Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
245
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2015
The reason I bought this book was because I had just learnt who his father is and wanted to see how they compared. On its own a good book but a little too long
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
A very good read. Joe hill has taken his dads (stephen King) ideas and his writing reminded me of his fathers work from 30 years ago.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I am hooked. I have another author to add to my list (very short) of great writers of horror fiction. Can't wait to finish this one and start on the rest :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Seeks to emulate 80's King. Neither as cohesive or compelling, but better than I could write. :-) That's all folks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I was hoping to recapture some of my youth, diving into a doorstop horror novel as everyone did when they were teenagers - King, Herbert, Koonzt...sadly this book ain't up to that level, which is disappointing since I have enjoyed other works by Joe Hill. For me, the primary issue is that the story just isn't a horror. Sure there are the usual elements, including a young female protagonist and missing children...but Hill has somehow managed to write as if the characters are all having a jolly adventure. He also commits the ultimate sin (in my view anyway) of exposition. People pop up at convenient moments to explain what is happening and to provide last-minute escape and so on. In summary, this story is more of a slightly twisted Harry Potter book, and probably best pitched for younger readers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
superb book .certainly joe has his own distinctive way of writing compared to his dad.a wonderful fantasy/horror journey with superb characters.enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Stephen King's son has his fathers ability of providing WEIRD, Where they get their imagination from I don't know.

I thouroghly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Most amazing book yet by Joe Hill, cried my way through the
End of it

Simply AMAZING, beautifully written, my favourite book this year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
A brilliantly told story! Since his debut novel, Heart Shaped Box, Joe Hill has gone from from strength to strength. And is he ever his father's son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
An interesting story, which was well worth the read. I felt the characters could have been stronger, but this was still a good book and I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.