Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase
H.G. Wells is best known for his novels but he worked out many of his most original ideas, and ways of telling a story, in his short fiction. This magnificent collection brings together his entire short story output plus the novellas from "Tales of Space and Time" plus his introduction to "The Country of the Blind" - one of the most important statements on the short...
Published on 31 May 2011 by P. A. March-Russell

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb content - poor production and overpriced
I received this book as a present last week (after dropping heavy hints). The book is certainly a good way of exploring Wells' entire short story output (well worth anyone's time!) but I am appalled at the quality of the physical product. How can the publisher justify a 25.00 price tag for such a poorly made hardback? The gold-effect designs on the covers are nice but...
Published 19 months ago by Bear


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase, 31 May 2011
By 
P. A. March-Russell (Canterbury, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
H.G. Wells is best known for his novels but he worked out many of his most original ideas, and ways of telling a story, in his short fiction. This magnificent collection brings together his entire short story output plus the novellas from "Tales of Space and Time" plus his introduction to "The Country of the Blind" - one of the most important statements on the short story. Most readers will probably turn first to the science fiction but they will also find ghost stories like 'The Red Room' and social comedies like 'The Jilting of Jane', all of which are testimony to Wells' astonishing diversity. Expensive, but a must buy for anybody intersted in science fiction, the short story or Edwardian literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories that stand the test of time, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
My Father received this book as a school prize back in the 1930's. I really enjoyed the stories and bought my own copy and now have bought a copy for my nephew, which I am sure he will enjoy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
Great Writer. Varied stories. Hours of pleasure. I have read all of the short stories now and, in a couple of years time, I shall probably read them all again. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb content - poor production and overpriced, 14 Sep 2012
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
I received this book as a present last week (after dropping heavy hints). The book is certainly a good way of exploring Wells' entire short story output (well worth anyone's time!) but I am appalled at the quality of the physical product. How can the publisher justify a 25.00 price tag for such a poorly made hardback? The gold-effect designs on the covers are nice but the binding itself is awful - thin boards covered with wafer-thin material that bubbles up if you handle it with slightly damp hands. The spine is flimsy and is easily creased if you try to open the book flat. Basically, this is a paperback text-block in an apology for a hardback binding.

If the book was priced at 15 it would still be poor value for money compared with similar products e.g. Everyman hardbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
Bought it because I remembered a story I read 40 yrs ago and wanted to read again. Just as good and all the others equally haunting and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
Great book and amazing value, ok its not the same quality as an antique hard back but its not the same price either! Really enjoyable would recommend to anyone to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Headline H G Wells., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Story Omnibus (Hardcover)
More or less how I remember it from 45 years ago. One two, three four five six seven eight nine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

Complete Short Story Omnibus
Complete Short Story Omnibus by H.G. Wells (Hardcover - 21 April 2011)
18.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews