Customer Reviews


400 Reviews
5 star:
 (259)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes, this is wonderful
Wonderful. Literally wonderful, in the sense that it is full of wonders.

At my age (72) it is increasingly hard to find novels that I actually want to read, and even harder to find novels which I don't give up on after perhaps 50 pages. But this one works all right.

Provided, of course, you know what to expect, and like what you are led to expect...
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by Michael Allen

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No, I didn't like this one as much.
The first book in this series, Rivers of London, positively made me sit up and take notice. This second book, not so much. There were many areas which did not satisfy me. This turns out to be a cliffhanger which will obviously be carried forward into a third book. Aaronovitch ended up one aspect of the story but left the remainder open.

Detective Constable...
Published on 18 May 2011 by J. Lesley


‹ Previous | 129 30 3140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attack of the Jazz Vampires, 29 April 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Over Soho (Hardcover)
You can always tell when an author is really enjoying writing because their pleasure and enthusiasm carries over to the reader. As other reviewers have found, this second book in the Peter Grant police officer and trainee wizard series is just as good as the first. Snappy dialogue, authentically evocative London locations, witty prose, big fun. This is undoubtedly the best new urban fantasy/paranormal adventure/ or whatever the heck it's called these days but with an added deftness of touch which makes it stand out from any would be competitors.

Roll on November when the third one is out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They keep getting better, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am really enjoying this series of books and this one didn't disappoint. I find the humour great so relatable and the description of London today so accurate. Can't wait to start the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 24 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Moon Over Soho (Hardcover)
Rivers of London was great fun but, as the first novel in what I hope will be a series, had to spend a lot of time establishing the characters. This time that's all in place and Mr Aaronovitch settles down and allows th plot to develop at its own pace. It's quite a pace. The tone is relaxed, the action is full-on and the locations are spot on. Take an hour one day and trace the action around Soho and the West End; great fun. I just hope the author has saved enough London trivia to feed another few novels. Bring on the TV series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery , book in excellent condition, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Over Soho: 2 (Rivers of London 2) (Paperback)
Prompt delivery, book in excellent condition, would use this seller again. Always difficult to balance the desire to reward writers with purchase of a new copy and the desire to save a tree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read well written book of its type
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read in only one sitting, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just like the first book the Rivers of London I couldn't put this book down. The writing style draws you in. I love this series and can't wait to read book 3. I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more manic magic, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The trainee wizard cop is in all kinds of troublesome situations once more, but nevertheless he manages to survive and overcome. The cliff hanger is Lesley... How, why and what next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the second in a great series from a fantastic author, any Londoners will love it as the research is meticulous and you can imagine yourself in the action as it happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Over Soho: 2 (Rivers of London 2) (Paperback)
As always with Ben Aaronovitch books, an excellent read. An exciting, fun story with good believable characters. The book arrived in excellent condition before the promised date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this series!, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book! And what an ending! Now that I know the characters and am a bit more immersed in this world I am really loving this series. Really excited about the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon Over Soho: 2 (Rivers of London 2)
Moon Over Soho: 2 (Rivers of London 2) by Ben Aaronovitch (Paperback - 13 Oct. 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews