Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspend all belief and jump right into this surreal, horror fantasy
If you enjoy completely surreal, off the wall, contemporary horror then NOS4R2 should keep you hooked. The plot opens up into a nightmare landscape where nothing is as it seems. A land where a little girl slips through real time on her Raleigh bicycle and a demon dressed in human skin cruises around in a classic Rolls-Royce. Along the way you'll visit Christmasland, where...
Published 14 months ago by JK

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING
The blurb is true, up to a point. It does start with a bang, and does have a terrific velocity in the plot. It is, as you'd expect (I guess), very much in the Stephen King cosmos, of parallel universes and everyday American culture. The characters are well drawn, more or less, with the Gas Mask man being a typical Stephen King creation straight out of The Stand.
The...
Published 7 months ago by Alan J. Crowley


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nos4r2, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this book would highly recommend if you are a lover of Stephen Kings earlier books then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars joe Hill, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
This is another great novel by the author of Heart Shaped Box. Follows on the great legacy started by his father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars his fathers son, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
Joe hill nee king delivers a book that delivers shocks and surprises aplenty. The characters are well formed and you root for Vic McQueen from the start to the explosive finish. This was one of those books that you pick up and can't put down. It's an engaging read and I look forward to his next novel. Notice I didn't mention famous dad but I would bet he is proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read of the summer!!, 15 May 2013
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story and grabs you from the first page. Typical Joe Hill story very chilling and thought provoking.
Now one of my favourite authors!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOS4R2, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
A lot of the time I though I was reading a Stephen King box an could really get into it other times I got lost straggled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOS4ME, 16 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with this book. The premise was interesting but ultimately it just didn't do what is said on the label - was not scary, and did not read like horror fiction.

Joe Hill after 3 novels is sliding out of the horror genre into sci-fi. WAY TOO LONG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked cool, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
Awesome. Like all his other work, absolutely fantastic. I'm going to read it again as I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Hill made it again, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Hardcover)
As his father he knows how to work with words. In many ways they remind of each other. Though Hill seems a bit more classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but....., 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
I like Joe Hill. There is no escaping the KIng comparisons. The apple has not fallen far from the tree and there is a definite hint to the King mythology here as well as some blatant nods in that direction. The book is really good for 90% then the denouement lets it down a little. There is a real lack of "confrontation" in the conclusion and it all seems to end too soon and too easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King gives the world a true successor, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NOS4R2 (Kindle Edition)
Briefly, I have now read all of Joe Hill's published books. NOS4R2 is a real unique and brilliant piece of fiction bristling with brain churning twists and avenues of sheer reading delight. Like his father, he brings his characters a tangible and gripping realism. Also, like his dad, he doesn't overuse heavy, deliberately complex language...........but nevertheless, he manages beautifully to describe people, places and events with an incredible clarity which leaves you wanting more and more.
Yes, Joe....keep it all coming to your constant reader, just like dad. We all thought Christine was the only car to fearfully look over your shoulder for....now we have the Wraith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NOS4R2
NOS4R2 by Joe Hill (Paperback - 30 April 2013)
Used & New from: 3.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews