Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original
The second book in the series by Gavin Smith that continues his heavy military theme in a bleak Sci-Fi future. As with the first it's cleverly devised, the plot has an incredible pace and the character is attractive enough to perhaps be the person to guide the reader through alive to the final pages. Add to this some clever descriptiveness, cracking dialogue alongside...
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars War in heaven
Sorry I just rather lost interest and haven't even managed to finish the book yet. The characters are a bit too unbelievable and for me the authors just made the mistake of developing future humans in ways they are unlikely to go. everyone becomes some sort of superhero who has designed their body to inflict maximum violence. This makes it all just too unbelievable and...
Published 17 months ago by Malcolm Roy Ash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: War in Heaven (Paperback)
The second book in the series by Gavin Smith that continues his heavy military theme in a bleak Sci-Fi future. As with the first it's cleverly devised, the plot has an incredible pace and the character is attractive enough to perhaps be the person to guide the reader through alive to the final pages. Add to this some clever descriptiveness, cracking dialogue alongside some clever twists and it's a story that was satisfying as well as hitting that need to give you a real adventure.

Finally add to this a better product than the original for me (as most of the work for the set-up has already been done) and it was a title that I enjoyed reading. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dystopian Roller Coaster, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War in Heaven (Hardcover)
War in Heaven is the second book of a trilogy by Gavin Smith. The first of which is Veteran. If you liked the first book you will love the second. It carries on from where the first left off, although for those people who start mid sequence there is a few pages of catch up that allow the new reader to get the gist of what happened previously. It is also a useful recap for those of us who read the first volume a while ago and want to pick up on the finer plot points.

If you found the first book dark, which I did, then the second book is even darker. It is leavened by moments of humour, but even they are not for the faint hearted. The book is powerful, visceral and never lets up for an instant. It is like being on a massive, dystopian roller coaster, mostly where things go from bad to worst for the protagonist and his team.

It is brutal, bloody and heavy on the violence. There is no let up of pace and you really are committed for the whole thing. My husband read it in a weekend and loved it. I read it afterwards and thanks to the interference of children took longer which made things more disjointed for me. I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had been able to read it as a whole like he did, as it is something you really need to immerse yourself in, the world that Smith creates is so total and very demanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Paperback)
I read Gavin Smith's "Veteran" last week and gave it four stars. Since I already had "War in Heaven" in my library and was still well into the story I decided to start with it immediately. "War in Heaven" is a large trade pocket of more than 500 pages. I thought it would take a while to get through it but I was wrong.

"Veteran" was good but "War in Heaven" is so much better. We get to know the main characters a lot better and being already filled up with "Veteran" there is no time lost in getting into the flow of the story. Gavin Smith has managed to write a fantastic action packed space opera of a truly magnificent format and you just can't relax and leave the book. The Bad guys are truly bad, the heroes are somewhat better but above all people that feel real. The Technology is fantastic without making you feel unable to understand how it worked. The Story line flows perfectly and there are enough surprises to make you jump again and again. I truly loved how he made the future Russian Spetsnaz forces appear.

Of course you wonder why they all refused to use nuclear weapons (they were "bad"?) even if the destiny of the Earth were at play. But ok, lets accept that as a fact. You also wonder why the hero and his girl-friend are driven by a moral code from 50 years ago instead of a future one but I found it charming.

Given the end these two books are probably not going to be followed by another one with the same main characters but I am not worried that Mr Gavin will run out of ideas to build his next book around.

If you like science-fiction and space opera do not miss these two books. I will not miss his future works. Amazon UK already lists "The Age of Scorpio" as coming out in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Edged, 25 Mar 2013
By 
paul crowe "smoggy paul" (sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this, even if the hard-edged violence isn't something I normally go for. By itself this would have been cause for me to drop this like a stone, but the sharp, intelligent writing carries it through well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Builds brilliantly on Veteran, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Mr Smith really finds his feet with this novel. Any of the rough edges that may have been found in the first book have been filed smooth for this one, with a flowing narrative that pulls you through a twisting story that keeps you guessing all the way through to the end.

The world and characters from Veteran are fleshed out in even more detail in the refined way the extra space you have in a sequel allows.

A fantastic page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Veteran) (Paperback)
From start to end I was captured by Gavin Smith War in Heaven, the plot has twists and turns and full of explosive action and unpredictable. Briliantly written and I highly recommend. I bought this book along with the Veteran which should be read first. I will be buying more books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Story is better than action scenes, 24 Jan 2013
By 
S. Maller "(Steve)" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
I liked the story - distopian future, cyber-punk-style underdogs battling against a messy background. War and space and stuff. But I found the action scenes were just an interlude to get through. They might work better in a film, less so in a book Perhaps the author should have more confidence in his characters and plot and use the violence more sparingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gun Toting Sci-fi at its Best, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
War in Heaven is Gavin G. Smiths second offering and undoubtedly a better written book than its predecessor. Its the same ultra violent dystopic sci-fi but the prose flows better, the characterisations are (mostly) deeper and more sympathetic and the quieter sequences in the books, when plasma, laa laas, HEAP grenades and railguns aren't flying, are handled with more aplomb, avoiding the over long digression and slightly cliqued moralising that I thought did have a tendency to intrude in Veteran.

The action sequences (of which there are many) are deftly handled and bombastic and smattered with some genuinely unique set pieces. The interactions between the characters take on more importance too as their goals and motivations compel them into actions that they (and we) really don't like.

Of course its not perfect. Despite being action heavy the plot is actually at its heart quite complex and though generally well handled there are one or two notable "Deus Ex Machina" moments. Solutions to seemingly intractable problems literally delivering themselves out of nowhere is never a good thing but the book builds up so much goodwill as you read it you'll probably, like I was, be prepared to forgive them.

And the twist at the end...Well, I've never been one for trying to second guess books as I read them but I never saw it coming and was genuinely surprised and more than a little saddened by the final reveal.

Lets be honest, if you read and enjoyed Veteran there's no way you're not going to read this. If you haven't read Veteran then you really should because while Veteran was an entertaining if flawed debut this is a genuinely good sci-fi novel and deserves to be read.

Fingers crossed Gavin Smith hones his style even more for his next outing. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel better than the original, 13 Nov 2012
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
I had really enjoyed Veteran and was surprised that this was even better. The fact we'd beaten another species meant that I was not sure how he would follow this up - in fact the war between humans and their manufactured gods was conducted at break neck speed with a cracking climax that was well worth waiting for. Jakob was a great character as the nominal leader and for a seriously dark view on the future of humans I have to admit to laughing out loud at some of the interchanges between and Mudge. The action scenes are really violent but are integral to the action and are just part of a very violent story
Recommended as action sci- fi story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War in Heaven, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War in Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely stonking sequel to one of the best bits of SciFi I have read for quite some time, reminiscent of John Scalzi's "Old Man's War" series. Lots of action (of course), with a fair dose of dialogue to keep the twisted plot lines flowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War in Heaven (Veteran)
War in Heaven (Veteran) by Gavin G. Smith (Paperback - 14 Jun 2012)
8.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews