Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble, Bubble, Three Old Crones are making trouble!
It is thirteen years since Yul fought with Magus at the Quarry and eventually vanquished him. Now, Yul is the Magus and Sylvie is his wife. Stonewylde has flourished with them at the helm and their continuing deep love for one another has sustained the village and made it a happier place and also more profitable. They have also had two daughters, Celandine and Bluebell...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Pyewacket

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From Happy Times to Sad Times
Shadows at Stonewylde is the fourth book in the Stoneywylde series of five books.
When we left Stonewylde in Solstice at Stonewylde (Stonewylde Novels) , the community seemed to be on the verge of a period of prosperity and happiness as Yul became the new Magus and Sylvie joined him as guardians of Stonewylde. Now 13 years have gone by, and Stonewylde is changing,...
Published 21 months ago by Luna Shine


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble, Bubble, Three Old Crones are making trouble!, 5 Aug 2011
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows at Stonewylde (Hardcover)
It is thirteen years since Yul fought with Magus at the Quarry and eventually vanquished him. Now, Yul is the Magus and Sylvie is his wife. Stonewylde has flourished with them at the helm and their continuing deep love for one another has sustained the village and made it a happier place and also more profitable. They have also had two daughters, Celandine and Bluebell but Sylvie had become very ill after giving birth and now Yul is treating her like cut glass and not allowing her to do anything. This is partly where some of the rot starts to set in because the power must be shared equally. It is at Samhain when the real problems begin, for someone or several people have cast a Dark Moon spell to raise a spirit from beyond the veil. An entity is loosed and one that up until nearly the end of the book, only poor Sylvie can see. Her relationship with Yul goes downhill too as he becomes less like himself and more like his Father the late, cruel Magus. He appears to have lost the Green Magic as well!

This book though is more about Yul's youngest sister Leveret who wishes to become like Mother Heggy, the late Wisewoman of Stonewylde. Sadly for Leveret she is relentlessly bullied by her other brutish brothers and their friends and her Mother will not believe anything bad about them. Consequently Leveret finds herself constantly in trouble with Yul, her Mother, her teachers and the only person who can see beyond all this is Clip, Sylvie's Father. He vows to help Leveret on her path to enlightenment but will he be too late?

There are certainly shadows at Stonewylde now with everything going wrong for Yul, Sylvie, Leveret and the village in general and so far, everything going right for..........well, unless you've read the book it would be a huge spoiler.

I am a solitary Witch myself and although Witchcraft is never actually mentioned by name in these books, the fact the all the main Sabbats and Esbats are celebrated denotes to me that Stonewylde is in fact a colony of Witches/Pagans. I found this book not only a superb read, (white knuckle reading at times) but it is accurate in its portrayal of what I personally would call Witchcraft. This novel will leave you gasping at the end and bursting for the next one to be published. A truly excellent book and one that I will read again and again. It was certainly worth waiting for that's for sure.

I also liked the fact that there is no mention of 'the threefold law' i.e. do what thou wilt but harm ye none' as this is Neo-Pagan fancy. Mother Heggy and the old Crones like Vetchling celebrate Dark Moons which are usually devoted to spellcasting whether for good or evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From Happy Times to Sad Times, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shadows at Stonewylde is the fourth book in the Stoneywylde series of five books.
When we left Stonewylde in Solstice at Stonewylde (Stonewylde Novels) , the community seemed to be on the verge of a period of prosperity and happiness as Yul became the new Magus and Sylvie joined him as guardians of Stonewylde. Now 13 years have gone by, and Stonewylde is changing, and not for the better. It hasn't quite given in to the Outside World and its way of life, but how much longer can it remain self-sufficient and resist the temptation. Furthermore, cracks have started to appear in Yul's and Sylvie's relationship which is having an affect on the whole Stoneywylde community. Discontent begins to brew, cruelty goes unnoticed, and sinister hints of Shadows at Stonewylde start to unfold.

Yul's reign as the Magus of Stonewylde is definitely a much fairer one than the previous Magus, his father. The division which existed between the community in prior years, i.e. Villagers and the Hallfolk, has been eradicated. The Stonewylde rule has become more considerate to its children, giving them more freedom and opportunities.
However, as the story unfolds, it becomes clear that Yul's attitude is changing and his relationship with Sylvie begins to suffer. In addition similarities between Stonewylde's old Magus and Yul begins to appear. As much as he has tried to differentiate himself from the legacy of Magus, Yul is slowly slipping into the very traits that he despised his father for. What is the reason for this?
Yul's treatment of his sister Leveret, (who places a major part in this book), leaves a lot to be desired, also the lack of the trust that the community have in him, bring back disturbing memories of the prior Magus. Leveret is a strong-willed free spirit and confident in her calling in the world. Unfortunately, her resemblance to Yul doesn't stop with her personality, and her suffering at the hands of her two brothers and their psychopathic companion Jay mirrors the trials that Yul faced in the previous novels, history is repeating itself,

I have read all the books in the Stonewylde series; Magus of Stonewylde (Stonewylde: Book 1) (Stonewylde Novels) Moondance of Stonewylde (Stonewylde Novels) and Solstice at Stonewylde (Stonewylde Novels), and find this one the least gripping of the four. I felt it lacked substance a little and tended in parts to waffle somewhat, leaving me wanting to skip parts several times throughout the book. I was slightly disappointed in it, but having said that, it hasn't stopped me from buying the final book in this series, Shaman of Stonewylde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Stonewylde Effect' from Shadows at Stonewylde.....prepare for a riverting, rollercoaster ride!, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Shadows at Stonewylde (Hardcover)
The wait is finally over.....the fourth book in the Stonewylde series by Kit Berry is here.

Shadows at Stonewylde picks up some 13 years after the climatic events at the end of Solstice at Stonewylde when young Yul, our bruised and much abused 'hero' defeated the charismatic but wicked Magus of Stonewylde....whom he had discovered was actually his father. As Yul embraced his equally abused and traumatised young sweetheart Sylvie, it seemed as though they and Stonewylde itself, were heading towards a brighter and happier future.

Well, a lot can happen in 13 years.........Shadows re-introduces many of the characters from the earlier books, seeing them grow and move forward in their lives. The author introduces new and 'interesting' characters and also adds significant depth and layers to some who were not 'main' characters then, especially those who were youngsters, effectively creating 'Stonewylde - The Next Generation' ;-). From the very first couple of pages, it becomes apparent that the bright horizon that beckoned at the end of Solstice may not have materialised. As you fall further into the pages, you become aware that at Stonewylde the shadows may not be empty, the past may yet have a part to play in the present and echoes from that past may yet take hold of the future.

I finished Shadows late last night: like Claire who has also written a (fantastic) review I just couldn't resist reading it the whole way through, having got it yesterday. As I closed the book I couldn't believe that Kit had done it to us again.........the wait for book 5, the final one in the series is going to be even more 'challenging' this time than it was between Solstice and Shadows! At the end of Solstice there was the promise of a happier times ahead for characters such as Yul, Sylvie, Miranda and even Clip however, the end of Shadows leaves the reader desperate to know what happens next...... All I can safely say, without spoiling it for anyone who hasn't yet read it, is that although I expected to enjoy and adore this book, I wasn't prepared for just how much it would affect me....at times I was yelling 'no!!!' at various characters as the story unfolded! The descriptions of the things the 'main' character Leveret experiences are compelling but sometimes not easy to read, however towards the end, as she realises what she must do, I was amazed yet again at the sheer brilliance of Kit's words: when you get to pages 415 - 417 you'll see what I mean...... I found this to be beautiful and powerful - it stirred my emotions more than I can adequately explain.

I admit that I am unashamedly a Stonewylde 'groupie', I adore Kit Berry's books and indeed the lady herself: Kit is one of life's lovely people. That aside, and without any bias (!) I find that Kit's writing style lifts the reader up into her imagination, transporting you to Stonewylde in a manner that makes you slip into the pages so that you wander between the words, feeling like a bystander rather than a reader. Kit has created a fictitious place but once you submit to the 'Stonewylde Effect' you can close your eyes and imagine untold aspects of the place for yourself. For me that is the true genius of Kit's writing, in that her style allows the reader to see and imagine things that she HASN'T written into the story line.......so for each reader, her books become both a collective and yet also an intensely personal experience.

Would I recommend this book to someone else? In a heartbeat - but if that person had already read Magus, Moondance and Solstice I wouldn't need to because they would already have it on pre-order!

Congratulations and heartfelt thank to Kit....Shadows has been well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stoneywilde (Dark and Light), 8 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. Sangita Squires (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love whole series, and enjoyed the few moments of meeting Kit. Though harrowing in places, and hope that Love and Expanded consciousness for good will finally transform, or at least for extended period, the whole community, to balance and harmony, with Love and Plenty for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fourth book of the series, 16 Aug 2013
By 
S. Bailey (Leicester, Leicestershire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fourth book of the series, as un put downable as the previous three!
Kit Berry can spin a tale like no other and I look forward to reading the 5th and final book of the series.
These books ought to be made into a T.V series and Films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leveret's Story, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably the darkest of the Stonewylde novels and certainly the most uncomfortable in terms of the unremmiting persecution suffered by the main character. No, not Yul, but the remarkable Leveret. We are taken on Leveret's initiation into the Shamanic world, her destiny, but not without the accompanying bullying (understatement) of her despicable brothers, Sweyn & Gefrin, and the loathsome Jay. Yul & Sweyn are of course also central to the story but, again, their relationship is floundering in the storm clouds descending over the Stonewylde idyll...especially one of the eponymous "Shadows" of the book's title, guess who??? The main difference between this and the previous novels is that I don't think this stands alone, you will need to have read the preceding trio I feel, whilst the ending...talk about a cliff-hanger! I loved it. And Leveret is definitely my favourite character in the series. Highly recommended though, if you haven't already, read the first 3 books first. Also, check out the wonderful web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paganesque fiction!, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Tania Poole "Merry Jackdaw" (Ballarat, VIC Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows at Stonewylde (Hardcover)
Kit writes very well. So well that I find myself getting angry at the villains and sad and happy for the heroes and heroines. This book brought me to tears and I could not put it down. For several hours. That was how well it was written - really grabs your empathy! Looking forward to reading part 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows gather at Stonewydle, 24 Sep 2012
How do you follow a trilogy, complete in itself that ended with most of the story tied up? Well Kit Berry has done it. In the first three books she had the advantage of a powerful villain and a strong hero but in the fourth book it is much more subtle. There is an enemy but you can't see him clearly for much of the book. The hero has grown up and we find he's got feet of clay. The good are less good and the enemies are clever and less obviously bad but you can feel dark shadows gathering. She pulled off the most difficult thing of all, plunging us back into the story 13 years later and making us see our favourite characters warts and all. Very satisfying and left me hungry for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shadows, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows at Stonewylde (Hardcover)
Not so good as past books in series but as titled Shadows it's about right.
Here's hoping that the next book will be back to the old style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pull of Stonewylde continues. . ., 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows at Stonewylde (Hardcover)
It's been a long wait for the fourth installment of the Stonewylde series and much speculation was rife about how the series would continue after the events of Solstice at Stonewylde. Luckily, Kit Berry has crafted a spellbinding, convincing and darkly eerie novel that reunites us with all the characters we love and some new ones.

There's definitely a darker tone to this text; I love Leveret as a character however she and her new friend Magpie are subject to some awful, soul wrenching punishments and it's hard as a reader not to be outraged and sad on their behalf. The atmosphere certainly gets under your skin and it does feel as though you should be looking behind your own shoulder at times. The glimpses of someone listening behind a stone or a knowing glance between characters promises of troubling times to come and keeps the suspense going throughout and into the final novel. Having said that, new scenes such as the representation of Imbolc at the moment at the well head spring expand the Stonewylde landscape beautifully.

Returning to Stonewylde feels like returning to a well known place of refuge and though some may shirk away from what has happened to Stonewylde in this novel, I found it intriguing and exciting and I wait with baited breath for Shaman at Stonewylde to see how all the threads of Kit Berry's masterful web will be spun together. Magical and marvellous!

Rose )O(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows at Stonewylde
Shadows at Stonewylde by Kit Berry (Hardcover - 4 Aug 2011)
Used & New from: 0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews