Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment
This book was my introduction to Brandon Sanderson, and I would strongly recommend it. The book is well-paced, well-planned with sufficient twists to the narrative to keep you uncertain as to precisely what's been happening until the final few pages. The writing style is crisp and evocative: I found it easy to imagine the steel-city of Newcago, stratified into tiers and...
Published 10 months ago by GreyMonarch

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I did enjoy Steelheart, it sets scene perfectly for the next ...
This is the first Brandon Sanderson book I have read and not a book I would normally choose as I don't read much in this genre. I did enjoy Steelheart, it sets scene perfectly for the next Reckoners adventure. The characters are all interesting and well thought out and the plot moves along very quickly with plenty of action. I would recommened this book to anyone who just...
Published 8 months ago by Ms. J. Manders


‹ Previous | 110 11 1219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars steelheart, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read Brandon Sanderson certainly can produce the goods all his book's have a hero and villain that you can associate with would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steelheart CD, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as advertised, with prompt delivery. I would order again if I needed more. And the access to the songs as a download was an unexpected bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars copper bottom, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author knows how to build a story, central character, unexpected death, evil villain to kill, but still well crafted and v good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Cathy "Audiobook junkie!" (Ilminster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Imaginative storytelling, lots of action, suspense and fast paced with a good cast of characters. A very descriptive and sad prologue sets up the storyline, the trauma suffered by David and how that affects the choices he makes.

In a post Calamity world ruled by dark and chilling Epics, humans who gained fearful super powers, a small group of resistance fighters, The Reckoners, are killing Epics to try and undermine thrie hold on the world.
David wants revenge against the most powerful ruling Epic, Steelheart, for the murder if his father 10 years ago. He joins The Reckoners (great characters) and they devise a plan.

David knows Steelheart has a weakness, he saw him bleed, but he doesn't know for sure what the weakness is or how to utilise it to The Reckoners' best advantage.

There are morality issues to confront and lessons to learn and several unexpected twists and revelations turn things upside down.
The characters are strong and the relationships and banter between them is appealing and also comical at times.

The story leaves enough unsaid to make you want to follow on with the next book.

Performance

A good narrator makes all the difference to an audiobook but an exceptional narrator takes it to a whole new level. MacLeod Andrews comes into the latter category. He brings David to life and gives him personality and moves easily between each of the characters giving them all distinctive 'voices' and emotional depth as well as an intenseness to the whole of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though the general concept was far from original, it did develop in parts unexpectedly and proved to be a witty, enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's by Brandon Sanderson, which an automatic recommendation from any novel. Add to that the fast pace and fantastic writing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 1 Nov. 2013
I thought it was really good. It was interesting all the way through. I feel like it was different from a lot of other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read!, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not overly complex and not quite as good as the Stormlight books, but worth reading! Definitely enjoyed it and entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome as usual, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fantasy novel, again Brandon Sanderson keeps a good pace and gives a great story. Highly recommend for any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sanderson writes well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steelheart (Reckoners 1)
Steelheart (Reckoners 1) by Brandon Sanderson (Paperback - 25 Sept. 2014)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews