Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynsay scores big with another Argeneau tale!
Bastien Argeneau is a vamp in the grumpy mold of his brother Lucern (Single White Vampire), and his lovely curmudgeon ways was going to be put to the test, with the upcoming wedding of Lucern and Kate. Too lovey-dovey wrapped up with themselves, small details of the upcoming ceremony are slipping by them. Like the arrival of Kate's cousin, Terri.
Bastien has been...
Published on 1 July 2004 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly ponderous
Bastien Argeneau is getting very tired of his brother's wedding preparations. Much as he loves Lucien and his bride-to-be, Kate, their demands are really intruding on his calm, ordered life. Now things are about to get worse: Kate's cousin Terri is flying in from England for the wedding and she needs somewhere to stay. In Bastien's penthouse.
So not only does he have...
Published on 18 Jun 2005 by Dr W. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynsay scores big with another Argeneau tale!, 1 July 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Bastien Argeneau is a vamp in the grumpy mold of his brother Lucern (Single White Vampire), and his lovely curmudgeon ways was going to be put to the test, with the upcoming wedding of Lucern and Kate. Too lovey-dovey wrapped up with themselves, small details of the upcoming ceremony are slipping by them. Like the arrival of Kate's cousin, Terri.
Bastien has been living in the penthouse over the Argeneau offices, quite happily alone since Lucern had moved in with Kate. But that solitude is about to come crashing down around him as the wedding approaches. First Kate pressed Bastien into picking up Terri at the airport, since the loving couple had other business. Bastien has no problem with that request. It's the second favor Kate asks of her brother-in-law to be that puts the crimp into his quiet lifestyle - she needs him to put Terri up while she is in town for the wedding. Seeing no real problem putting her up for a day or two, Bastien agrees. Only after he commits to the arrangement, Kate informs him that Terri is coming earlier than the rest of her family - two weeks earlier! But it's too late to make other arrangements, because Terri is due at the airport within minutes!
Bastien has viewed the pending nuptials with mixed emotions: happiness for Lucern, disgust at their frequent public displays of being besotted and a wee dram of envy. Bastien is not about to voice this aloud fearing mommy dearest Marguerite will sharpen her matchmaking efforts. She has always insisted her children need to be mated with someone who brings the zest for living back and the Lissianne and Etienne married and Lucern well onto his way, her crosshairs has come upon Bastien and he is feeling her breath down his neck.
Bastien fears logistical problems in having Terri around for two weeks. How do you hide that you are a vampire from a woman living under the same roof for that long? It gets worse when his nephew Vincent shows up. A wannabe actor, he is preparing for a roll on Broadway playing ¯ what else ¯ a vampire! Terri is instantly charmed by Thomas who tries to lure her in helping him "rehearse". Bastien is distracted by the physical attraction to Terri, but his befuddlement is compounded by having to keep an eye on Thomas - a vamp of the old style who likes to keep his fangs sharp!
Matters grows worse as Kate's co-editor, Chris, has one accident after another and Kate ends up installing the editor in Bastien's apartment while his is being repaired. (Note for those loving an inside jest Chris is loosely based on Chris Keeslar, editor at Dorchester Publishing ¯ Lynsay's editor for the vamp series!). All in all, it's another delightful Argeneau romp that will delight readers of the series! In a bidding frenzy, Avon books bought the rights to the Argeneaus. Lissianna's tales in being finished with at least four more planned. So, long live the Argeneaus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly ponderous, 18 Jun 2005
By 
Dr W. Richards "wmr-uk" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bastien Argeneau is getting very tired of his brother's wedding preparations. Much as he loves Lucien and his bride-to-be, Kate, their demands are really intruding on his calm, ordered life. Now things are about to get worse: Kate's cousin Terri is flying in from England for the wedding and she needs somewhere to stay. In Bastien's penthouse.
So not only does he have to listen to his brother spouting about love and weddings incessantly, he's going to have to put up with sharing his home for the next two weeks. That would be bad enough for anyone used to living on his own; but considering that Bastien is a vampire and needs to drink blood regularly in order to remain healthy, it's a recipe for disaster. Oh, not that he actually drinks from humans - these vampires have it all sorted. Owning their own private blood-bank helps.
This is the third in Sands' vampire series, following Lucien and Kate's story in Single White Vampire and Etienne and Rachel's in Love Bites. Unfortunately, it feels as if it were written by a completely different author. Tall, Dark and Hungry has none of the frothy humour of the first two books. Instead, it is boring, repetitive and flat. It was a real struggle to finish. There's no humour this time - there are attempts at it, but all so ponderous that none of them work. Instead, as another reviewer comments, we are treated to page after page of descriptions of things we really don't need to know. Information is supplied in a mundane, uninteresting manner. Trivial details are given the importance of earth-shattering events. The book was incredibly disappointing.
Even the minor characters were tedious; I liked Chris, Kate's fellow editor, in Single White Vampire, but in this book he's a whiny pain in the [...]. And yet Terri notes, by the time of the wedding, that he's a nice guy! Excuse me? He's been nothing but a nuisance to all of them, whining and moaning and accident-prone as hell, complaining about absolutely everything and getting up everyone's nose. And yet she says he's nice? Um... how? As for Vincent, the campy actor, he had his moments but overall I could have done without him.
And then the Big Misunderstanding... big yawn here.
Sorry, Ms Sands, but this book was a flop. If there is another book in your vampire series - and I would like to read Lissianna and Greg's story - please rediscover your earlier flair.
wmr-uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 21st century Vampire family books!!!!, 27 April 2010
By 
Ms. C. A. Anderson "Cassandra220689" (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark and Hungry: An Argeneau Vampire Novel (Paperback)
I really love this series of books, Sands manages to so convincingly create this family with its ups and downs while at the same time convincing us that they are vampires and living in the 21st century! Truly amazing.

This Book follows older brother Bastein, who when their father died took over the head of the family position and the business side. Over the hundreds of years he has been alives this has caused Bastein to become complacent with everything around him and as a result he has become a workaholic with no time for play. Then along comes Kate's cousin who is coming over for the wedding of Kate and Bastein's brother Lucern. And it goes from there, showing through the short time of Terri's stay how much Bastein comes back to life and falls in love with her. Of course, Sands always puts a twist to do with the vampire secret so that that the happily ever after is not so simple and this time is no different.

Sands is so funny in her writing, while this book is firmly a romance it has so much comedic value! I found my self laughing so much at some of the funny sayings and things that happen all through out this amazing series!

I really did like this book but my favourite is Single White Vampire so this is why I gave it 4stars instead of 5!

Take the time to get to know the Argeneau family through this outstandingly written series, you will not be disappointed!

Cassandra220689
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shes done better, 25 Jan 2006
By 
OneCatEvil (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As said repetative and quite a snore only read it as its refered to in another book. You could skip this and just read the others - A Quick bite is the one with Lissiana and Greg and is much funnier. Save some money and try one of the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a definate keeper., 26 Aug 2004
By 
J COFFMAN "Jackie" (Solihull, West Midlands, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series justs gets better & better. Bastien is the 3rd brother to find his lifemate. Terri is Kate's cousin, came over from England for her wedding. She stays with Bastien at the penthouse. Like Kate & Rachel before her there is a lot of passion & a lot of misunderstandings until with help from other members of the family they are cleared up. At the wedding Terri misunderstands something about Bastien that she overhears & runs home to England. She thinks Bastien has a terminal illness, like Ian her husband had, but she couldn't be further from the truth. When she hears it she doesn't belive it. It takes Kate a detour on her honeymoon to straighten it out.
This is a fantastic series & I can't wait for the rest. A definate keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Last but not least., 10 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. R. E. Shannon (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the classic tale of boy meets girl, girl is boys lifemate, lifemate runs away like an idiot!!!!
I dont find this a better one of the series which i was upset about because i fell for Bastian and wanted him to find a good lifemate.
I like Terri and appreciate her character and strength. The dates were interesting and the crisis solving was funny.
I love Vincent too but he changes between this and 'a Bite To Remember'.
Lovely story of love and loss and finding a place in the world. i just wish for a bit more danger and risk that would have been outside Bastians logical thinking and tested him more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great sexy, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love it I have the kindle and paperback editions. So good I love lynsay sands her books are such a good read on a rainy day or any day to be honest :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness there's more!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's so easy to read these books I have so far read 3 in 2 days! they are brilliant stories and I love getting to know the whole family. each book is more involving than the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars addictive, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these books they are so addictive would recommend them to any one who is in need of a book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tall dark and hungry, 28 July 2013
Don't get me wrong the story was good but parts did get a little repetitive and I found myself taking my time reading this book. The story line was good but could have been better. Will continue reading the argeneau series as curiosity has got the better of me with this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tall, Dark and Hungry: An Argeneau Vampire Novel
Tall, Dark and Hungry: An Argeneau Vampire Novel by Lynsay Sands (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews