever, eye-opening and downright brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This must rate as one of the best biographies by a footaller, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
I read the book 'Tales from the Boot Camps' when it was first released but I am pleased that it has now been revised to include further developments in Claridge's career. This book provides a real isight into being a professional in the lower leagues and what it was like for Claridge on his way to makeing it to the big time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
Claridge makes no apologies for who/what he is, and pulls no punches in his opinions of others. The result is a great football autobiog/biog and you can literally hear him saying the words on the page. For me, the Ridley sections let it down slightly - they're supposed to articulately link the chapters together, but I found them a little showy and unecessary. You can't help but like Claridge, as he's just such an oddball (I mean that in a nice way). He comes across as honest yet self-deprecating. Surely time for another revised edition Steve? - there have been yet more twists and turns in this intruiging career..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good interesting insight, 14 April 2008
By 
B. Clark "Brian" (Preston Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book so much so that I read it within a week!!!
It gives a really interesting insight in to how a footballer used to live compared to the modern day millionaire lifestyle of a premiership superstar. A real down to earth player and person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary, unforgettable journey., 14 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Tales from the Boot Camps is one of the strangest books you will ever read, and deserves an audience bigger than Claridge ever played before (steady, Leicester fans). Claridge is just SO peculiar, and his adventures in the lower leagues are reminiscent of both Dickens and Gabriel Garcia Marquez (The disabled captain, rotten turkeys for Christmas, his house with no furniture, General John Beck). At a time when football presents itself as high show business, this is a reminder of the poverty and inadequacy both at its lowest levels of the game and of so many of the young boys who fuel the machine. Claridge himself keeps many secrets, from the identity of his father to the character of the woman he marries at the end of the story, who is never introduced. Before I put too many people off, it's incredibly funny too, and has an uplifting ending, though one fears how things will turn out for Steve in the next ten years, based on what he reveals about himself. If you enjoy it nearly as much as I did, try and find Stan Bowles equally uproarious and alarming autobiography "Stan The Man", published by "Paper Plane" on what looked like an old dot-matrix printer. Publishers, bring it to the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
Loved this book a brilliant insight into Stevs amazing Journey through football . Never a dull moment in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
A fantastic book,great read,nice to read aboutmsomebodymcoming up,through the division.
Clearly,a man who loved his football.
Would recommend it to anybody that has a love for football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
I bought this as a gift for a friend who is a Birmingham City fan. I've not heard their opinion of it, so can only assume it was good without being brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A strange way to write a book!, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
As a fan of a lower league team, it has been a refreshing change to read about someone who hasn't led the life of a top paid Premiership footballer. However, I have found the way that the book has been written to be a little strange. It flits between biography and auto biography for each stage of Steve Clarridge's career. This means that you are often reading about the same incident twice. I would have enjoyed this book much more if I could have just read Steve Clarridge talking about his own experiences in a little more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boot camp, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Ian Steven Baker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales From The Boot Camps (Paperback)
Entertaining enough read about a solid pro's career, largely spent in the lower leagues, interspersed with a jouno's preface (by Ian Ridley) to each chapter of Claridge's career, largelt psychophantic, so part autobiog, part biog. Aside from the gambling addiction issue and a little on his adoption, not a lot of insight into who Steve Claridge is and not enough about the behind the scenes "going ons" at smaller clubs. I suspect a lot censored out by libel lawyers so disappointingly little about the managers, coaches and other players who crossed his path. Kind of a light wieght tome. Didn't feel I learned enough about either him or his life as a pro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales From The Boot Camps
Tales From The Boot Camps by Ian Ridley (Paperback - 9 Nov 2000)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews