Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its finest
Review

This is a book that has taken me longer than any other to read this year so far, not because its a bad book, very much the opposite. This book contains some of the most involved, imaginative and impressive world building i have seen, right up there with the depth and passion of lords of the rings.

This is book two in the series following on...
Published 13 months ago by Parm

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A repeat? The characters may come back from the dead, but this plot does not.
I very much enjoyed the first book in this series and enjoy the books written under the name Christian, but this book is disappointing. It seems simply to be more of the same. The plot device of bringing people back from the dead has become tedious in "Game of Thrones", it is more tedious here.
Published 6 months ago by Terence C. Wall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its finest, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Paperback)
Review

This is a book that has taken me longer than any other to read this year so far, not because its a bad book, very much the opposite. This book contains some of the most involved, imaginative and impressive world building i have seen, right up there with the depth and passion of lords of the rings.

This is book two in the series following on directly from the fabulous debut that was the Red Knight, once again following the mercenary band headed by the Red Knight, the Captain. A man who is both a fighting Knight at the peak of his prowess, but also a magister (a sorcerer) very powerful and growing in skill all the time. Unlike many books we don’t just live the story from the point of view of the hero (the Red Knight) we get a Multi POV, we see the opinion and perspective of all, and as such get to see what the individual see’s, themselves a hero, or in the right. This multi POV is very encompassing, so much so that there are times it becomes hard to keep all the threads and all the names straight, hence the length of time needed to read the book.

The world of the Red Knight is HUGE, made more so by the depth of detail, history and politics. This world encompasses much of the real world just with a twist. Outwallers that are native Americans for example, countries that resemble Canada, Great Britain, France, an empire that bears a striking resemblance to a decaying Byzantine empire, the fantastic Nordikans, who more than resemble the Varangian guard. All of these people and places imbued with the authors rich depth of historical knowledge. Miles Cameron being the highly renowned Historical Author Christian Cameron, a writer who imbues all of his work with not just literary research, but with physical research, hours spent in armour and training with weapons. Walking the wilds of Canada wearing the garb of a true knight, all of this detail is powered into his books to stunning effect.

Does Fell sword bring a better book with more satisfaction than Red Knight? yes and no, i found the ending more satisfying than Red Knight, but i think that may be because Red Knight had so much hard work to do with regard to world building, it was only the latter quarter of book one that truly showed the excellence of his writing talent. Fell Sword was a much more immersive encompassing tale, one that carries the reader into the depth of the wilds to learn more of the creatures who dwell there, more of Thorn and what drives him, or more importantly who. Most important of all it takes the reader into the depths of the politics of the world, a truly dark murky, back stabbing politics, politics fueled by ambition and magic. Most interesting is that Fell Sword reveals the true darkness from the wild, we now know what is coming, we just don’t really know why. Its exactly what a middle book should be, if not more, many middle books are a pause, this is anything but. Next year 2015 will see the third book in the series The Tournament of Fools, i highly recommend getting a Pre-Order in, i feel its going to sell fast.

Its a book i highly recommend you read in large bites, not small. But most of all its a book i Highly recommend to all readers, not just fantasy of Historical fiction.

(Parm)

Other books by this author

Traitor Son Cycle
1. The Red Knight (2012)
2. The Fell Sword (2014)
3. Tournament of Fools (2015)

Tyrant
1. Tyrant (2008)
2. Storm of Arrows (2009)
3. Funeral Games (2010)
4. King of the Bosporus (2011)
5. Destroyer of Cities (2013)
6. Force of Kings (2014)

1. Killer of Men (2010)
2. Marathon: Freedom or Death (2011)
3. Poseidon’s Spear (2012)
4. The Great King (2014)

Tom Swan and the Head of St George
1. Castillon (2012)
2. Venice (2012)
3. Constantinople (2012)
4. Rome (2013)
5. Rhodes (2013)
6. Chios (2013)

Novels
Washington and Caesar (2001)
God of War (2012)
The Ill-Made Knight (2013)
The Long Sword (2014)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent world-building, first-class storytelling, 19 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Paperback)
I love entering Miles Cameron's fantasy world – a medieval-ish place packed with with magic and monsters; and all totally believable. Cameron blends a Byzantine-style court with touches of chivalric France and England, and a dash of Ancient Greece, and even has a version of Canada and Native Americans as players in this grand, almost-operatic global drama. His magic-wielders are quite credible with their Aristotelian memory-palaces and laser-like power workings, which draw the eyes of other sorcerers and deplete their strength. His knights are utterly authentic to the buckle, vambrace, aventail and strap (if you can say that about a fantasy world) and his battles bloody, realistic and thrilling. The Fell Sword follows on from the equally brilliant Red Knight and I long for the next instalment. A beautiful piece of art. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Knights on steroids !, 8 April 2015
By 
Poltavia (Bridgend, Mid Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book after reading the first one in the series ' the red knight' . I strongly recommend reading the ' red knight ' first before attempting this book ( the 2nd in the series). Overall I enjoyed this book and the characters throughout the book are almost larger than life. However, I thought about half way through the book not alot happened, with the ' red knight' just posturing around not doing that much....thought it needed more action here. Don't , let that put you off though..I will definitely buy the 3rd book if Mr Cameron writes one !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start..., 17 Jan. 2014
By 
Tony Higgins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
Good so far but be warned... read 'The Red Knight' first
There's no context setting here, it's straight on from the story line in the Red Knight, which was such a superb debut, with a truly epic length also ( about three standard books in one). This sequel has been long awaited, and has taken some time to develop, requiring reader patience, but also boding well that the author has committed a lot to doing justice to the storyline. So far so very good, except for the concern that, if you hadn't read the first book, how on earth would you figure out what was going on!
Will post a final review when I am finished, but wanted to counter the initial negative review. If you have read the first book, buy now with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An author has fun (again), 17 Feb. 2014
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Paperback)
Just like in the Red Knight, the first volume, reading this one gives the impression that the author essentially has fun writing a piece that takes place in a fantasy world that borrows from European 14th century. It also makes "the Albin" into some kind of cross between Britain and North America, with the North West part of the continent full of monsters (Trolls and Giants, in particular, but no dragons in this episode, except "in disguise") but also elf-like creatures and various types of Indians (with some suggestive tribe names and place names such as the Abenakis or Ticondanga for Fort Ticonderoga).

The eastern part of the continent is called "Morea" and is the seat of a fictional and much reduced Empire modelled on the Fourteenth Century Byzantine Empire, with the capital city called Livianopolis (instead of Contantinopolis) and the second largest city called "Lonica" (instead of Thessalonika). Also very much present are the "Etruscan" merchants, with their respective city-states and colonies inspired from Venice, Genoa and Pisa. The southern part are the lands of Jarsay (would this be inspired from Jersey by any chance?) and Occitan (Languedoc?) while south of the North Cross Ocean lie the lands of Galle, Iberia and, to the south west, Ifrikiya.

At least some of the main characters seem to be loosely inspired from historical figures, although several of the historical figures are often blended together to make up one of the book's characters. For instance, the Imperial Princess Irene seems to be a cross between the Byzantine empress of the same name and the Princess Anna Komnene, although she appears both younger and much less ruthless that the two historical characters. The King of Galle (France) somewhat reminded me of a petulant and younger version of the French King Louis XI. The Red Knight himself reminded me of a rather youthful and sympathetic cross between John Hawkwood, the English mercenary to made a career for himself in Italy and Roger de Flor (whose real name was Rutger von Blum), a rather infamous ex-Templar sergeant and leader of the Catalan Company of mercenaries. He and his men did serve the Byzantine Emperor Andronikos II for a few years at the beginning of the 14th century before being murdered by his employer.
Then there is the story itself, which I will not discuss and let you discover. As in the previous volume, you can expect plenty of physical and magical fights, including a few battles. There are however a number of differences with this book.

First, there are many more stories being told in bits and pieces and in parallel, sometimes more than half a dozen, with events taking place in Morea, Galle, at sea, in the Albin Kingdom (whether at Court, in the South or in the North) and in "the Wild". Depending on preferences, some will like this and find that the device is useful in showing the events taking place simultaneously and in creating some additional suspense, a bit like R.R. Martin has tended to go in his Game of Thrones, while others might find that it complicates the story and spoils the flow.

While I tend to incline towards the former, and very much liked the book, I must also admit that the plot itself was not exactly a surprise, although the story remained rather exciting and I leafed through the whole 600 pages in a couple of days. Note, however, that despite the device of having multiple stories unfolding within each chapter, the real action takes place in Morea with the Red Knight and his Company. Despite some desultory warfare in the North, and the increasing trouble raised by the Galle knights and their insufferable leader at the Albin Court, I could not help feeling that these were all sideshows and "holding actions".

Second, there are the military elements: the respective armies, their equipment and the battles. The Morean forces, irrespective of which side they are fighting on, are a collection of units mixing up regiments and forces that really existed between the 11th (for instance the Scholae) and the 12th and 13th century (for instance the Vardariots and the Latinikon), even if some names have sometimes been modified (the Varangians been perhaps the most obvious example). The Company is a rather typical English force of the mid and second half of the 14th century, with a mix of men-at-arms and squires, on the one hand, and long bowmen on the other hand.

The outcomes of the confrontations between the two types of forces tend to be somewhat predictable and one-sided, however much the author conveys the impression of hard fighting and hotly contested battles, as the long bowmen are shown shooting their opponents to pieces time and again. One exception to this is the merciless contest opposing the simili-Varangians to the mercenary knights serving with the rebels. This is inspired from the battle of Dyrrakhion in 1081 when the Varangians (largely made up of Anglo-Saxon and Anglo-Dane exiles at the time) faced Normano-Lombard heavy cavalry and were largely wiped out after inflicting heavy casualties on their opponents.

Anyway, I started this review by suggesting that the author may have had fun in writing this book, which does not preclude some hard work also. I do not know whether this is true or not, although I hope it is. What I do know for sure, however, is that I had a lot of fun reading it and very much enjoyed it...

Four stars and highly recommended. One thing to note however: it is also recommended to read the first volume before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to the Red Knight, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
The Red Knight was one of the best novels I have read in a long time, and the Fell Sword follows on in style. Great characters, bloody warfare and a great plot. The main characters are wonderfully flawed and the fighting is about as realistic as it comes. The author practices medieval combat for real (as do I) so he is able to bring it to life in all its brutality. You can almost smell the dust and the fear. Makes you want to go out and buy a suit of armour (but the book is much, much cheaper).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Joe (Winchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
A great sequel to the red knight. You get to know the character's better and many of them develop nicely in response to each of their individual circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fell sword, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
Superb. Can`t wait to read the next instalment. Gripping, exciting and imaginative. History, fantasy and magic all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good second book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
This book is good as the first. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because it was not as nail-biting as the first one, but this is because the author has spent a lot of time building up the back story of the characters. some more than others. Gavin and the king are hardly touched on but we learn more about the Red knights parents and the other powers in play. The book has left me eagerly awaiting the 3rd instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost at the end and want more......, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fell Sword (Kindle Edition)
I came across this book by chance and read some of the reviews stating best to read the Red Knight first I did - brilliant! Bought this as soon as I finished the Red Knight around 3 a.m. one morning [back up at 6:45 a.m. :(] - couldn't wait to find out what came next and I'm not disappointed. Reading it on Kindle which as everyone know has it's good and bad points - it remembers my page and stops me from going to the effort of reading the last pages [when I'm so tempted] but also put me off trying to go back and find out who a character is when my memory fails - I do hope this isn't the last book - there has to be more!

Both are epic builders on the scale of Lord of the Rings or hopefully Malazan Books of the Fallen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fell Sword
The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron (Paperback - 30 Jan. 2014)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews