Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unlikely hero and his troop of cats save the galaxy from ecological disasters
Rather than a full novel this is a collection of short stories published around the late seventies, early eighties that have been cobbled together. They are concerned with the exploits of unexpected hero Haviland Tuf after he seems by default to adopt the Ark, a gigantic space cruiser capable of altering the ecosystems of a planet. This collection of novellas relates...
Published 2 months ago by Alaran

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but flawed.
This book starts with a borrowed scenario that I struggled to place, then I remembered a story about a mothballed spaceship, by Harry Harrison, I think. So, our titular hero, after surviving the ship's attempts to kill him (he's the sole survivor of a boarding party), gets to 'own' a relic from another era, with a technology almost lost in legend. What does he do with it...
Published 2 months ago by Robin Monks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but flawed., 18 April 2014
By 
Robin Monks "robinm0" (Glossop, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
This book starts with a borrowed scenario that I struggled to place, then I remembered a story about a mothballed spaceship, by Harry Harrison, I think. So, our titular hero, after surviving the ship's attempts to kill him (he's the sole survivor of a boarding party), gets to 'own' a relic from another era, with a technology almost lost in legend. What does he do with it? He uses the machine's abilities to solve a series of planetary sized problems in a largely benevolent fashion. It's unconvincing overall, a read to pass the time, interesting as a piece of the writer's development and certainly not what those coming to it from A Game of Thrones might expect. But that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unlikely hero and his troop of cats save the galaxy from ecological disasters, 27 April 2014
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Paperback)
Rather than a full novel this is a collection of short stories published around the late seventies, early eighties that have been cobbled together. They are concerned with the exploits of unexpected hero Haviland Tuf after he seems by default to adopt the Ark, a gigantic space cruiser capable of altering the ecosystems of a planet. This collection of novellas relates Tuf’s journeys across the universe solving various planets’ environmental disasters, accompanied only by his collection of cats.

The writing has a whimsical tone in an almost Wodehouse style and some minor comparisons can possibly be drawn with ‘Red Dwarf’. Although not laugh out loud comedic, there is a subtle sense of amusement throughout that is likely to keep the reader entertained. Much of the content appears to be subtly and cleverly mocking politics, religion and big business.

Fans of ‘A Song of Fire and Ice’ can expect the same quality but not the wealth of characters. There are few significant characters and only a couple of recurring ones. The emphasis is more about Tuf and how he uses wit and intelligence to solve the problems his clients face.

Haviland Tuf himself is a strange but somewhat endearing character. He is far removed from what the usual expectations of what a science fiction hero should be and this, coupled with the fact that he reveals little about himself, makes him a very intriguing individual. He certainly has some sort of appeal and charm that always puts the reader on his side. There is also something of Jeeves about the way he politely schemes and manipulates people.

With the huge success of ‘Game of Thrones’ rumours of a possible television programme based around Tuf’s exploits seem to be doing the rounds. As yet they are unsubstantiated. How much they would be based around this book if it ever happened are unknown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Oddball book, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
Compared to Ice and Fire, this is not very good. The prose is quite childish, which is a shame as the plots have some merit. Maybe it would be better as a teenager's first foray into SF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biz, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
A handful of very interesting novellas set around the character of Haviland Tuf an erstwhile space trader and cat lover turned ecological engineer, who might just be god himself... I particularly enjoyed Martin's descriptive abilities. This is no Game of Thrones, the setting being completely distinct but above all the tone, lightly humorous throughout, is quite different, however, apart from its charm, it does offer some interesting insights into Martin's mind if, like me, you are a thronie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average read, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
Tuf was an interesting charter. Nice read if your bored and have nothing else to keep you until your next favourite book comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
not what I expected from George R R Martin but a pleasant surprise. Very clever, interesting and exciting read. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cats in space, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Paperback)
Tuf Voyaging follows a man named Haviland Tuf as he journeys through space in a space ship. Also, he has cats, lots of cats. In space. Space cats!

I purchased this book as an introduction to George R R Martin's work. I plan to read the existing Game of Thrones books soon, maybe over the summer, but I wanted to make sure I liked the writing style before I commit to it. It would be a hell of a slog if I didn't. This is one of his early works, a collection of short stories in their own right but they are linked in a way that makes them feel like they could be chapters instead of discrete stories.

The book takes us through some of Tuf's adventures. First as an honest space trader and later as a self taught ecological engineer after he comes into possession of an ancient seedship. Using the seedship, Tuf attempts to solve the problems of various worlds by cloning creatures and lifeforms from the ships enormous genetic catalogue. Most of the problems have roots in the failings of humanity and Tuf turns to increasingly more "godlike" solutions to these problems. "Absolute power corrupts absolutely"

Tuf is a very literal man, which leads to some witty dialogue between him and the few other characters who find this unsettling, even more so after Tuf engineers himself a breed of psionic cat.

I enjoyed this book. The writing style was good, the main environments were richly described. The main characters were well fleshed out so you got a feel for their personalities, the minor characters, in some cases, felt they were just there to further the plot. It was a reasonably fast paced, sci fi, space opera of a book and a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tuf Voyaging - excellent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
Great read lots of interesting ploys and adventures across the cosmos
Quicker to read than GOT series too! Enjoy! Quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early work by George R.R. Martin, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
This is clearly an early bit of work and is very similar to Blakes 7 - intergalactic dodgy dealer Tuff gains access to a super powerful spaceship and embarks on a series of adventures.

It's entertaining if a little bit clunky in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tuf Voyaging (Kindle Edition)
Engaging and cleverly written.
A joy from the first page to the last. Lives entwined without obvious connections and a suprise around most corners.
I would gladly read more if available.

What a great read this was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tuf Voyaging
Tuf Voyaging by George R.R. Martin (Paperback - 13 Feb 2014)
8.09
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews