Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its authors like Ben that make Fantasy worth reading
Review:
I seem to be using the Line "Best book so far" in a few reviews recently, and when writing this review stopped to consider why, It didn't take long. Why would the latest book not be the best yet. Like all jobs you improve your skill with each year. With the job or writing I think that more and more with authors this is the case. There are very few authors...
Published on 25 Jun. 2012 by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good PC Grant book, anti-climatic ending
This was another good PC Grant book, what I like about them is they're inventive and never predictable. Moon Over Soho was more exciting , Whispers Under Ground is more about clues and exploration. Personally I found the final chapters of the book a bit of a let down. I thought the book was building up to a big action set piece, it wasn't.

Like the two previous...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness working in Waterstones drove Aaronovitch to this!, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
I seem to spend my free time reading fantasy books these days and there are many places in the UK referenced by authors who want to appeal to an international audience by using some well-known landmarks and pop culture. This is the first time I have read something so authentic it captures the grime and the pulse of London with cool snippets of history & humour thrown in. The language of the characters: Nightingale with his WW public school dialogue, Lesley with her Essex girl lines, Peter with his dual heritage and refusal to be pinholed into any particular mould in spite of his "manor", Sewoll reminiscent of Gene Hunt-esque bluster is, in my opinion, what makes this a particularly home grown series which gets better & better. Dynamic characters, snappy dialogue, plenty of action, in fantasy gilding & a good old-fashioned, who-dunnit centre - this is my best read for in the last 5 years! Bring on the 4th book and a BBC series deal PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic writing - pity about the publishing, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
I have little to add on the subject of the writing that hasn't already been said here - the Rivers of London series is excellently conceived and superbly written, with a very believable narrative voice.

However, my copy of the book was massively let down by the quality of editing. There are so many spelling and punctuation mistakes (with at least one very obvious cut-and-paste error), it looks as if it has never been given the lightest proofread. The most charitable interpretation I can put on it is that the final manuscript was running over deadline and so there was no time to run it past Orion Books's proofreaders. I really hope that 'Whispers Under Ground' sells enough copies to necessitate a second print run, and that this time the publishers run it past a competent copy-editor, because there are actually enough proofing errors to interfere with the reading process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read., 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
I was put onto this series by a friend and was hooked half way down page one. This is the third outing for the magical detective and it is still a very engrossing read. The characters are well developed and play off each other splendidly. This is NOT a British X-Files. That would be an insult. There is a depth to this series that suggests (hopefully) there will be more to come. There is clearly much more to C/I Nightingale than we know. Personally, I think he deserves a book of his own detailing just what did happen in his past and what happened in Germany to cause such a catastrophy to British wizardry.
If you havnt read the two previous books, dont buy this book. Buy the first two books and then buy this one. Or buy them all together. If you like your police work and your sorcery with a smattering of observational humor you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
Another great book by Ben Aaronovitch. I received the first two books in the Peter Grant series as a Secret Santa present and thoroughly enjoyed it - love that it's set in London, the author literally takes you down the streets of London naming well known buildings to the little pub round the corner. A good mystery with a side of comic humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Whispers Underground, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
I love all of the books in this series and can't wait for the next one. Being a Londoner it's quite amazing to read a book set in your own town, set in places you have actually been, or could go to. The characters are brilliantly developed, but as the story is so unpredictable, so are they. Well done Mr Aaranovitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous read, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This and the other bnooks in the PC Grant series are great books especially if you know London as can relate to where they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky crime, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is crime fiction for those who don't necessarily like crime novels. It's quite out of the ordinary and compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, 25 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
The cover of 'WHISPERS UNDERGROUND' caught my eye in our local Library. The description was enticing so off I went home anticipating a jolly good read. From the opening paragraphs I was totally hooked. The writing flowed effortlessly along and I was immersed in a wonderful tale,where the paranormal and magic were blended so convincingly with everyday life. It was just so believable, so good and entertaining.This was one of those 'can't put down' books that leaves you with memorable characters and situations and that satisfied feeling you get with an absorbing, well written book. Highly recommended. I love the Author's style and am off to read his other books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't caught the first two books in this series and you enjoy fun, exciting and novel mystery stories then I strongly suggest you do so. If you have read the previous novels then I think you may just find this one the best of the 3. The characters are growing with every episode and the very lifelike London that is woven around the dastardly plot is a joy to behold. One minute you are smiling and the next genuinely excited as events unfold, not always as you might expect. Although I devoured this in one, admittedly long, day it was somehow over all too quickly and leaves one ready for the next instalment as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on number 4, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) (Paperback)
The third of Ben Aaronovitch's Peter Grant series and it introduces new layers and concepts to his alternate reality. I'll soon need a glossary to keep track of all the weird and wonderful creatures and beings inhabiting this surreal, parallel London. I particularly enjoy the way the peculiar is treated in such a matter of fact way and after a while becomes 'normal'. I look forward to seeing where the plot is heading in the search for the Moriaty type character that has been insidiously weaving him/her/itself into the earlier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3)
Whispers Under Ground (Rivers of London 3) by Ben Aaronovitch (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews