Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small-town fangs
"The Accidental Vampire" is another of Lynsay Sands' Argeneau Vampire series, this time focussing on Victor, one of the oldest of the family and a widower. Victor finds himself travelling to the small town of Port Henry with his friend and fellow vampire DJ in response to a female vampire's lonely hearts advert. Not that Victor is responding as a prospective suitor -...
Published on 3 Feb 2008 by Helen Hancox

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect greatness, but does exactly what it says on the tin....
This is not the best "para-mance" out there but it's by no means the worst. If you are loking for a Vamp book that you can read in 6 hours (maybe on a beach), engage you while reading it but not make you want to go out immidiately and read every book in the series. This is it.

It's about a girl who funnily enough becomes a vampire by accident, goes back to...
Published on 31 July 2008 by Jessica Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect greatness, but does exactly what it says on the tin...., 31 July 2008
This is not the best "para-mance" out there but it's by no means the worst. If you are loking for a Vamp book that you can read in 6 hours (maybe on a beach), engage you while reading it but not make you want to go out immidiately and read every book in the series. This is it.

It's about a girl who funnily enough becomes a vampire by accident, goes back to her small town and is accepted by her town for what she is. A non threatening vampire, with no idea how to be a vampire other than what she she learn from horror movies. And without guidance she and her friends put quite a few feet wrong. They also attract attention causing Victor to be sent to check out this woman bring al kind of unwanted attention to vamps in general.

In all honesty I expected this to be terrible, but it made me smile, kept me reading and I do have to say I enjoyed it. Not every book can be great but it's good enough. I will be giving some other Lyndsay Sands a go, good holiday reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small-town fangs, 3 Feb 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"The Accidental Vampire" is another of Lynsay Sands' Argeneau Vampire series, this time focussing on Victor, one of the oldest of the family and a widower. Victor finds himself travelling to the small town of Port Henry with his friend and fellow vampire DJ in response to a female vampire's lonely hearts advert. Not that Victor is responding as a prospective suitor - instead he is going as a Council representative to decide what to do about this vampire woman who's breaking laws of secrecy, and that might involve having her killed.

When Victor and DJ arrive they realise the situation is a little more complex. Three more single vampires turn up in response to the advert and it's clear the entire town knows about and loves Elvi, the female vampire. It's also clear she has no idea about what being a vampire means and has gained all her information from the film version of Dracula; She doesn't realise that she can eat food, go out in daylight, sleep in a bed not a coffin and more. Most of the book seems to be about Elvi learning the true nature of her vampire status whilst the four 'suitors' and DJ follow her around, trying to keep her out of trouble and wondering whether they are her 'lifemates'. But someone seems to be attacking Elvi with arrows and it's up to them all to look after her and to try to find out who is trying to kill her.

This book is rather similar to several of the other Argeneau Vampire books in that the entire content of the book is pretty much about the new vampire learning what it means to be an Immortal. It's particularly noticeable in this book where we have Elvi learning to drink out of blood bags, learning some of the laws, finding out about things she can still do and still playing her part in the community of Port Henry. The love story between Elvi and Victor is sweet enough but not particularly deep and Victor's attitudes towards Elvi are sometimes a bit suspect. However it was an enjoyable read and some of the characters are amusing, if rather cardboard-cutout.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book Helen Hancox 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This a terrific amusing supernatural romantic suspense, 18 Jan 2008
By 
H. Klark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
New to the world of the night, THE ACCIDENTAL VAMPIRE Elvi Black struggles to adjust. She mourns her inability to get a tan, eat food especially pizza, and sleep in a bed as coffins are not particularly conducive to anything but the sleep of the dead. Her friends are worried about her adjustment so though she tried to hide her change, they know and try to hook her up with a male vampire though where to find one seems difficult as the matchmaking services don't mention anyone with a bite. Her neighbors place a personal ad seeking a vampiric hunk as a companion to a female nightcrawler.

Taken aback with the ad that they assume is an inane joke by a mortal, the Vampire Council sends agent Victor Argeneau to investigate and if necessary ki11 the individual. When he meets Elvi he knows he found his soulmate and much more as shockingly she has a town filled with humans willing to di3 to keep her safe even as someone else who read the ad wants to teach her one particular aspect of being a vamp, a stake through the heart.

This a terrific amusing supernatural romantic suspense due to the desperate antics of the beleaguered heroine who feels like a newborn without adult supervision trying to hide what she has become. Victor is a strong courageous individual who besides mentoring the rookie risks his soul to keep his forever mate safe. The support cast enhances the overall tale especially the townsfolk who add a unique twist and the slayer. Sub-genre fans will enjoy Lynsay Sand's enjoyable tale and seek her previous winning vampire romances or I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel...The Fates...if you've read all of Sand's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dead on marvellous, 26 Dec 2007
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Elvi went on a fun-in-the-sun vacation to Mexico. Instead of drinks with funny umbrellas, she found herself being the main drink for a vampire! What a drag, especially when maker did a drink 'n run, leaving poor Elvi struggling to deal with her new vamp state. For five years Elvi has toddled through her new situation, dealing with the downside of being undead. There are a few perks, such as not ageing, but still, being a vamp should come with a "how to be a vamp and survive" book, she thinks.

Victor Argeneau (finally we get Victor's tale!) has lived alone for centuries, having lost his beloved to vampire hunters. Since then, his sole focus has been hunting down rogue vampires to eliminate them, so no other innocent vamps are slaughtered for their misdeeds. His attention is drawn to Elvi when her friends place a want ad for a male vamp, matchmaking the objective. Victor isn't sure it's a real vamp or someone just playing a joke, so he goes to check it out. He is shocked to learn the whole town is aware that Elvi is a vampire, but more importantly, Elvi is real and just what his heart craves. However the vampire council dedicated to keep a low profile for the good vamps, sees this situation as something that cannot go on.

Lynsay Sands takes a chance giving us not young and beautiful vamps, but older ones, and the risk is endearing, once again keep this series fresh and original. The problem with any series, is to conjure that vital spark that made it special to begin with. Each time, Sands does just that.

Fans will be very happy campers as another Angeneau tale comes in January and February, giving you three in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars para-mance, 1 Jun 2010
By 
A Vampire puts a singles ad in the paper and boy does she get a response. Victor Argeneau and his assistant DJ drive out to the small town of Port Henry to meet this woman and find out what is going on. It's not exactly discreet placing an ad in the paper - and since Vincent works for the Vampires ruling Council, it's his job to access the damage and possibly bring this potential "Rogue Vampire" back to the council for judgement.

Vincent is in for a surprise when he gets to Port Henry to meet Ms. Elvi Black. He is greeted by the captain of the local police and told to have a seat while the others arrive. What others? Apparently 6 vampires had been invited down to spend the week getting to know the Vampire in the ad. Oh - And she doesn't know about the ad. Apparently the town felt bad for Elvi not having a mate and they put the ad in the paper for her. So the entire town knows about Elvi the Vampire. What is the council to do about this?!?!

I love that Elvi is an accidental vampire - and that she is embraced by the entire town. Also - the whole love angle was quite fun. Elvi having several suitors to choose from was fun to watch. There is a hint of mystery in this as with the other books - but I always feel that it is very secondary to the primary plot - which is the relationship between one Argeneau vampire and one mortal. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, 2 July 2008
By 
J. Gascoyne (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
God this book was awful! It's my first foray into Lyndsay Sands books, thought I'd give her a go and was less than impressed. If I read the phrase 'hooked the bag onto her teeth' one more time I'll scream! I started to wonder if a teenager had written it, the style was so toe-curlingly woeful!! I'm back to Kim Harrison and Kelley Armstrong, stat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the series - really good writer and the books are great for story and continuity throughout - can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Vampire: An Argeneau Vampire Novel (Paperback)
I choose this rating as the book arrived in the condition I expected and arrived within the delivery estimate. The book is a great and the story is enjoyable and would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Accidental Vampire: An Argeneau Vampire Novel (Paperback)
I found the story amusing in some places but found some parts of the story a bit OTT. Was quite a refreshing storyline and I will be looking for the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I LOVE this series! Couldn't put any o the books down! Would totally recommend this book and can't wait for the future series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Accidental Vampire: An Argeneau Vampire Novel
The Accidental Vampire: An Argeneau Vampire Novel by Lynsay Sands (Paperback - 9 Feb 2012)
5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews