Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, concise and entertaining.
Three centuries have passed since a young woman named Vin and a band of assorted thieves used the powers of the Mistborn to save the world of Scadrial, dispersing the ash-clouds forever. Vin and her cohorts have become figures of myth or religious awe, but time has moved on. Great skyscrapers are racing for the sky whilst steam and electrical power are becoming more...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by A. Whitehead

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up, not as good as the first three Mistborn books
A reasonable follow up on the first three Mistborn books, although not quite in the same league as the first 3 books.
Published 9 months ago by Mike Sankey


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, concise and entertaining., 4 Dec 2011
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Three centuries have passed since a young woman named Vin and a band of assorted thieves used the powers of the Mistborn to save the world of Scadrial, dispersing the ash-clouds forever. Vin and her cohorts have become figures of myth or religious awe, but time has moved on. Great skyscrapers are racing for the sky whilst steam and electrical power are becoming more commonplace.

Out in the Roughs, Waxillium Ladrian has spent twenty years trying to bring peace and order to a rough, frontier land. Called home to the city of Elendel by the death of his uncle and forced to inherit his family's estate and business, Waxillium finds trading his six-shooters for cost ledgers to be harder than he'd expected. A spate of kidnappings and disappearance soon tempt him back to a life of law-enforcement, but Wax needs to face his own guilt before he can face down an old enemy.

The Alloy of Law is a (mostly) stand-alone novel set in the same world as Brandon Sanderson's earlier Mistborn Trilogy. Sanderson has previously announced that he plans three trilogies set in this world, one set in a medieval era, one in a contemporary setting and one in a futuristic milieu. The Alloy of Law is a side-story unrelated to these planned future works, though Sanderson layers some hints for the second trilogy into the narrative and also sets up a sequel (or potentially several sequels) for this book in its closing pages.

Written as a side-project to help the author stay fresh whilst bringing Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time sequence to its long-awaited conclusion and coming in at barely a third the length of his last novel, The Way of Kings, it'd be easy to dismiss The Alloy of Law as a bit of fluffy filler to tide his publishers over for a year. This would be a mistake as The Alloy of Law is one of Sanderson's best novels to date.

Sanderson has always been a solid, entertaining author but his most laudable aspect has been the way he's grown and learned with each novel. Arguably his biggest problem has been the length of his books: the Mistborn volumes and certainly The Way of Kings, whilst good books, felt overlong for the amount of plot in them. With The Alloy of Law written as a short side-project, Sanderson has forced himself to write much more concisely, tightly and efficiently than normal, resulting in his most focused, page-turning novel to date. Sanderson has also learned a lot about how to deploy humour in a book (probably learning from his issues - eventually resolved - with handling Mat in the Wheel of Time books), with this book also being his funniest.

Although Sanderson's lightest and most humourous book to date, The Alloy of Law has its share of darker moments, opening with Wax accidentally killing an innocent person and being haunted by it through the book. It also touches upon more epic elements, with several potential references to upcoming storylines in the second Mistborn trilogy. The book also continues Sanderson's tradition of featuring minor links to his other fantasy novels with the appendix apparently being written by the world-hopping Hoid (and featuring a reference to the events of Elantris). The updated setting is another plus point, with the mixture of magic, steam trains, guns and electricity being unusual for a fantasy and blurring the lines between epic fantasy, steampunk and urban fantasy to create something that is more interesting than the norm. Action sequences - something Sanderson has handled quite well throughout his career - are also very strong, with some of his more colourful and memorable battles and duels being depicted here.

Sanderson delineates his main three characters - Waxillium, Wayne and Marasi - well, though the POV structure is a little distracting. The entire first half of the novel is from Wax's POV but suddenly switches over in the latter half to include Wayne, Marasi and the main villain. It feels that Sanderson could have found a more consistent structure to use than this. He also nicely inverts some cliches, such as when Wax finds himself betrothed to a woman who initially appears to be a severe harridan but becomes more well-rounded a character as the book proceeds.

On the negative side, some of the secondary characters aren't as well-defined as the three heroes. In addition, there are moments when it sounds like the lawless frontier would have been a more interesting setting than yet another fantasy city (albeit one that more resembles turn-of-the-century New York than a typical fantasy conurbation), though the culture clash between the two settings is something Sanderson handles well.

The Alloy of Law (****) is a tight, well-written fantasy novel that uses traditional tropes and ideas but combines them with an unusual (for epic fantasy) setting to produce something fresh and engaging. The novel is available now in the UK and USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 15 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Patrick J. Ward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a huge fan of the under-rated Sanderson, I thoroughly enjoyed the Mistborn trilogy and its quirky "magic" system of Allomancy & Feruchemy etc. I was pleasantly surprised to hear he was returning to the Mistborn world, apparently having written this novel to clear his head between other books.

Love the new protagonists and the dialogue had me cracked up so much at one point that I nearly annihilated my Kindle by dropping it in the bath (yes, I read while soaking, sue me!). Only complaints were that things moved a bit too fast, the book was a bit too short and last but not least, for an alleged stand-alone novel, Brandon sure left it wide open, with huge unresolved plotlines spanning a nefarious diabolical scheme, Wax's continuation of his Lawmaker role and, of course, the romantic tension between him and his ingenue sidekick.

I demand more! Take a breather once Jordan's book is done and then get typing Mr Sanderson, please. We the fans demand more Wax, Wayne and Marasi :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic continuation shame it's so short, 12 Nov 2011
By 
R. Bendall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this book as soon as it became available after having it preordered since I finished the original trilogy, they were supposed to be my books for my holiday but I read all three the week before I left.

Gladly this book keeps up the tradition of being un-put-downable and is a fantastic addition to the trilogy. The new steampunky setting is refreshing and well established. The main characters are brilliantly written.

However there is only one problem; it's too short at under 300 pages i blew through 75% of the book in a day. I hope this is the start of a new trilogy however Mr Saunderson is very busy so I won't be holding my breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys and Allomancers, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alloy of Law: A Mistborn Novel (Paperback)
A new fantasy novel from writer Brandon Sanderson, which returns to the world of his popular 'mistborn' stories. That series started with The Final Empire: Mistborn Book One. This novel stands largely alone from that, but you will still get more out of it if you've read the earlier Mistborn books, so it isn't really a jumping on point.

This book runs for three hundred and twenty five pages. It's divided into twenty chapters, plus a prologue and an epilogue.
There's a map of some of the setting at the start, and a glossary at the back.

This has the first of several great ideas at the start. Most fantasy worlds don't tend to change. But that's not like real worlds, where progress marches on. Thus this story takes place centuries after the end of the mistborn trilogy, and in that time the world has developed. With more technology and weaponry.

There are people living in cities linked by railways. But in the rough lands beyond those, life is a struggle. And a very dangerous one. Only a few people strive to bring law to such places.

One is Waxillium Ladrian. A man of noble birth. When things force him to return to the city, he thinks he's left his law enforcing days behind. But danger and crime and mystery still await. With the help of his somewhat uncouth associate Wayne, and a new friend, can he solve a dangerous mystery?

This thus has magic in a setting that is a mix of the wild west and Victorian style cities. This Is so genuinely original it grabs from the off.

In addition, it has some great characterisation. Waxillium, known to all as Wax, is a very three dimensional and appealing and likeable character. Wayne has a great lot of depth to him, that is gradually revealed along the way. And the two of them make a great trinity with the aforementioned new friend.

There's a good mystery plot. Which will keep you guessing, and which will constantly manage to surprise you.

It also benefits enormously from being such a short book, as it's just the right length to be a breezy and entertaining read.

It's a pity that it's not as self contained as it might appear to be. As the ending does leave a few things up in the air. But that's only a minor. Hopefully there will be more to come after this.

An original, enjoyable, and hugely entertaining little book. A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. The Mistborn series was finished, and I suspected that a fourth book in the trilogy was just a way of cashing in on the popularity of the original story. Well, if it was, it was a damned good try. Although set in a completely different time frame from the original, and with completely different philosophy, there was nonetheless enough reference and use of the original 'magic' to make it a proper continuation. If you enjoyed the trilogy, you'll enjoy this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last in series, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This concludes the series and has a neat twist to the ending I enjoyed reading thr whole series and were the first time I had read written solely by Brandon Sanderson - stands up well to the 'daddy' of this genre ,Robert Jordan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up, not as good as the first three Mistborn books, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reasonable follow up on the first three Mistborn books, although not quite in the same league as the first 3 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 July 2012
By 
Tania Johansson (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I loved the Mistborn trilogy and this did not disappoint. The Alloy of Law is set three hundred years after the end of book three and technology has moved on. I thought this was quite original and interesting. He references back to mythology, which is based on events from the first three books. This knitted the series together well despite the world looking and feeling different.
One of my favourite aspects of this book was the characterisation. The voice of each character was unique. I could open the book at random and by reading a few sentences know whose view point it was. The relationship between Wax and Wayne felt real and I loved the banter between them. These characters made the story come alive.
Highly recommended and I cannot wait for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mistborn of a different genre., 2 Jun 2012
By 
Tim (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
300 years have passed since the end of the Mistborn trilogy and the events and characters have passed into legend. With the book being only half the size of any one of the previous trilogy, I was unsure what to expect with this additional novel to the Mistborn series. I was pleasantly surprised, it is not a deep drama as seen with the previous books, there are no emperors or heroes, armies or sieges. What it is, is a fun western style, buddy-cop, detective story... with magic. The plot is not complicated nor the characters complex, there are no shades of grey here. The protagonists, Waxillium and Wayne, have a great chemistry and a meaningful friendship is portrayed. I likened them to Sherlock and Watson from the latest films, different skills that come in handy at the right times with great back-and-forth dialogue.

This was all skilfully crafted into the Mistborn universe that is developed further yet true to its origins. Very enjoyable with a great ending, the length really helps to move the book at a suitable pace, any longer would have slowed it down too much.

There isn't much to not like about this book, it doesn't try to be any more than it is. I suppose I would have preferred a more in-depth sequel but Sanderson has promised these are still on their way, so that can't really be held against it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. The characters are brilliant. They are well developed and well rounded. They each have their own quirks and fails which makes them all the more real.

It's great to see how the world transformed from the first trilogy. The characters you knew in the first books are now legends and stories. This is something I have wished for in other fantasy worlds. Once the world is saved, evil power overthrown, what happens? How does that world move forward? This answers those questions and as a bonus you get to meet more wonderful characters and read their stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Alloy of Law: A Mistborn Novel
The Alloy of Law: A Mistborn Novel by Brandon Sanderson (Paperback - 1 Nov 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews