Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Something New And Familiar, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Queen (Memory of Flames 5) (Paperback)
The Adamantine Palace, one of many books in an order to see if anything held my interest. The fact that I purchased the next 3 books straight after and finished them fairly fast, is a good indication that it hit the spot. I finished The Black Mausoleum to find there was a book I had missed by Stephen Deas.

Working my way through the first pages and I found this was almost a new story. New characters that we have never heard of, a new land, areas, titles and trades. Stick with it as I found myself just taking a moment here and there to make sure I had it clear who is who and where they are etc. From my understanding Stephen has worked his two book series into this book and will move them forward. I intend to work my way through his other series after reading this book but I believe it has not held me back in understanding anything in Dragon Queen.

Once the book moves along you are following a few main characters, I would say the first 3/4 of the book is entirely brand new story creation and it's quite brilliant when become familiar with the new setting. When you reach the remaining 1/4 then the story explodes.

I'm giving this a 5* but really it's a 4.5* due to two simple features missing from the book. A map of the new land which gives the read a very effective guide on the locations and how they relate to each other. A summary of the new characters, which area/tribe/lord they serve and their job/role.

I look forward to the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great imaging of classic fantasy beast, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Super stuff, political machinations, awesome dragons, each with their own personality and agenda.
A great take on this classic fantasy beast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories..., 19 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this for my son who is an avid fantasy story fan. He was glued into it from start to finish as is my husband now. They were both waiting for the next 'Game of Thrones' book to come out but both say this series is equally as exciting with incredible characters and twisting and plotting to match. Sons verdict Awesome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying read, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A long and enjoyable read, can't wait till the next book hope the wait isn't to long, the dragons are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book full of imagination and passion, 25 Sep 2013
Any reader of fantasy fiction knows that the dragon is the most powerful and awesome creature of all. What I liked about this novel, was author Stephen Deas' ability to give his dragons personalities, purpose and character. Yes they are weapon's of mass destruction, jealously guarded and nurtured as part of a greedy empire's war machine, but they are not one-dimensional, and certainly not just there for decoration.

This epic fantasy novel is not a floaty, magical, feel-good romp either, as it explores war, slavery, exploitation and suffering. Yes there is magic, mainly in the form of the compelling character Bellepherous, the alchemist, but it is made clear that magic has its cost, even to its user.

Very human themes of gaining power and influence are explored in this world, and alchemists, with their knowledge of magic and dragons are inevitably much sought after.

The novel has interesting and vivid characters inhabiting its pages, such as Zafir the Dragon Queen, the slave Tuuran and the warrior Berren Crowntaker, living a walking nightmare as he finds himself trapped in someone else's body.

This is a game of tactics, cunning, guile and survival. Do not be fooled by the impressive cover - this is not all about dragons, mayhem and battles, but is in fact a character-driven story with intrigue and sub-plots aplenty. I particularly enjoyed the cranky and crafty Bellepherous, as he attempts to always stay one step ahead, as well as harbouring his terrible and awesome knowledge.

Clearly a lot of thought, imagination and passion went into writing this book. Deas shows the consequences of unleashing such a destructive force of nature, as well as the folly of trying to control this magnificent creature. The action really heats up (no pun intended) in the last 150 pages, with lots of desperate action and drama. If you like dragons and subtle story telling, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fifth book in the series, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you love a book that has fantasy elements, political double dealing and proceeds to give manipulate the reader then you really have to read Stephen's work. The story is dark, it has a cracking pace and when you add into this an author who knows how to manipulate not only the reader but also the characters to showcase both their strengths and their weaknesses all round makes this compulsive reading.

All round, whilst this is the latest outing in a series for me, the book doesn't feel like it's the fifth book in the Memory of Flames series it still feels fresh as well as giving the reader a real journey to think through upon completion. All round, Stephen has a great way to twist your perception as a reader and when you see the way that the dragons aren't just secondary characters but have their own awakening gives you something to thoroughly enjoy. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Queen (Memory of Flames 5)
Dragon Queen (Memory of Flames 5) by Stephen Deas (Paperback - 10 April 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews