Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SF book of 2012
This is a wonderful book, almost certainly the best novel I read this year, so it's a real disappointment to see it getting such indifferent and at times stupid reviews.

I'm sorry to admit that I'm sometimes more interested in plot than quality of writing, but even I noticed how outstanding McAuley's prose is here, with descriptive passages frequently achieving...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing installment in a promising series....
Having read and enjoyed The Quiet War and Gardens of the sun I was expecting a follow-on narrative which took the tensions between the different Outer factions to a different locale. What I found were three narrative streams which seemed to have little to do with the preceding novels.

One thread was related. It seemed to cover the early life of Maria-Hong...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by A. J. Poulter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SF book of 2012, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful book, almost certainly the best novel I read this year, so it's a real disappointment to see it getting such indifferent and at times stupid reviews.

I'm sorry to admit that I'm sometimes more interested in plot than quality of writing, but even I noticed how outstanding McAuley's prose is here, with descriptive passages frequently achieving real beauty and poetry. The plot is both original and ruthless: the villains of the piece, the True, are utterly vile and despicable, yet the story is largely told from their perspective. It is impossible to find any single character to wholly identify with, all the "humans" in the story are to a greater or lesser extent alien from our perspective.

This is not a warm and cosy story, you get a real sense of the vast, immeasurable depths of space, and of how in trying to navigate them we could lose our own humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big, bold and beautiful, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul McAuley has an amazing imagination and this meaty tome has a great blend of exciting characters, old friends (lots of spoilers so make sure you read The Quiet War first) and fabulous concepts. It may go on too much but this is counterbalanced by its bulging story lines and sequential threads. I look forward to reading it again in short succession to The Quiet War as I think this would be a great pair of novels for a long journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all comes together, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best SF book I've read in some time. I'm surprised to see it getting so little, and at times undeservedly negative, attention from reviewers on here.

"In the Mouth of the Whale" introduces a much wider range of elements compared to the first two novels in the Quiet War series-- which basically expounded a near-ish future history of solar system colonisation, with oodles of loving descriptions of habitat designs/ecosystem engineering. Here there are stronger characters, a much stronger narrative thread (in fact three of them, initially), some refreshingly different settings-- including a gas giant and various virtual environments, besides the obligatory hollowed out asteroids-- some stunningly good descriptive passages, and a real sense of the author starting to get solidly to grips with some substantive, timeless, human themes. Tyranny, love, the extent to which we have control over our destiny, you know the kind of thing. It's not that this stuff was absent from the earlier novels, just that it's explored with a surer hand in this one. Although the book describes a much altered and splintered version of far future humanity in the unfamiliar setting of another star system, it still manages to be a thoroughly human work (The True are Us, of course). Which is not to say that it's lacking in either hard science-y stuff, or some decent action sequences (indeed, one criticism of the Quiet War might be that it was too quiet- but with the one exception mentioned below, that's not a problem here).

It's true that there are echoes from other SF authors-- gas giant-based intelligence, virtual hells and the cryptosphere-like Library were bittersweet reminders of Iain M. Banks-- and the cyberspace stuff has of course been done thoroughly elsewhere, while other passages call to mind Alistair Reynolds and Kim Stanley Robinson. In lesser hands, these echoes might make the book feel derivative, but the quality of the writing is such that these reminders are rather pleasing. It's like hearing snatches of your favourite music on a radio programme which, in itself, happens to be rather good. Somehow it all adds up to something more than the sum of its parts. If I've got one small niggle, it's the amount of time spent on Sri's early life, not all of which serves to move either the character or the story along. But that's not enough to lose this book its amply deserved five stars.

So- ignore the naysayers. Read it and enjoy. Just don't expect it to be like the other books in the series. Expect it to be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing installment in a promising series...., 17 Feb 2012
By 
A. J. Poulter "AP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read and enjoyed The Quiet War and Gardens of the sun I was expecting a follow-on narrative which took the tensions between the different Outer factions to a different locale. What I found were three narrative streams which seemed to have little to do with the preceding novels.

One thread was related. It seemed to cover the early life of Maria-Hong Owen's daughter Sri, who became a gene wizard in the previous two books. The other two threads appear not to refer back to anything but cover the growing war for Cthuga (Fomalhaut's gas giant) and the adventures of a pair of 'cyberspace hackers' from the 'Library', who have been a chance to redeem themselves, after an earlier failure, by finding two individuals who have disappeared while on an important mission in the Library.

The 'Library' I found unconvincing. The sense of wonder at the the gene- and habitat-engineering carries over from the earlier books but the 'virtual reality' hijinks is hardly much in advance of Gibson, and feels out of place here. Who needs inner space when outer space is available as infinite, real, real estate?

All is not wonderful in this post-human world. Bottom of the heap are the Quicks,who have had humanity's worst traits gene-engineered out, but unluckily for them, this has enabled their enslavement by the True, exo-skeleton-wearing old-style humans, unfortunately still wreaking havoc with those bad old traits. The True want to confirm a hypothesis that a 'mind' inhabits Cthuga but have to defend it against a third post-human clade, the Ghosts, who have an even crazier reason for wanting it. The 'Whale' of the novel's title is a giant True construct which reaches down into Cthuga's gravity well.

All this the reader needs to piece together. What I find worrying is what someone totally new to this 'universe' is going to make of it, as I struggled. Where are the introductory 'info-dumps'? Ironically, they appear and interrupt things at the end, way too late to save newcomers to this universe who may have given up long before.

Finally, this work seems to use more cliched sf elements than the first two novels and the originality that fueled them seems not to be being extended into new areas. There is also a bleakness about it, in that freedoms won in the preceding novels seem to be on the wane again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and captivating, 8 July 2014
I have just finished reading 'In The Mouth of the Whale' and found it extraordinary, brilliant and captivating.
Not quite sure why some readers have not rated it as highly as previous 'Quiet War' books, but I think personally it is a fantastic continuation of the story, full of amazing imagery and dramatic plot.
McAuley's prose is beautiful at times and crystal clear, the imagery will stick in my mind for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty different to the previous books, a good read though!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the Mouth of the Whale is very different to The Quiet War and Gardens of the Sun, but that's important: while the book still focuses on a number of characters and their stories, the world is painted in broad strokes compared to the fine detail of the previous books, which is a smart move since it deals with a much more distant future where the technology is notably less distinguishable from magic.

The book is compelling; it consists of three stories (two of which don't rely on having read the first two books in the series, one of which is much better for having read them), and jumps between them in a way guaranteed to force you to keep reading to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing addition to the series, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compared to the previous entries to the "Quiet War" series, this novel was something of a disappointment, definitely nowhere near as good as McAuley's other work.

It's nominally set in the same universe as the the Quiet War series, but about a thousand years in the future. While it continues the story of one of the characters from those books (which makes it hard to understand for those who haven't read them), it's otherwise a self-contained story. It's set in a solar system where the posthuman "Quick" have been enslaved by old-school "True" humans, while the Ghosts from the Quiet War series make a reappearance.

There are three storylines: one follows a mysterious child from (apparently) the time of Greater Brazil, one follows Isak, a "True" investigator who protects a data library from age-old viruses, and Ori, a Quick slave who gets caught up in the larger conflict for the system. None of these plotlines really works, and they come together for a rather confusing and underwhelming conclusion. A lot of the worldbuilding is equally confusing, making the whole thing rather hard to follow. In particular, it's never really made clear how Isak's "exorcisms" of computer systems work- they seem to take part in a matrix-esque simulation, but quite how it works, as with much of the detail of this world, is never explained.

One final quib I have is the rather frustrating lack of information as to what happened to the solar system's civilisation after the Quiet War- there are a few vague mentions of it, but they are, like so much else, never properly explained, and it would probably have been more satisfying were this an entirely standalone novel.

In short, this novel is nowhere near as good as the excellent first two novels of the Quiet War series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
A fantastic read and worthy addition to the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive and fun, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you love a story that is dependent upon characters with a wonderful spacey twist and a plotline that moves at a decent pace then this title by Paul McAuley is a tale that you really will have to spend your time with. Its got top notch prose, some decent dialogue and an overall arc, which when blended with the author's unique writing style makes this a story that kicks the Science Fiction genre off to a cracking beginning this year.

All in a wonderful read and one that I had a lot of fun with. Hopefully you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Whale of a Tale, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not read McAuley extensively, but enjoyed Pasquale's Angel and it's quasi steam-punk take on the Renaissance, and the first two instalments of The Quiet War series are great space opera and the first volume worthy of its Arthur C. Clarke nomination. However, if the first two books in the series seem to point somewhere, the third fails to get you there. It attempts to offer elements of both a prequel and a sequel the the first two books, but with rather loose connections which I found only became clear (and rather disappointly so) at the end of the book. There is little of the tension and excitment of the first books, characters not nearly as well developed, and I think McAuley had to strain a bit to bring the two main sublplots together at the end. He introduces new elements: demons and exocism, a strange parallel reality called the library where a fair amount of action occurs. But it isn't entirely clear if the characters are phycially present in this parallel world, and if they aren't, where the physical characters are, or what happens to demons when they are exorcised in this world. In fact, the whole point of placing demons (and the library) in the story was lost on me.

Not the sort of conclusion I was expecting, if in fact it is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Mouth of the Whale
In the Mouth of the Whale by Paul McAuley (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
10.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews