Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series
I thought Angel's Blood was great, but Archangel's Kiss was even better. I think you must read these in order, but trust me, it will be worth it.

Both books have wonderful, descriptive writing with great characterizations and very original storylines. Honestly, if you've ever imagined or wanted to know what an angel's wings look like (and practically feel...
Published on 2 Mar 2010 by Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable escapism
An easy read, good build up to the main event however it's all over a bit too quickly. Great characters though so I'll definitely read the next one.
Published 6 months ago by jeannie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 2 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series (Paperback)
I thought Angel's Blood was great, but Archangel's Kiss was even better. I think you must read these in order, but trust me, it will be worth it.

Both books have wonderful, descriptive writing with great characterizations and very original storylines. Honestly, if you've ever imagined or wanted to know what an angel's wings look like (and practically feel like), Nalini Singh has written it in stunning detail. She's also not squeamish about writing blood and guts details, either, so be prepared. White-winged, golden-haloed, good guy angels these are not.

Basically--and I won't give away the plot--the story picks up a year after Angel's Blood. Elena Deveraux, Guild Hunter extraordinaire, has just come out of a year-long coma. She and Archangel Raphael are lovers, and the way they grew into their new relationship, and into a deeper love after their rocky start in Angel's Blood, was really well-written. He's nearly all-powerful and definitely totally dangerous, but Elena can hold her own as well, even if half the time Raphael scares the pants off her. There's more revealed about the Angel hierarchy, and we learn more about the Seven, Raphael's elite guard.

Great read and too good to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guild Hunter, Book Two. Imprisonment has never been so seductive!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Guild Hunter Elena Deveraux wakes up from a year-long coma to find herself changed. She is now an angel with wings the colors of midnight and dawn (black and dark blue). She currently resides at the Refuge, a place of sanctuary, unknown about by humans. Elena's fragile body is still weak. She has not learned how to fight or balance with her new wings, much less fly. Her beloved, the gorgeous and dangerous archangel Raphael, is used to always being in control. But Elena has never done will with authority and still refuses to allow Raphael total control of her actions. In fact, anytime Raphael enters her mind without permission, Elena pushes him out - which should have been impossible for anyone to do.

As they begin to learn about each other, an invitation to a ball in Elena's honor is received. The event is to be held in Beijing, by the archangel Zhou Lijuan. To refuse would be a sign of weakness. Elena begins rigorous training to prepare for any surprises that may be awaiting her arrival. Lijuan is evolving and now has the power to bring the dead back from the grave. These pets are called the Reborn and are hardly more than gruesome reanimated corpses.

As Elena prepares, the Refuge is being shaken to its very core. An angel among them has targeted Elena, even going so far as to break the supreme law which forbids the abuse of a child. Elena cannot go anywhere alone and begins to feel as though she is in a silk prison. Raphael and his Seven protect Elena as she uses her hunter-born abilities to track a deadly and cunning foe.

***** FIVE STARS! If I am asked whether the Guild Hunter series is worth reading my answer is always, "Posi-lutely!" This is a stunning world filled with dark and beautiful characters that have already enslaved a huge fan base. Vivid and compelling, this exciting story will quickly grab your imagination and never let so. Imprisonment has never been so seductive! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing Guild Huntress book, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first Guild novel but found a few parts difficult to understand and to connect. The second book in the series, explains all that much better and offers a deeper insight into the phsyche of Raphael, the Archangel. As his relationship with Elena develops and deepens (and i loved the gradual intimacy growing, it was so realistic compared to many paranormal romances where it is forced and too quick), the dangers and enemies around them grow in numbers. Elena needs to learn to move in a completely different world and she makes friends and enemies with the same speed. Love Raphael. Love Illium. I loved the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ!, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. J. Van Der Spek "Phoenix" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series (Paperback)
Archangel's Kiss is the perfect follow up to Angel's Blood.
Despite the fact it's about Angel's it's not a soppy damsel in distress plot. Elena can stand up against Raphael despite being aware of how powerful and dangerous he is but can also turn to him for support. Both learning to be partners, though it's a little rough for Raphael not just take over and fix everything. The sparks between these two is explosive and the passion hot.
I can't wait for the next book in the Guild Hunter series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisty Turny fun!, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Oldham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is the second book in what is fast becoming my favourite series.

Elena is now an angel- the first to be Made and not born in living memory. (that's a lot of memory for angels!) but she is very weak still and there are enemies around every corner that would kill her to further their angelic careers or just to get at Raphael.

Luckily Raphael has her back and had his Seven elite warriors training her to have a chance at defending herself. Plus Raphael is ready to tear apart anyone that threatens her.

A lot of the book is taken up with the development of the relationship between Elena and Raphael and Elena's slow but steady recovery from her transformation.

There are still plenty of other plot developments and twists to keep us gripped though. Trying to figure out who is behind the violent attacks on vampires and angels and trying to figure out what Lijuan is up to kept me guessing. And credit to Ms Singh I was surprised on both counts!

I can't wait to read the next one and I hope Elena grows stronger so we get to see a lot more action from angel Elena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down - excellent read, 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series (Paperback)
The second in the series, this book makes for a fabulous read. Its got vampires, angels, hunters and the odd rare human in it too! Great sex but it doesn't in any way take over the book, an excellent plot, strong females, fabulous male lead. It's a great fantasy novel. The only downside it that it is possibly a touch too gory for those who might prefer a more romantic read as some of the horror parts of the book are pretty nasty with torture, blood and stuff and it doesn't actually mention this in the write up. If you have read the first one though you will know what you are letting yourself in for!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very very enjoyable, 15 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series (Paperback)
I really enjoyed Angels Blood and bought this straight after finishing the first one.

I absolutely loved it. Again, Elena and Raphael just sizzle. The only downside to these books is there isn't quite enough action and the sex scenes can be a bit too graphic! I loved the two main characters and seeing their relationship develop. I'm looking forward to the next installment and will definitley pick up both these books again for another read in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series (Paperback)
marvellous series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 19 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nalini Singh 's books are so well written and unique. She is one if my favourite authors. This series continues to hold my complete attention and I urge anyone to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New way of looking at angels and vampires, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good light hearted read that has a different spin to the Angel vampire stories... well keep you interested, if u don't take it to seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series
Archangel's Kiss: The Guild Hunter Series by Nalini Singh (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews