Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its authors like Ben that make Fantasy worth reading
Review:
I seem to be using the Line "Best book so far" in a few reviews recently, and when writing this review stopped to consider why, It didn't take long. Why would the latest book not be the best yet. Like all jobs you improve your skill with each year. With the job or writing I think that more and more with authors this is the case. There are very few authors...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Much the same as the earlier books in the series - a fun read, but didn't set my world alight
If you've read the previous books in this series, then you'll know broadly what to expect - a police procedural spiced up with magic, some Discworld-esque humour, and a loving depiction of the best and the worst aspects of London. All narrated by a likeable, knowledgeable and self-deprecating mixed-race wizard policeman.

I enjoyed both of the first two books,...
Published 2 months ago by Georgiana89


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Another imaginative adventure, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have grown to love this series over the first three books. The characters, particularly Peter and Lesley, are richer and better detailed than in a lot of books of this type. I actually care about what happens to them and i understand their motivations for caring too.
The action is well handled and exciting again, but it is London that once again steals the show, whether it is disused tube stations with raves in, or lovely suburbs with big houses the atmosphere of the city is like another main character.
The central mystery in this book is a little weaker than in previous installments, although it certainly fits into the world nicely and i can see potential for use further down the line, however it didn't really deliver quite enough for me to feel as good as i had about the 1st book.
This is a good read, and definately worth it if you are someone who was impressed by Rivers of London or Moon over Soho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
This is a great series. The central characters are interesting and well developed.and the magical setting is intriguing and, at times, grotesque.

Can't wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Funny and good storyline, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the humour, unusual storyline turned to normal everyday, I've read the first two and look forward to the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
If this series of books isn't dramatized for TV some time soon, I'll eat my hat. It will be a shame when it is dramatized, however, because no mise en scene could do justice to the colour, pace and humour of the book. Above all, it is the narrator's voice which makes the whole crazy ride so hugely enjoyable: witty, dry, cynical and rude as only a half-Nigerian London copper could be, he's a first class companion and a real pick-me-up after a hard day's graft in Realityville. If you like a bit of escapism, it's got it in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book 2, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book. Keep writing Ben. Interested to read what you will think up next.looking forward to hearing about Peter,s next magic foray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent series well worth a read, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying this series which is a combination of police work and alternative magic. Highly recommend and looking forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
Very easy, fun read. I would recommend the entire series if you want to have a ride through modern and ancient london.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books are so compulsive! As a Londoner I adore reading Aaraonvitch' s descriptions of the city, and as a fan of the fantastic I'm thrilled that a writer has made such an amazing array of characters who are all three-dimensional and believable. Keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm happy to have found a series of books I love; it has been a while. Now I can't wait to read the next in the series... Broken Homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange but satisfying, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good pace interesting characters in a well known setting .
The police could use a little magic and the humour in these stories .
Looking forward to starting the next in the seriers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3)
Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) by Ben Aaronovitch (Paperback - 4 Oct 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews