Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stark and vivid
The third release by Jaine and the concluding part to the set up of the forthcoming fall for the civilisation within. As usual with Jaine's writing it's a lot of fun, the characters wonderfully vivid and the story arc delves into a deeper understanding of a universe that few knew much about at the beginning of the first title.

Add to this stark prose, great...
Published on 19 Aug. 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Whilst I enjoyed the book it felt a little rushed
Whilst I enjoyed the book it felt a little rushed, as if in an effort to bring the series to a conclusion.
Published 8 months ago by D. Porter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stark and vivid, 19 Aug. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The third release by Jaine and the concluding part to the set up of the forthcoming fall for the civilisation within. As usual with Jaine's writing it's a lot of fun, the characters wonderfully vivid and the story arc delves into a deeper understanding of a universe that few knew much about at the beginning of the first title.

Add to this stark prose, great descriptive which when backed with a conspiracy of epic proportions alongside a decent overall strategy and it's a title that really gets you ready for a huge war of atrocity as the few go against the many in a no quarter asked for war. Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The series continues to improve, but has yet to reach its full potential., 23 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bringer of Light (Hidden Empire) (Paperback)
Jarek, Taro and Nual's attempts to expose and defeat the machinations of the alien Sidhe continue. In alliance with the Minister of Vellern, their latest mission takes them to Aleph, the refuge of the male Sidhe after the devastating war with the females. However, the trio's assumption that the enemy of their enemy is their friend is soon shown to be hopelessly naive. Meanwhile, on the primitive world of Serenein, other allies against the Sidhe find their attempts to keep their people safe may soon be tested...

Bringer of Light is the fourth novel in Jaine Fenn's Hidden Empire sequence, which currently stands at five books. The series so far as been varied in quality, with great ideas often battling against so-so prose and a mixed bag of characterisation (our protagonists are well-drawn, but everyone else is sketchier). The previous book ended with a left-field revelation about a threat to humanity that dwarfs the Sidhe in magnitude that was fairly horrific and executed with deft skill. Whilst that threat is not much expanded upon in Bringer of Light, the upturn in writing quality that delivered it does at least continue through this volume.

The story is bigger this time, with Fenn juggling multiple storylines featuring established characters (Jarek, Taro and Nual visiting Aleph, Urien and Kerin on Serenein) and some newcomers as well. Ifanna's storyline on Serenein is an interesting addition to the mix, less of an antagonist than a well-meaning person drawn into cross-purposes against Kerin's goals (and from Ifanna's POV, fully understandably). All of this results in a somewhat longer book than the previous ones in the series (though at 400 pages it's hardly Peter F. Hamilton territory) and Fenn does a good job of handling the larger scope.

The previous problems in the series do remain, if less prevalently. There's too much use of modern colloquialism in the language and dialogue, which doesn't really sell the idea of the story being set seven millennia hence. There's a certain casual lightness to the story that makes it feel slight, despite some of the ideas and concepts being presented being fairly dark and disturbing. However, these issues are reduced in stature. In particular, Ifanna's story has some fairly unexpected twists and a disturbing - and somewhat tragic - ending that is a step above what we've seen previously. There's also an excellent twist at the end of the book that leaves things in a very interesting place for the following volumes.

Bringer of Light (***½) is a stronger volume in the series than what has come before, continuing to show the author's talents and confidence growing. That said, the feeling remains that the series has yet to hit its full potential. The novel is available now in the UK and USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars with Space Elves, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
cybermage.se (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hope Jaine forgives me for that headline. I mean that in the best way possible.

Reading an ongoing book series is a change of pace from everyday life. One year between episodes would not go down well on television (my other interest) but it does when reading. You still want it earlier but the gap between books in a series let you re-read the ones you already have and good books are like really good friends, they are always there when you need them so I often do.

The Hidden Empire series by Jaine Fenn is one such. Principles of Angels, Consorts of Heaven and Guardians of Heaven has been good company while waiting on Bringer of Light. The two first are standalone to establish the characters and the third brings them together.

The series is basically about the fight against the Sidhe (the space-elf) females that rule the galaxy from behind the scenes. They once upon a time enslaved humanity but were killed off with the help of the male elves. Or at least that is what the galaxy at large believes.

Now Jarek seeks to bring the hidden world Serenein back into galactic civilization again. But he needs the help of the secretive Sidhe males to make that happen but they have their own agenda as he soon discovers. He is accompanied by the two assassins Taro and Nual, the later a rebel Sidhe female, the ancient enemies of the Sidhe males which complicate things.

But meanwhile things on Serenein heats up, the place is the Sidhes' source of jump kernels and they won't give that up without a fight. When not fighting off Sidhe incursions Kerin impersonates the old Sidhe ruler to keep the priesthood from getting suspicious.

It feels good to rekindle my friendship with these great characters. Jaine writes characters that are well-developed and easy to love. Especially Kerin and Taro step forward in this novel. Did I mention that Nual and Taro is in love and Jarek is married to Kerin? Love makes things more interesting.

This is still something of a journey of discovery (a thing I like). We learn more about the Sidhe males. Talk about learning making you want to learn more. Wonder what kind of evolution lead to their behavior, especially their reaction to females of the specie. Such a screwed up situation must have been developed at a RND department. That is my guess - where I work? In RND but we never screw up that much.

Jaine Fenn has done it again. Bringer of Light is an action adventure in the tradition Star Wars where a small group strikes back at the mighty Empire. Who is Leia and who is Luke? That is the question? There are no light-sabers but a lot of mental powers. Jokes aside you should read the other books in the series before this one it is not as standalone as the first two. Another warm recommendation from me. The next book Queen of Nowhere will be out next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fight against the Sidhe - Part 4, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringer of Light (Hidden Empire) (Paperback)
I've read all of the current series of Jaines books about the fight against the female Sidhe on the Kindle. This one has probably been the best laid out and I must say an enjoyable read. Other reviewers have given good descriptions of the book so I won't bother with that but I'm now looking forward to the next in the series "Queen of Nowhere". Though I note it isn't being released until just after Christmas which seems like a barmy idea from the publishers Gollancz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringer of Light (Hidden Empire) (Paperback)
I have just discovered Jaine, and I am most impressed a fast paced story with excellent chracters!

I would recommend this to people who like Si-Fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Whilst I enjoyed the book it felt a little rushed, 17 July 2014
By 
D. Porter "wanderer" (Cleveland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I enjoyed the book it felt a little rushed, as if in an effort to bring the series to a conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bringer of Light (Hidden Empire)
Bringer of Light (Hidden Empire) by Jaine Fenn (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£9.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews