Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut Historical Fantasy
I suspect there are going to be the almost inevitable comparisons between Miles Cameron and the likes of George R. R. Martin and Joe Abercrombie. First off, The Red Knight is one massive doorstop of a book, honestly it's HUGE. Also, much like the novels that make up A Song of Ice and Fire, each new chapter tends to shift point of view between the different characters...
Published 22 months ago by Pablo Cheesecake (The Eloquent...

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read, shocking proof read
Really enjoying this book but it does annoy me when books are published with numerous spelling and typo errors. Maybe the physical books are better but on the kindle they are numerous . Would have been 4 stars otherwise.
Published 8 months ago by Ben Simkins


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut Historical Fantasy, 25 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: The Red Knight (Paperback)
I suspect there are going to be the almost inevitable comparisons between Miles Cameron and the likes of George R. R. Martin and Joe Abercrombie. First off, The Red Knight is one massive doorstop of a book, honestly it's HUGE. Also, much like the novels that make up A Song of Ice and Fire, each new chapter tends to shift point of view between the different characters. Like Abercrombie, Cameron likes to go uncensored when it comes to the violent moments, nothing gets sugar coated here. Be prepared to witness the horror of war and battle in all of its brutal, gory glory.

It helps with a book of this size that there is huge cast of memorable characters to discover. They add a sense of real depth to the plot. As is often the case, I found myself enjoying the characters that were darker in tone. It's the psychopaths and sociopaths who I always find notable. In The Red Knight there are a number of standouts like Bad Tom who lives for little but violence and the unrestrained joy he finds in the midst of a melee. Or Jean d'Vrailly, the self-styled "greatest knight in the world". Even the Red Knight himself displays his dark side on more than one occasion. These three characters are undoubtedly flawed in one way or another but it makes them just so damn interesting to read. I'd go so far as to say that they made the book for me, especially Bad Tom.

Cameron also appears to take a perverse delight in naming almost all the characters that appear, including the minor ones. It's highly likely I'll never know how the likes of No Head, Wilful Murder and Long Paw came to be named. It's never really explained just the occasional oblique reference. I kinda like that though. It hints at many untold stories which exist but the reader just hasn't uncovered them yet, it's a nice touch.

Though the pace of the novel slows from time to time this makes perfect sense within the confines of the story. A large chunk of the narrative covers the build-up to the final confrontation between the Red Knight's mercenary forces and the supernatural powers of the Wild. The author follows the characters trying to survive a siege and as things go from bad to worse you can feel the ramping up of tension. With each subsequent chapter the pace starts to pick up. Events build to a crescendo and then an epic confrontation occurs.

From a brutal bear baiting scene during the novel's early chapters to the full blown, frenetic chaos of main battle near the book's end things get pretty bloody. Cameron definitely has the descriptive skills when it comes to placing the reader right at the heart of the action. This author's writing perfectly captures the anarchy and confusion that exists in the heat of the moment. I had to keep reminding myself that this is a debut novel. I have high hopes for whatever Cameron comes up with next.

The Red Knight is published by Orbit and is available from 25th October. Highly recommended but I'd suggest that you go for the electronic version if you can. The physical book weighs a ton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read, shocking proof read, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Red Knight (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoying this book but it does annoy me when books are published with numerous spelling and typo errors. Maybe the physical books are better but on the kindle they are numerous . Would have been 4 stars otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, awful proof-reading!, 23 Feb 2014
By 
R. Parker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Knight (Kindle Edition)
I'm only a third of the way through this and whilst the story itself is keeping me entertained, the awful job done by the proof reader is really jarring in places.

Typos all over the place and then sentences like this below:

"He had left his most trusted troops had been left to guard it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fantasy novel, but not perfect, 27 May 2013
By 
Marcus Pailing (Bartlesnipe's Revenge) (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Red Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Red Knight is an excellent fantasy novel in many ways. It is the story of a troop of mercenaries who take employment from the abbess of a convent, which is under attack from the denizens of the wilds. Their leader is the Red Knight of the title, who remains something of an enigma for much of the story, as we do not even learn his name until over half-way through the book. Yet what appears to be a local incident soon takes on a much wider significance, and the convent becomes the stage for a tumultuous siege that could see the conquest of all of civilisation by the wild.

The story is written with great confidence. The author presents realistic characters, well-drawn. The plot holds together well, with no inconsistencies that I could see. It is written with verve, in a style that echoes, extremely well, the stories from the medieval period that it seeks to emulate. Most impressive is the author's handling of warfare. Miles Cameron is a medieval re-enactor, and his knowledge of 15th century arms and armour - and how they were used - is exceptional. This knowledge, and his ability to display it in the pages of the book, adds such realism to the story that one is fully able to suspend one's disbelief: one is able to believe, in consequence, in the more fantastic elements of the story, such as the magic and the magical and other non-human creatures that populate the story.

Why do I only give it four stars? Cameron tells his story from multiple points of view, but in my mind there were just too many characters jostling to have their POV shown. There was one character, for example, whose purpose in the story I struggled to understand, even by the end. (As it happens, I think that the character is intended to provide a link to the sequel, but he didn't really add anything to this story, and had too much exposure in this first, for no good reason.) This multi-view approach also made the first part of the novel go too slowly - after about a hundred pages I was starting to wonder whether I could be bothered, despite the very fine writing. I am extremely glad I did continue, but the main part of the story could have been arrived at much more quickly.

Overall, this was one of the better fantasy novels I have read in recent years, but it does require some fortitude to keep going, until around half-way through, after which time it rattles along and sucks the reader in.

Everything at the end of the novel points towards a sequel, and I, for one, will definitely be reading that when it is published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but 14.99 is an enormous price to pay for such poor editing/proofreading....., 3 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Red Knight (Paperback)
This was a good story, well written with interesting characters and lots of detail, refreshingly not "dumbed down" - eg the author feels no need (and has not been forced by editors) to explain terms such as "round ship" or "bated lances". However, my enjoyment was seriously impaired by the extremely poor copy-editing/proofreading. There are many instances of missing words or letters, and of misapplied apostrophes ("it's" instead of "its" being particularly frequent), and several instances where a sentence has obviously been amended but the original wording retained instead of being replaced. There is also a particular problem with homonyms - did the author use voice recognition software? Just a few examples: "heart" for "hart"; "breeches" for "breaches"; "leaches" for "leeches"; "heel" for "heal"; "censors" for "censers" - a particularly annoying one that occurred several times was "spore" for "spoor". Did the publisher employ a proofreader? If they didn't, they should have; and if they did, he or she should be sacked.

I look forward to the next volume - but please get it properly proofed before printing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Red Knight (Paperback)
Review:

The Red Knight is the book i personally have been waiting for, for at least five years, and have been discussing with others for over 20 years. It is a true blending of Historical Fiction and Fantasy Fiction, not many authors have been able to manage it over the years.

That's not to say that Fantasy authors cant write a damn good fight scene when they want, they can make it action packed and bloody, Good fantasy like good Historical Fiction can be fun, action packed drama filled and full of gore. Great Fantasy and Historical fiction needs more depth and knowledge, there is so much from history sprinkled among fantasy: EG: The Nadir Horde from the Drenai and Ulric this is Genghis and the Mongol Horde, Paul Hoffmans Left hand of God is liberally sprinkled with Historical References and there are so many more to mention.

Miles Cameron brings to Fantasy years of fighting knowledge and experience with many weapons, a depth of historical knowledge that just makes me feel inadequate and blends it all with a fantasy environment, giving free reign to the scope and size of the enemy and the tools / Magic that both sides can use for fighting.

The last author I read who could bring this all together this well was David Gemmell, first with lion of Macedon, and then later with the more mature Troy trilogy. Add to this the flawed hero main character who is very gemmellesque, and i was hooked, The Red Knight is one of those books that comes along so rarely, one that captures you, and creates a world so real and believable that you go there and live there as soon as you open the pages, the fights so visceral that emotions run hot, cold, angry violent, melancholy and anguished and leave the reader exhausted from the storm of action and emotion. Miles Cameron has come along at a time when for me Fantasy is going through a resurgence of great writing, Mark Lawrence, Stephen Deas and many others.

This is the start of a series that could easily rival the very greats of the genre, I'm hooked.

Highly recommended
(Parm)

Book Description

This is a world dominated by The Wild.

Man lives in pockets of civilisation claimed from The Wild. Within men's walls life is civilised, the peace punctuated by tournaments, politicking, courtly love and canny business. Beyond those walls men are prey - vulnerable to the exceptionally powerful and dangerous creatures which populate the land, and even more vulnerable to those creatures schemes.

So when one of those creatures breaks out of The Wild and begins preying on people in their homes, it takes a specialist to hunt it down or drive it out ... and even then, it's a long, difficult and extremely dangerous job.

The Black Captain and his men are one such group of specialists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Historical Fantasy., 15 April 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Red Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I must say that this book did not start well for me and I was initially put off by the style and the voice of the writer. However, after getting into the plot a bit further, it started to get more interesting and the story-telling drew you in.

I am still not sure about certain types of "anachronism" within the book. It is very detailed and the descriptions of the armour, weapons and combat make you feel as if this is a very real world created by the author, based very much on historical research. However, the way the characters express themselves in internal dialogues, feels very much like a post-feminist, post-atheistic, 21st century mode of expression.

This aspect is quite subtle though and many people won't even notice - importantly, it doesn't really detract from the enjoyment of reading this book. The idea of "power" as a way of using magic is very interesting and the fantasy elements of the book are quite original and well-written. The pace is good and once you get into the idea of the "Wild" being a source of fantastically threatening monsters, rather than just a wilderness - it starts to become a real page-turner.

If you can suspend your disbelief, then this is a very enjoyable fantasy, with a wealth of colourful characters and a well-realised world. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book-Bad editing, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Red Knight (Kindle Edition)
The book itself is very good, interesting and exciting throughout. The one frustrating thing about it is the amount of time you have to re-read sentences due to typos, almost as if it hasn't been proof read. Its only a small matter but when you pay for a book you'd expect better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like it, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Knight (Paperback)
It felt like it took me a very long time to finish it. It dragged on. Maybe this is a book for a younger audience, maybe teenagers. I read it because of the good reviews and because I'm always looking for something to read while I wait for the next instalment of Ice&Fire, The Way of Kings and The Name of the Wind (even Blood Song is better than this). But this one just didn't do it for me. I din't get to feel for any of the characters. I found their feelings quite unbeliavable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I salute you sir knight, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Knight (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely loved this book and the follow on the fell sword. It's got the lot, might by arms and art. The action is thick and fast with good dialogue and only direct and relevant description of scenery. Miles knowledge of armour and weaponry is evident but not intrusive especially baring in mind the amount of use they see. The main character is exciting to read about and shrouded in mystery so as you read you learn about him at the same pace as his company. This is my favourite read of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Knight
The Red Knight by Miles Cameron (Paperback - 8 Aug 2013)
7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews