Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!
Sometimes you discover a book which is like a bubble that isolates you from the rest of the world. "Some kind of fairy tale" was such a book for me. I did not know the author but when I read the 'résumé' on Amazon, I just had to order it.
It was unputdownable, from the very first page. I even found myself snatching a few minutes from work to finish a...
Published 20 months ago by S. Peggy BLIN

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining book which never quite balanced all of its elements
**Minor Spoilers Implied**

Some Kind of Fairy Tale borrows liberally from British folk tales relating to the disappearance of young women, apparently taken by the fairies. In this instance the abductee, Tara, returns twenty years later, although she claims (and her appearance would suggest) that for her only six months have passed. Thereafter, the novel flits...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Joyce is on form, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read other books by Graham Joyce in the last, and find his work to be of a consistently high standard. Well-drawn, believable and interesting characters paired with compelling storylines and a sprinkle of magic and mystery.
This offering does not disappoint.

The quality of the writing was as good as I would have expected from Joyce, and I especially liked the use of the character of the psychiatrist/psychologist (I've never really understood the difference!) as his reports gave a good contrast to the rest of the story, and his involvement in the plot as a whole was unexpected.

If you like your 'grown up' literature with a pinch of fairy dust, you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some kind of fairytale, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An adult view Leicestershire, it wof the fall out from any missing persons case , which is is examined brilliantly. Particularly when the abduction takes on a twist. I really enjoyed the setting for the story. Having grown up in and around Leicestershire; it rang true for the time, people and voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Modern Fairytale, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that the idea was interesting as it reads as a modern fairytale. However, I found that the plot was lacking which was rather disappointing. I would recommend it for a leisurely read, but it wasn't a gripping piece of literature for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top favourites, 30 May 2014
This is a wonderful book. The author is a great favourite of mine. His characters and plots are always brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beats Ageing Creams!, 13 May 2014
By 
Mr. John Frank Herbert (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Kind of Fairy Tale (Paperback)
It is a great testament to Graham Joyce's art of storytelling that you can actually believe the
fairy tale element of this intriguing story.

When Tara disappears in the woods and re-appears twenty years later, apparently aged
hardly at all, it is a real test of family togetherness, and Joyce steers us neatly
through all the trials and tribulations of the belief or utter rejection of the fairy tale.

An interesting read that will make you wonder afterwards: "What if?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and interesting, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Kind of Fairy Tale (Paperback)
A good read, with an interesting spin on the classic fairy tale. The description of the fairy world was rather intriguing and original, I would have liked for the main character to have spent a bit more time there. An enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this book as a change from my usual Historical Fiction, but quickly found it virtually impossible to put down and read a few pages at any opportunity! A real fairy tale with a fast-paced, engaging story, perfect for anyone with a good imagination and an interest in basic psychology. I will be looking for other titles from this author in the hope they can live up to this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fairy who?, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Kind of Fairy Tale (Paperback)
Ok read, expected more but didn't quite deliver and was a bit too much fairy action for me with a lack lustre ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Strange Kind of Tale..., 9 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Kind of Fairy Tale (Paperback)
This isn't a fantasy genre book, and Tara is not a heroine. Some Kind of Fairy Tale explores the reaction of Tara's family and friends to what they feared was her abduction or worse, and examines how they cope with her return, both on a practical level and as a result of the account she makes of her absence. Tara does describe the fairies and fairyland, but the majority of the book is very much rooted in a middle-class English country setting, with very modern, and pretty realistically described, characters.

I particularly enjoyed Joyce's fluid writing style. Ideas, images and characters all drop vividly into your mind and stay with you. I appreciated his description of his fairy world, albeit it verged on too debauched to feel like a functioning society, and it's definitely not a book for people who like their fairies to be noble. In the end, I felt we needed a better understanding of the fairy Hiero; he's probably the only character in the book that we don't get a real handle on and this, I suspect, is why the fairy element ends up feeling a little sidelined in favour of psychiatrists and characterful, washed-up musicians.

The character of Tara is difficult to relate to, but perhaps this is what was intended: she is odd, immature, and finds it hard to empathise with those around her. That, added to a large cast of characters who get their own chapters mean that this book has no easy choice of hero or heroine to root for. As the central question is probably (you'll have to read it and form your own opinion) unresolved, this book feels a little unfocussed. How much that bothers you is probably a matter of personal taste, as the spectrum of opinion in the 60-odd reviews to date demonstrates!

A good quality, easy read, though, which will leave you puzzling long after you've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beware.......this will induce anti social behaviour, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a novel that hooked me from word go. A modern take on an old legend but it grabs you and the characters have rounded characters and personality flaws that are a refreshing change from some of the two dimensional personalities I have come across in other similar books.
Would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Kind of Fairy Tale
Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce (Paperback - 14 Mar 2013)
7.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews