Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kitty bites back!
Kitty and Ben head for Vegas - hello, gambling, mysterious shifters and a magician with a magic box...

What I've always liked about the Kitty books is just how ordinary Kitty is. In comparison to a number of other heroines in the Urban Fantasy genre she has no big over-arching storyline. She has no mysterious past to repent off and no secret destiny to prepare...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by M. C. Symonds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read
"Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand" sees Kitty leave Denver and head to the City of Lights for some well deserved R & R, and to marry the man in her life. But things pan out a bit like a screw ball comedy.

Kitty ends up: staying in a hotel that's hosting a gun convention attended by bounty hunters who hate werewolves; hosting her radio show, 'The Midnight Hour',...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Book Chick City


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, 12 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5) (Paperback)
"Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand" sees Kitty leave Denver and head to the City of Lights for some well deserved R & R, and to marry the man in her life. But things pan out a bit like a screw ball comedy.

Kitty ends up: staying in a hotel that's hosting a gun convention attended by bounty hunters who hate werewolves; hosting her radio show, 'The Midnight Hour', live on TV the night before her wedding; her beau gambling away their money and then disappearing without a trace; and finally delivering a letter to the Vampire Master of the City from Rick, Kitty's vampire friend and Master of Denver - which of course leads to lots of drama and trouble for Kitty!

Kitty also meets a group of were-animals that perform in a show on a daily basis in their animal form and after seeing it with her own eyes, Kitty senses something's just not right.

We also get to meet a new character, Odysseus Grant, a true magician. He's one of my favourite characters, he's so intriguing and I never really knew if he was friend or foe until the end.

"Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand" doesn't have as much action as the previous books, but there was still enough going on to keep me reading. I must admit that I am a little disappointed that Kitty is getting married. This seems to really cement the relationship between her and her man (I won't say who incase you haven't read the books yet). I much prefer my urban fantasy heroine to struggle with romance rather than it be all wrapped up neatly.

However, I keep getting mixed signals. Kitty says she's in love but then let's everything get in the way of actually getting married. Her man plans a poker tournament at the time of their wedding so they have to rearrange it and instead of getting married in the afternoon that push it back to six o'clock. This doesn't really convince me that they are in love...

VERDICT:

Despite my reservations about certain aspects, "Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand" is still a fun read. It's not on the same par as some of the preceding books, but I have a feeling that more is to come in the next instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kitty bites back!, 21 Sep 2010
Kitty and Ben head for Vegas - hello, gambling, mysterious shifters and a magician with a magic box...

What I've always liked about the Kitty books is just how ordinary Kitty is. In comparison to a number of other heroines in the Urban Fantasy genre she has no big over-arching storyline. She has no mysterious past to repent off and no secret destiny to prepare. She's not the only one who can save the world - again and again and again. She's just happens to be a werewolf and a radio host. Kitty is breathe of fresh air in the crowded fantasy genre and Carrie Vaughn makes it seem how ordinary it can be to be a werewolf. That ordinariness both works for and against the series at times. In Dead Man's Hand - Kitty and Ben run off to Las Vegas to get married and end up tangled with magicians, lycanthrope stage shows and rigged poker matches. Considering the number of extra-ordinary things they find in Vegas, it's amazing how ordinary the book is. Not much happens and there is little to connect the threads unless you include Kitty herself. However, some interesting things are brought up and it ends on a bit of cliff hanger. And as ever the most ordinary Kitty book is still miles better than the best book of some other authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand,, 9 Feb 2009
By 
Elizabeth (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Although the reviewer before has pretty much already summed up the plot, I'm going to give my own opinion of the book and try not to give some of the ending away like she did!!

KITTY AND THE DEAD MAN'S HAND follows on literally a week after the events in KITTY AND THE SILVER BULLET. She's still a major success with her show at KNOB, her and Ben are now Alphas of her old pack (having defeated Carl and Meg, the old Alphas, in the previous book), Ben has asked her to marry him, and life is looking pretty peachy.
Except, planning a big white wedding is proving to be pretty stressful, especially as her mum is determined to have her say by playing the 'but I'm dying of cancer!' card, and so Kitty decides to elope to Las Vegas...

Once there, she has to deal with meeting the master vampire, Dom, performing 'The Midnight Hour' live as a TV show, Ben's new-realised 'talent' at poker, the rather gorgeous were-cat Balthasar, the mysterious (but slightly annoying) stage magician Odysseus Grant, and Ben's ex-hunting friends Evan and Brenda. So all in all it's a busy book!
One thing I found a bit curious was the complete lack of Cormic; yes, he is mentioned, especially as the hunters know him, but as far as I can tell Kitty hasn't even been to see him in jail yet to let him know that her and Ben are geting married, which disappointed me because I wanted to know what his reaction was going to be.

Fans of this series will definiately enjoy this latest edition; newbies I recommend you go back and start with KITTY AND THE MIDNIGHT HOUR. The next book is out in March 2009 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5) (Paperback)
If you like were's and vampires then read it, you won't be disappointed, you need to buy or read them in order though to get the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 July 2013
By 
M. L. C. Eley "LE" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got addicted to these and in my free time would only actually read these books because they were packed with action, all of the characters are interesting, very well thought out story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fiesty, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good characters, good settings, good locations.
Well thought out with an open story line.
If you need another werewolf Kitty is your girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars like it, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5) (Paperback)
Another book in this series that is good fun and easy to read.
Just suspend all the world's problems and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5) (Paperback)
I cant say enough about these books it sounds like im rambling on but they are a great set and she is still writing them and i cant wait till the new one comes out at the end of this month
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good excapism reading, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5) (Paperback)
Enjoyable,and not too taxing,with believable characters so that you care what happens to them.I have enjoyed all of the books in this series that i have read so far ( 1-8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this series, 9 Jan 2009
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This time, Kitty's taking on Las Vegas!

Her mind is filled with visions of a romantic weekend with her boyfriend Ben, lounging for hours by the pool with a frufru drink in hand, and maybe even getting hitched. She also plans a live, televised version of her popular radio show.

The plans go awry, however, and she find herself sharing the stage with Balthasar, a mysterious lycanthrope who fronts an animal act of sexy were-felines; a shadowy convention of bounty hunters specializing in supernatural targets; a stage magician whose magic may be the real thing; and Dom, the playboy Master vampire of Las Vegas. When Ben vanishes, Kitty faces a myriad of suspects with ill intent - or Ben himself, getting cold feet.

Things get even hotter when Balthasar sets his romantic sights on her. Kitty discovers that there are forces at work here beyond even Sin City's reputation. Kitty gets help from unexpected quarters. Evan and Brenda, tough-as-nails bounty hunters, and Odysseus Grant, the magician with dark powers, help Kitty through the dangers of this thrilling tale and the surprising twists are turns just never stop.

The next one is due out March. 'Kitty Raises Hell'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5)
Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (Kitty Norville 5) by Carrie Vaughn (Paperback - 10 Mar 2011)
£5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews