Customer Reviews


525 Reviews
5 star:
 (341)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rivers of London could run and run
Satisfying in itself, but also feels like a chapter in a larger work.

The plot, as they say, randomises. Having gone down last time (Whispers Underground), this time Ben reaches up for London's skyline, while developing more of what we might call the story arc begun in Moon Over Soho. We're getting to the stage where we could do with a "previously...
Published 19 months ago by Fred Flowers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame...
Rivers of London were great, I could not put the book down till I finished it.
Moon over Soho was good.
Whispers Under Ground were okay, but gave a feeling of something not quite finished.
Broken Homes was a disappointment. It felt like as if you were waiting for your lover for a long time but then when you eventually met you got so drunk that you could not...
Published 11 months ago by Dmitry D


‹ Previous | 142 43 4453 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Aug. 2013
Even better than the previous three with a great twist! Highly recommend although you do need to read the previous books for it to make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great holiday read, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series. Great holiday read. Highly recommend. It's been described as Harry potter for grown ups but its much more than that and is developing into a gripping series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant series of magic and crime, well written and the perfect narrator. I love the Peter Grant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series but a must read if you're already an addict, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book felt rushed and lacking in the depth of the earlier instalments. Being a Londoner and having spent time in the empty Heygate estate I loved the setting. There are quite a few proof reading issues in the Kindle version. Massive cliff hanger at the end so will be counting down the days to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the River re-appear, great read, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finished over a weekend
Great book even covering south London and violence in rural Essex.
Diverse London life covered,
A Great Read
Awaiting PC Peter Grant's next adventure!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as his previous three books but good nevertheless. Had the impression he had been working too hard on the plot which was not as complex and engrossing as others have been. 5 stars for style. Now looking forward to book no. 5. So please hurry up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on PC Grant novels., 14 Aug. 2013
By 
John Coxshott (Wemyss bay, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is I think my 3rd PC Grant novel. I stumbled onto the first, but have sought out the rest. Aaronovitch creates a totally believable parallel world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too short, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
E Hughes (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this series of books, tons of potential but they have been getting shorter and shorter. I know the author has written for TV before and its seemingly starting to show with the last two books seeming short enough to fit into an hour special. This has led me to feel a little ripped off for my loyalty.

If you don't mind the length this series of books is addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bit slow to start compared with the previous books in this series but a real page turner by the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the first three of these books and enjoyed them immensely, I pre-ordered this one and waited with great anticipation for its arrival. What a disappointment it is. There is almost nothing of the humour and magic that made the first three so different and enjoyable. This one could almost have been written by someone else. I honestly cannot recommend it, although I would recommend the first three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 142 43 4453 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Homes (Rivers of London 4)
Broken Homes (Rivers of London 4) by Ben Aaronovitch (Hardcover - 25 July 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews