Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take that - and zen some!
I train in Ju Jitsu at a London club and I can relate with many a wry smile to Robert Twigger's experiences in A.W.P. Although not training to the same punishing level, I see all his dojo types in any martial arts clubs; the sadists, the wimps, the show-offs and all us in-betweens - sliding between fear and fascination, bravado and dejection.
Twigger keeps the...
Published on 3 Feb 2004 by Mr. J. A. D. Swan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angry White Pyjamas
`Angry White Pyjamas' follows an Englishman in Japan as he trains on the extreme Tokyo riot police course. It looks at his time and training in an Aikido dojo and makes for fascinating reading. The style of Aikido he learnt is Yoshinkan and isn't truly representative of Aikido in general, you don't tend to get the overly macho and violent teachers and philosophy in other...
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by Spider Monkey


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of authors write but don't really have decent story to tell because there experience isn't that intriguing. This is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 29 Aug 2009
By 
C. T. Lulea "catalin" (reading, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent and very funny. I would recommend to all who practice aikido, to remember not to take themselves very serious...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read. The best book I've read in years., 9 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Everyone should read this book, especialy if you are interested in eastern arts and traditions. I read it on my return from Japan and the memorys came flooding back. Funny and highly informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Book, 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Robert Twigger's Angry White Pyjamas is a very informative and interesting read. It is an autobiographical account of his study of a martial art in Japan.
At thirty years old Twigger feels that he is leading an unfulfilled life and as he is also extremely unfit he decides to remedy this. To do this he joins the Tokyo Riot Police on their yearlong study of Yoshinkan Aikido, which is an extremely tough course, and his reward for completing this is the coveted Black belt.
Along the way we follow Twigger through the hardships and pleasures of training at the dojo. The course seems very hard, although one has to wonder if Twigger has hyped it up a bit for the publishers, especially as he tells us in the book that his main aim apart from completing the course is to be a writer.
All in all this book is an easy read. I think it is worth reading even if you are not a martial artist as it's also very funny in places. I could not put it down and found that I had read it in two days, then I read it again just two days later.
Just read it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kinda funny but a bit hard going at page 120 and wondering if i should finish it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!! A brilliant read., 6 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angry White Pyjamas: An Oxford Poet Trains with the Tokyo Riot Police (Paperback)
If you are going to read one book about training in the martial arts, specifically training in Japan, then this is the book for you. Pulling no punches Robert Twigger takes you through the highs and lows of training with the Tokyo Riot Police Aikido course.
I was gripped from the opening page with the way that the author builds a picture of life in modern Japan from the viewpoint of a gaijin, or foreigner. An honest but very funny book which will have you laughing one moment and amazed at another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rings true to many martial artists, 27 Dec 2002
By A Customer
Perhaps the machismo is somewhat difficult to bear but this is a brilliant read that I enjoyed a lot. You don't have to be into Aikido, or into Japanese martial arts generally, to empathise with the mindsets of the students and instructors.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to anyone!, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already have this book, i bought it for a friends birthday. Would recommend to anyone. Is a really good read and excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, witty, Bravo Two Zero for the martial artist!, 14 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Angry White Pyjamas: An Oxford Poet Trains with the Tokyo Riot Police (Paperback)
Twigger is an exceptional writer with very few faults. His description of life in Japan and then his introduction into the Riot Police course is great.
I just want to know who the girl on the cover is, it's not his ex, is there a follow-up? Well worth reading. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angry White Pyjamas: An Oxford Poet Trains with the Tokyo Riot Police
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews