Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever!
I enjoyed it, different as they always are, well worth a read. Another decent book in the wild card series.
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Holding out for a hero
The latest in the re-released wild card series skips a few generation and puts us in the mid noughties, a new generation of aces with some old friends cameoing must fight the twin evils of extremism and reality t.v (the greatest evil known to modern man).

The format is the same several short stories written by different authors edited by George R.R Martin to...
Published 24 months ago by Stranger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Holding out for a hero, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Inside Straight (Paperback)
The latest in the re-released wild card series skips a few generation and puts us in the mid noughties, a new generation of aces with some old friends cameoing must fight the twin evils of extremism and reality t.v (the greatest evil known to modern man).

The format is the same several short stories written by different authors edited by George R.R Martin to create one story, the problem with that the story just doesn't quite fit well this is the start of a bigger story and as such gets swallowed by the need to set the scene and introduce the major players who sadly just are not as good as some from the original trilogy and also the whole making Islam the big evil of the story feels a little bit wrong, this was written post nine eleven bit still it just seems unnecessary.
That said this book still has it's moments and is well worth a read especially if you hate reality t.v or you are a fan of anything that has come before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever!, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed it, different as they always are, well worth a read. Another decent book in the wild card series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 May 2015
By 
J. Westwood Chandler "jonnyjonjon" (Norwich, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Inside Straight (Paperback)
Ongoing. Fort Freak strongest of current quintet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wild cards., 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards: Inside Straight (Paperback)
Why does George R R Martin collaborate with other writers? Loved Game of Thrones but been disappointed in the other books I have read, which I have bought with his name as the author only to find out others have chipped in. I don't think this works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not read this yet saving it on my kindle but I love his writing so I know I will enjoy it. Can't wait to start it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Cards: Inside Straight
Wild Cards: Inside Straight by George R.R. Martin (Paperback - 13 Jun. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews