Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its finest
Review

This is a book that has taken me longer than any other to read this year so far, not because its a bad book, very much the opposite. This book contains some of the most involved, imaginative and impressive world building i have seen, right up there with the depth and passion of lords of the rings.

This is book two in the series following on...
Published 5 months ago by Parm

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge Disappointment
The red knight was one of the best fantasy novels l read last year. I thought Miles Cameron a fresh voice in a crowded field. The plotting was great, the interplay between the mercenary company entertaining, the "artistry" of the magic was fascinating, the action gripping and a great story. I was so looking forward to book 2. It is awful. A clichéd muddled...
Published 4 months ago by will h


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its finest, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Paperback)
Review

This is a book that has taken me longer than any other to read this year so far, not because its a bad book, very much the opposite. This book contains some of the most involved, imaginative and impressive world building i have seen, right up there with the depth and passion of lords of the rings.

This is book two in the series following on directly from the fabulous debut that was the Red Knight, once again following the mercenary band headed by the Red Knight, the Captain. A man who is both a fighting Knight at the peak of his prowess, but also a magister (a sorcerer) very powerful and growing in skill all the time. Unlike many books we don’t just live the story from the point of view of the hero (the Red Knight) we get a Multi POV, we see the opinion and perspective of all, and as such get to see what the individual see’s, themselves a hero, or in the right. This multi POV is very encompassing, so much so that there are times it becomes hard to keep all the threads and all the names straight, hence the length of time needed to read the book.

The world of the Red Knight is HUGE, made more so by the depth of detail, history and politics. This world encompasses much of the real world just with a twist. Outwallers that are native Americans for example, countries that resemble Canada, Great Britain, France, an empire that bears a striking resemblance to a decaying Byzantine empire, the fantastic Nordikans, who more than resemble the Varangian guard. All of these people and places imbued with the authors rich depth of historical knowledge. Miles Cameron being the highly renowned Historical Author Christian Cameron, a writer who imbues all of his work with not just literary research, but with physical research, hours spent in armour and training with weapons. Walking the wilds of Canada wearing the garb of a true knight, all of this detail is powered into his books to stunning effect.

Does Fell sword bring a better book with more satisfaction than Red Knight? yes and no, i found the ending more satisfying than Red Knight, but i think that may be because Red Knight had so much hard work to do with regard to world building, it was only the latter quarter of book one that truly showed the excellence of his writing talent. Fell Sword was a much more immersive encompassing tale, one that carries the reader into the depth of the wilds to learn more of the creatures who dwell there, more of Thorn and what drives him, or more importantly who. Most important of all it takes the reader into the depths of the politics of the world, a truly dark murky, back stabbing politics, politics fueled by ambition and magic. Most interesting is that Fell Sword reveals the true darkness from the wild, we now know what is coming, we just don’t really know why. Its exactly what a middle book should be, if not more, many middle books are a pause, this is anything but. Next year 2015 will see the third book in the series The Tournament of Fools, i highly recommend getting a Pre-Order in, i feel its going to sell fast.

Its a book i highly recommend you read in large bites, not small. But most of all its a book i Highly recommend to all readers, not just fantasy of Historical fiction.

(Parm)

Other books by this author

Traitor Son Cycle
1. The Red Knight (2012)
2. The Fell Sword (2014)
3. Tournament of Fools (2015)

Tyrant
1. Tyrant (2008)
2. Storm of Arrows (2009)
3. Funeral Games (2010)
4. King of the Bosporus (2011)
5. Destroyer of Cities (2013)
6. Force of Kings (2014)

1. Killer of Men (2010)
2. Marathon: Freedom or Death (2011)
3. Poseidon’s Spear (2012)
4. The Great King (2014)

Tom Swan and the Head of St George
1. Castillon (2012)
2. Venice (2012)
3. Constantinople (2012)
4. Rome (2013)
5. Rhodes (2013)
6. Chios (2013)

Novels
Washington and Caesar (2001)
God of War (2012)
The Ill-Made Knight (2013)
The Long Sword (2014)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The imperial contract, 28 July 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Paperback)
Second volume in a series of fantasy novels which began with The Red Knight.

You would really not have much chance of getting into this if you've not read that.

Those who have, read on.

This volume runs for six hundred and three pages. It's divided into four parts plus a prologue. And further into eighteen chapters. The viewpoint character can change between scenes in these, but as with the first book, it always makes it clear when that happens.

This contains a few maps of the various settings right at the start.

When the Emperor is kidnapped by rebels, his daughter has problems. Only a handful remain loyal. Enemies abound. And nobody can pay the soldiers.

But the Red Knight has been hired. And he has plans...

This gets off to a superb start with the approximately forty pages long prologue that describes the kidnapping from various perspectives. The two characters introduced here, a teenage prodigy with social anxiety issues and a tough guardsmen, are both highly appealing characters.

But it isn't quite so focused beyond that, as there are an awful lot of things going on, all over the various realms. And the Red Knight and his companions only pop up every so often.

The narrative does become immeasurably more involving whenever they are on the page.

The world building is amazing. The plotting is ever so clever and well done, and as with the first book it really gets the feel of being a Knight and the type of combat they engage in across to the reader ever so well.

It's just not as compelling as the first book all the time.

So it's not quite five star material, although at it's best it does come very close.

Even so, it's a very good bit of writing with lots to admire about it, and I look forward to whatever follows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading this genre for years, in recent times I have begun to despair as every book I pick up seems to follow at tried and tested path. This book and it's predecessor are wonderful, they are complex in terms of plot, they are really well written and kept me enthralled for 2 days each. It's not often I simply sit in the lounge on a weekend during the day to read but these books had me do just that. I can not wait for the story to continue. Great read, best series for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start..., 17 Jan 2014
By 
Tony Higgins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
Good so far but be warned... read 'The Red Knight' first
There's no context setting here, it's straight on from the story line in the Red Knight, which was such a superb debut, with a truly epic length also ( about three standard books in one). This sequel has been long awaited, and has taken some time to develop, requiring reader patience, but also boding well that the author has committed a lot to doing justice to the storyline. So far so very good, except for the concern that, if you hadn't read the first book, how on earth would you figure out what was going on!
Will post a final review when I am finished, but wanted to counter the initial negative review. If you have read the first book, buy now with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to the Red Knight, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
The Red Knight was one of the best novels I have read in a long time, and the Fell Sword follows on in style. Great characters, bloody warfare and a great plot. The main characters are wonderfully flawed and the fighting is about as realistic as it comes. The author practices medieval combat for real (as do I) so he is able to bring it to life in all its brutality. You can almost smell the dust and the fear. Makes you want to go out and buy a suit of armour (but the book is much, much cheaper).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Joe (Winchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
A great sequel to the red knight. You get to know the character's better and many of them develop nicely in response to each of their individual circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent world-building, first-class storytelling, 19 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Paperback)
I love entering Miles Cameron's fantasy world – a medieval-ish place packed with with magic and monsters; and all totally believable. Cameron blends a Byzantine-style court with touches of chivalric France and England, and a dash of Ancient Greece, and even has a version of Canada and Native Americans as players in this grand, almost-operatic global drama. His magic-wielders are quite credible with their Aristotelian memory-palaces and laser-like power workings, which draw the eyes of other sorcerers and deplete their strength. His knights are utterly authentic to the buckle, vambrace, aventail and strap (if you can say that about a fantasy world) and his battles bloody, realistic and thrilling. The Fell Sword follows on from the equally brilliant Red Knight and I long for the next instalment. A beautiful piece of art. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fell sword, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
Superb. Can`t wait to read the next instalment. Gripping, exciting and imaginative. History, fantasy and magic all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good second book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
This book is good as the first. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because it was not as nail-biting as the first one, but this is because the author has spent a lot of time building up the back story of the characters. some more than others. Gavin and the king are hardly touched on but we learn more about the Red knights parents and the other powers in play. The book has left me eagerly awaiting the 3rd instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost at the end and want more......, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
I came across this book by chance and read some of the reviews stating best to read the Red Knight first I did - brilliant! Bought this as soon as I finished the Red Knight around 3 a.m. one morning [back up at 6:45 a.m. :(] - couldn't wait to find out what came next and I'm not disappointed. Reading it on Kindle which as everyone know has it's good and bad points - it remembers my page and stops me from going to the effort of reading the last pages [when I'm so tempted] but also put me off trying to go back and find out who a character is when my memory fails - I do hope this isn't the last book - there has to be more!

Both are epic builders on the scale of Lord of the Rings or hopefully Malazan Books of the Fallen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fell Sword
The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron (Paperback - 30 Jan 2014)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews