Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars373
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2014
Bought this book after recommendation from a friend. absolutely brilliant story and character development. Much better than the current film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I don't think you'd realise the era. Just as good now, stands out in the description of desperate isolation.
Miles better than the film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Great book, easy to read and I can understand why the author wasn't happy with certain elements of the three films made based on the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Fantastic item, great super fast delivery and the packaging was top notch as well, thanks for great service, will definitely use again....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2008
Justifying killing - or trying to - is a more pointed argument when taken in the individual; governments cloud the simplicity with rhetoric, propoganda and patriotism; but, keep the numbers down and the subject is raw and demanding attention.

Matheson strips the numbers down to one in this book, and one has no problem in coming down on the side of Robert Neville - the book's lead, and almost only, character.

One feels his panic when he discovers his watch has stopped and cannot get back to his safe-house before sun-down; and when he smacks his car into a crowd of Vampires like a macarbre game of skittles, one feels his elation.

Matheson recruits the reader from the outset and the reader becomes an observer, living one dimension down from the physical earthbound, able to see and hear all he does - even hear his thoughts - yet is unable to intervene or advise, and that gives the work more power. It frustrates the reader; but Matheson, after sucking the reader in, turns the tables on Neville and strips him of all the moral altitude he has taken for himself, and plunges him into the role of bad guy, of the hated terrorist, and makes him an outsider, a pariah.

Matheson has no mercy for his protaganist.

I have read short stories of greater length than this novel, and the prose is thin, which is not to say it is bad, but it deals only with the here and now of the story; back-story and poetic flourishes in the prose are kept to a minimum as far as the former go, and are non-existent for the latter. It makes for a story where 99 per cent is action in the present tense, and the book could be read in one sitting, I think.

This is considered a classic of genre fiction, and rightly so.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
I really enjoyed this book. I haven't seen the film and don't really want to as I am sure it does not live up to the book. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
One of my all time favourite books, if not my very favourite! Richard Matheson has created a masterpiece that I just couldn't put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
I am Very pleased with My Order. Top of the range item meets all my requirments.
Pronpt delivery, Arrived on time Value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Well written, creepy and a great ending. Don't be put off if you think the Will Smith film was bad. They're entirely different stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Given as a present to my wife, who really enjoyed this book. The film version is different to the book, but my wife still enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse