Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical story of a garden lost in time
This book is an wonderful story of how the gardens at Heligan were found buried after several decades and their restoration.
Tim Smit takes you through the feelings they had when they discovered it bit by bit sometimes coming across hidden parts of the garden even falling into one down what was the waterfall in the old rockery.
Gradually after hours of...
Published on 27 Jun. 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some elses book
cant comment on this as some one else asked me to get itfrom amazon for her partner as he likes this author
Published on 28 Mar. 2013 by trish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical story of a garden lost in time, 27 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This book is an wonderful story of how the gardens at Heligan were found buried after several decades and their restoration.
Tim Smit takes you through the feelings they had when they discovered it bit by bit sometimes coming across hidden parts of the garden even falling into one down what was the waterfall in the old rockery.
Gradually after hours of breakbreaking work the garden is uncovered and restored into a wondrous place.
Once you have read this book you will be inspired into visiting Heligan to see for yourself what it is like and I can say you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Insight of The Lost Gardens of Heligan, 16 April 2001
By A Customer
Being a visitor to the lost gardens for the last five years, i have seen first hand the fantastic work that Tim Smit and his team have achieved. This Book has lots of colour photographs and maps showing what it was like when they discovered the gardens to the present day. It is a must for any keen gardener who enjoys a bit of history aswell. I shall be going to Heligan again in June 2001, when i am on holiday in cornwall, and will write another review on my return. There is also a video available which was produced by Channel 4. You can spend all day in these gardens, i particulary like the jungle where you feel the humidity change the deeper you go. I thoroughly recomend all books and videos in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration in business development, 3 July 2010
By 
T. J. Fenn (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Gardens Of Heligan (Paperback)
Very inspiring and readable book. This is a personal account of how persistence and drive can overcome the nimby's and how damaging they can potentially be. In the Book, Tim Smit describes the encounter when he actually bumped into the nimby who was hassling him with late night calls. How satisfying! Pity he couldn't name her in the book. Tim Smit is the "Jeremy Clarkson" of the "environmental world!" Couldn't put the book down as it is very relevant to any person either in business or starting a new business and gives the reader the confidence to continue the war!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Gardens of Helegan by Tim Smit, 2 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Gardens Of Heligan (Paperback)
This book is informative and enjoyable. It traces the history and restoration the of the gardens in a captivating manner. A good read for everyone but if you are planning a visit to Helegan I recommend you read this book first as it will enhance your trip enormously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost and found, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
J. M. Shipman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Gardens Of Heligan (Paperback)
A very interesting book which describes the recent history of the discovery and restoration of the gardens, woodlands and associated buildings. A good book to go alongside the recent TV programmes. The book has stimulated my thoughts about visiting the gardens. Nice, easy going style and a pleasure to read. Plenty of maps and pictures which were interesting but would have liked to have seen more of these. Very surprised to see in one picture my parents who must have been visiting the gardens when a photographer was taking pictures that ended up in the book. Spooky. John S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars place to go, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived boxed well and quickly excellent condition so have no issues what so ever. Heligan is really worth a visit, I found far better than Eden. I have no more words to say ...................................................................................................................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a joy, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I visited Heligan a few months ago - only wish I'd read this book first. An inspiring read and well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars holiday reminder book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Gardens Of Heligan (Paperback)
this book was a gift that was appreciated as a reminder of our holiday, visit to the gardens is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Ann D Wilson (Rice, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Gardens Of Heligan (Paperback)
Beautiful book, filled with amazing illustrations and detailed informantion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Gardens Of Heligan (Paperback)
excellent reading for the aspiring gardener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Gardens Of Heligan
The Lost Gardens Of Heligan by Tim Smit (Paperback - 8 April 2010)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews