Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy cow....a must read!
This book will keep you up until the early hours...forget your essay, give the kids over to your partner, turn the phone off...feign illness because you will not want to be disturbed.

Riley an Mercy are a steaming hot couple. Very interesting because this is the first book to feature a changeling couple and they are from different species. Both are dominant...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Katia WolfSwan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Psy-Changeling" series book 6
For the first time in this futuristic romance series, it is 2 shape shifters that take a lead role; Mercy a sentinel in the DarkRiver leopard pack and Riley, a lieutenant in the SnowDancer wolf pack. With 2 alpha's butting heads for dominance, it's a rough ride ahead for Mercy and Riley especially considering their deep loyalties to their individual packs. Add to the...
Published on 14 Aug. 2011 by Book Addict


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy cow....a must read!, 20 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will keep you up until the early hours...forget your essay, give the kids over to your partner, turn the phone off...feign illness because you will not want to be disturbed.

Riley an Mercy are a steaming hot couple. Very interesting because this is the first book to feature a changeling couple and they are from different species. Both are dominant and both think their species is highly superior to the other. Mercy is wonderful, she's lonely but recognises that her 'cat' would not be attracted to a mate who was less dominant to her but at the same time she doesn't want a mate who has the upper hand. Riley trips all her wires sexually but he's a wolf. She's feisty and independant but unfortunately...Riley doesn't see her as dominant to him and wants to protect her. We have lots of fireworks and misunderstandings here but it's a fun ride, you really will enjoy their 'playtime' and their journey towards HEA.

Lots of other stuff with the ghost, some great scenes with the beautiful Hawke and we revisit Sacha and Lucas which was lovely.

A brilliant addition to a wonderful series. One of the best sci fi/paranormal romances around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sizzling struggle for dominance, 3 July 2009
By 
Ms. A. J. Wardropper (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mercy is a dominant female leopard changeling and a high ranking sentinel in the DarkRiver Pack who has been asigned as liaison to the neighbouring SnowDancer Pack of wolf changelings. Her coutnerpoint on their side is Riley, a steadfast lieutenant who seems to only loose his cool around her.

There's one other thing, Mercy is in heat but her leopard will not accept a mate weaker than it and so Riley sets out to prove that his wolf is dominant, protective and a whole lot more. When the Human Alliance rise up to disrupt order in the fragile NetMind - a psychic plane of connect Psy minds - it is up to Mercy and Riley to stop them but can they cooperate long enough without one trying to assert dominance over the other?

A very hot reader for those who like strong, dominant heros with strong, dominant heroines and the madness that ensures. From the very beginning it is clear that the pairing will not only be explosive but very accuately mirrors their changeling natures. Each scenes fairly sizzles with sexual tension and it has been a while since a book has made me sit up and take notice like I did.

I think my only bad point of this read is the apparent ease with which Mercy seems to accept Riley's dominance. I think the whole struggle could have been a little more real after the first encounter.

That said, brilliant addition to a smoking hot series of books. Fairly a good read on it's own but probably best enjoyed in chronological order as the 6th Changeling-Psy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another sizzling psy-changeling book, 31 July 2009
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nalini Singh had me hooked on her psy-changeling series since the first one, Slave to Sensation. This is the story of Mercy and Riley, which we met in previous books. What is really interesting about the world that Singh created, is the relationships and dynamics between the 3 races, the Psy, the Changelings and Humans. In each book there is a different match or psy and changeling or changeling and human, letting the reader see the prejudices, preconceptions, interal struggles and break throughs of the heroes. This one is changelings, but different breeds, Mercy is a leopard and Riley a wolf. The chemistry between them is sizzling but the barriers as big as if they were from a different race! Singh manages to thrill into another journey into her captivating world. i cant wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Psy-Changeling book 6, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Branded by Fire: The Psy-Changeling Series (Paperback)
I've loved all of the books in the Psy-Changeling series so far but I actually think Branded by Fire might be my new favourite. As much as I enjoy seeing the Psy characters thaw their cold and emotionless shells to experience passion for the first time there was something special about this Changeling / Changeling match up. Mercy and Riley are both dominant characters who know exactly what they want both in and out of the bedroom and I loved seeing them sparring together to see who would come out on top.

Mercy would love to find a mate but it isn't easy for a dominant female alpha to find a man her cat will accept as worthy, none of the unmated guys in her pack are strong enough to take her on so she's resigned to staying single. The only man who really gets her blood pumping is Riley but there is one major problem - he's a wolf which makes him completely unacceptable. The pair are both high up members of their respective packs and they often end up working together when it comes to pack security. Riley makes no secret of the fact that he wants to claim Mercy, he knows just how tough and special she is and he is willing to work at earning her respect. The pair of them have off the charts chemistry, I really do think that this is the hottest book in the series so far, and I love the way they're constantly battling each other for control. They each take it in turn to dominate the other and I loved that push and pull between them.

As well as a fantastic, incredibly hot, romance between Mercy and Riley we also get to catch up with the previous couples in the series and there are some fantastic scenes with some of them that really made my heart melt. I'm also falling a little more in love with Hawk with every new book and I can't wait to read his story! These books really do get better with every instalment and although Mercy and Riley are currently my favourite couple I won't be too surprised if that changes when I read Blaze of Memory. I'm not normally this quick to switch teams but Nalini Singh manages to make me fall in love every single time & I'm definitely not complaining about that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playing with fire, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
C. Manning (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the DarkRiver and SnowDancer packs agreed to become allies, DarkRiver sentinel Mercy Smith and SnowDancer lieutenant Riley Kincaid are forced into the role of liasons. Mercy and Riley spar with each other, but when their relationship becomes personal it turns into a struggle for dominance. When a changeling researcher is kidnapped and a greater conspiracy uncovered, Riley and Mercy are forced to work together to protect their packs and struggle to find a new balance.

This is the sixth book in the incredible Psy-Changeling series (after Slave to Sensation, Visions of Heat, Caressed by Ice, Mine to Possess and Hostage to Pleasure) and is the first book in the series to deal with two changelings. Mercy and Riley have been sniping at each other since the beginning of the series, so it was great to see their dynamic change.

Riley and Mercy spark off each other, creating a relationship where each is infuriated and intrigued. This is the first book in the series where a lack or supression of emotion hasn't played a part in the story; in fact Riley and Mercy seem to have an excess of emotion between them. It was great to see a relationship between two dominant personalities, especially given the difference between wolf and leopard changelings.

The Human Alliance introduced in the previous book take a greater role, and while the Psy as a whole become part of the backstory Councillor Krychek gets more development - which only creates more questions as to who he is and what his motivations are. Also part of the book focuses Sienna and Hawk who take the lead roles in the tenth Psy-Changeling novel (Kiss of Snow) available later this year. Given the story developments here I can't wait to see how that relationship is handled.

All in all, this was another incredible read and I can't wait for Blaze of Memory.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 9/10

Overall: 49/50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Branded by Fire, 5 Aug. 2009
By 
stripeyunited - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series! Nalini Singh has managed to create a fantastic world, with an overarching theme which is fascinating, and then each book provides a brilliant story which supports the overall theme, whilst providing a tense, exciting and sexy story which expands the world of the Psy, Changelings and Humans. This is as much a thriller as a romance - a feat she's managed to pull off with every installment so far in this series.

Riley and Mercy are really vivid characters. Okay, so you know with this series you're going to get tough, dominant, hot guys, but you also know you're going to get feisty, talented, sexy women who are more than capable of handling their men and don't get bullied or intimidated or humiliated. There is always something unique about each character so with each book you're getting to know a whole community of individuals, not some stock sterotypes.

You definitely get a more heart-felt read of this book if you've been following since book 1 (Slave to Sensation) and know some of the background of the two leads. If you haven't I won't spoil the surprise.

The dynamic here has plenty of tension, because of the similarity of the roles Riley and Mercy both occupy in their respective packs, and the importance of their roles emotionally. Read it for the smoking hot relationship that develops between Riley and Mercy. Read it to find out what else is going on between the Psy, Changelings and Humans. Read it to find out what is going on with the couples you've read about in the previous 5 books. Just... read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Branded by Fire, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Branded by Fire: The Psy-Changeling Series (Paperback)
Easily the best in the series so far.... action packed, tension filled and utterly romantic. Riley is every inch the hero of this story and my favourite character after reading this, Mercy has always had a small part in the other books so is really interesting to see how her brain thinks as a female sentinel

Throws something fresh into the mix of couples and completely opens up all the possible relationships in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant writing and great reading, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore this series, very creative and exciting with interesting characters you can't fail to route for. Have read all the preceding books and none have disappointed. Mercy and Riley make a fascinating couple and a different type of pairing to previous story lines that add a completely different dimension to the potential problems and actual tensions. With more to be released over the next months i will be keeping a regular watch to get my next installment of the psy/changeling world. You don't have to read in order but it is worthwhile to help understand the complexities of the psy/changeling world and the inter-relationships between the three main groups (Psy, Changeling, and Human).[ASIN:B004R9Q1SA Hostage to Pleasure (Psy Changelings 5)]]Mine to Possess (Psy Changelings 4)Caressed by Ice (Psy Changelings 3)Slave to Sensation (Psy Changelings 1)Visions of Heat (Psy Changelings 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Branded by fire, 13 Sept. 2009
One can always rely on Nalini Singh to deliver the goods. Other authors haven't been able to keep the same level of consistency she can.
The relationship between Riley and Mercy is smokin' hot wih neither willing to submit. Although i did miss the build up that was always present in her other books. This a minor quibble however and did not take away from my enjoyment of the book.
Plenty of progression in this book with the introduction of the bird changelings and the Human Alliance Soldier Bowen.
Lookig forward to her next release in November, Blaze of Memory featuring Dev Santos. I liked his character in Mine to Possess and i am curious to know how his story plays out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another stunner in a fantastic series, 13 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, I loved this chapter in the psy/changeling series as much (maybe even a little more) than the others. The world that Singh creates is complex, interesting and captivating with lead characters you really care about. I love the way that all the characters from previous novels appear in each book so that their stories continue with each new book.

Singh is an amazing talent and her book are truly worth the time to savour them. My only criticism would be the artwork on the covers which is just cringe-worthy, but the old saying is true, dont judge this book by the cover as inside is pure gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Branded by Fire: The Psy-Changeling Series
Branded by Fire: The Psy-Changeling Series by Nalini Singh (Paperback - 14 April 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews