Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super heroes in the real world
This is wonderful stuff. The premise is that an alien virus infects Earth in 1945, producing "Aces" -super talented people, and "Jokers" bizarrely mutated creatures. They thus survive with the rest of the world, occasionally interfering in real events. A benevolent member of the alien species, Dr. Tachyon, stays on Earth to help deal with the...
Published on 6 Sept. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Leave out the politics, please
I put a much longer review up on Goodreads and Shelfari, so go look there, but for the highlights:

This is three stories about what you'd describe as superheroes at the end, and before that you have to wade through the sordid political history of prejudice and paranoia which really did happen in the US following WWII. The authors get to stick their own...
Published 2 months ago by Niall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning beginning to a unique series, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
I had heard of the multi-volume collection that is Wild Cards but never really them.
For all that they are written by multiple authors these are consistent and well presented vision into an alternative Earth.
Super powers and super freaks combine with the 'naturals' to bring sometimes sad, sometimes uplifting, sometimes very adult but always engaging and enthralling stories.
Very impressed. Leaves you wanting more. Looking forward to reading the 20+ other volumes.
***Be warned, contains very mature themes.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those that enjoy fantasy set in the real world, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
It's great to have a novel which focuses on super humans without being cheesy or comicy. And to be honest the stories within are very interesting. However it is somewhat disjointed due to the numerous authors contributing.

The universe in which wild cards exists is interesting and innovative. Human rights and individual dilemmas make this into a very enjoyable read.

It would however benefit from one authors, Martin's ability to write about such a number of characters (a song of ice and fire) for instance could give the book more coherence. That said the benefit of numerous authors are: New characters introduced by another author makes them more individual due to differing writing style, various authors means that almost everyone's preferred writing style will be covered.

I do get the feeling the series is leading somewhere, and can't wait to start the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Leave out the politics, please, 27 April 2015
By 
Niall (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
I put a much longer review up on Goodreads and Shelfari, so go look there, but for the highlights:

This is three stories about what you'd describe as superheroes at the end, and before that you have to wade through the sordid political history of prejudice and paranoia which really did happen in the US following WWII. The authors get to stick their own characters in in a sort of twisted author-insert style, but the idea seems to be to limit real-world historical variation as much as possible (much as Marvel and DC do), so the overall effect is vaguely unbelievable in a series of books which appears to value real-world shock and horror above glitzy, heroic, comic book reality.

I was unimpressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
I remember read this when it first came out. I was impressed by it though some of it went over my head. No I am even more impressed by how credible the world building is. There are plenty of humorous elements like the fake articles by the likes of Tom Wolfe and Hunter S Thompson.

Most of this book is concerned with world building and setting the scene for further volumes. Compared to actual comics it is much more realistic and consistent.

Virtually all of the stories work though some especially towards the end of the book are a little prosaic.

I really enjoyed it and for once the reality was better than the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too political, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
I bought this with more action & adventure in mind, however, found it to be too heavy on war, Nixon and other politics. If you have read or seen 'watchmen' you'll have an idea. As the story delves closer to present day (it starts during world war 2) and tensions rise in the joker community I found it more emotional. But I had to power through the first half of the book which took too long to get rolling in my opinion. Well written but perhaps I am at fault for having different expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NB: This is the expanded edition, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
I first read this as a battered paperback more than twenty years ago. It's been in and out of print ever since, with the most recent edition being a quite nice trade paperback with three extra stories, which (as a cheapskate) I was loathe to pay top dollar for.
Very pleased to see this edition, at a decent price, which has the new content. Well worth picking up, even if you've the originals just for the new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what I expected..., 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
Kindle Edition ordered and arrived with their customary warp-speed, just not sure what I expected from this series. From the author who wrote Game of Thrones, I wasn't quite sure what to expect but felt it was a plod - I bought it so I had to read it. It may appeal to guys more than women - I have no problem with the delivery/charging process, but I won't be buying any follow ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this quite a bit but it certainly didn't change my life as a good book can so often do. I like the idea of an "open universe" where different authours can add to the overarching mythology but this - hmmm, this just didn't quite gel for me.

A fun concept and some cracking episodes but not sure I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but mixed bag, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realize until I started reading that this book is actually a collection of short stories (by different authors) following different threads of a shared story line. An interesting concept, and overall I enjoyed it, but some of the stories were much more interesting than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever Idea, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Cards (Kindle Edition)
This is a themed collection of chapters by several authors which works on the whole. Being the first means there are some disjointed parts where the differing writing styles reall show. On the whole. a truly satisfying book with a novel play on the alternate worlds theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Cards (Wild Cards 1)
Wild Cards (Wild Cards 1) by George R.R. Martin (Paperback - 8 Nov. 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews